We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent first experience of Egypt”
Review of Jaz Dahabeya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jaz Dahabeya
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We have just returned from an excellent week long stay at the Iberotel and whilst having some reservations about going to Egypt, realised very quickly that this was the perfect hotel and location. The sea is warm, with plenty of water activities (mainly windsurfing and dive trips). The hotel staff could not be anymore welcoming or attentive with everyone providing a cheery greeting each day. The hotel is spotless and the food plentiful.

We had a four hour delay on our departure day and whilst Thomson reps were mysteriously absent and unobtainable, the hotel staff again could not do enough to accommodate us, extending our all inclusive status way beyond our check out time.

Thank you to everyone from reception, bar staff, cleaners, waiters, maintenance and chefs for a great time and we will definately visit again.

Tip: go on the 'Baby Fish' glass bottom boat trip (located to the left of the hotel on the beach) as their trip is excellent value for money (only £5 compared to the holiday company's trip of £35) and includes an opportunity for snorkelling.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aliontheisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (848)
There are newer reviews for Jaz Dahabeya
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

The previous reviews have covered most things very well. I would just like to add a few additional points.
November weather was just perfect. Rooms were kept nice and clean. Garden areas were manicured and cared for with lovely flowers. Service was really good and staff all worked hard to make sure things were right - particular thanks to George for his excellent service. Beer and wine were quite drinkable - spirits were an acquired taste. Typical early morning sunbed nabbing on the front row on the beach - simple answer just take an empty sunbed and make a new front row. Animation were available but not intrusive - just about right. Entertainment was variable, but didn't expect anything else, so no problem. Boat trips and watersports available cheaply on beach, but health and safety may not be to expected standards, so take care. Overall very satisfied with our week there. Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berty6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

It is no surprise that so many return for a second holiday to this hotel as it is very good. I would say about 70% occupancy when we were there in early November. When you walk round the other better quality hotels in the area they appeared empty by contrast so they have got it about right so well done the management of the Iberotel.
In spite of being quite full there were no ques for anything, tables were always available in the restaurant and always sunbeds available. Service all round very good and has been noted in earlier reviews a waiter was attending to you as soon as you came in and when you had finished your glass they came to ask if you wanted another.
We expected the entertainment team to be overpowering based on an earlier review we had read but this was not the case, music was not played all day only when there was an activity such as yoga/stretching and was not too loud, they were there if you wanted to take part but did not bother you if you did not. Also people did not come round pestering to go diving/massage/etc which is unusual in our experience of 10 trips to Egypt and a good thing.
Food was very good and the menu was varied each day, they could not have done much better in our opinion. There is nothing we can say to find significant fault really but I would suggest the managers do walk around a bit more to check on standards, eg some of the garden areas between the restaurant had litter in them etc that had not been cleared up yet the cleaners had swept but not seen this

Thanks for a nice holiday

David and Pauline

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Had a really lovely time in the Dahabeya - staff are friendly, rooms are nice and kept clean, food is good although sometimes lacking in variety. Breakfast and lunch are great, wasnt so impressed with dinner - wasnt bad for the first few days and there were some good points during the week but just got a bit bored.

The hotel looks massive from the pictures but is in fact quite compact, still plenty of room for everyone and meant there wasnt a massive walk from one place to another. Windsurfing and dive club on the beach - my partner and i arent divers or windsurfers (although we did give it go) but it didnt make a difference to us. On windy days the day is packed with windsurfers and there are at least 7 clubs along the beach. There are roped off areas to swim in but not really much snorkerling can be done (compared to places in sharm) unless you want to chance having your head taken off by a windsurfer! Prices are really competitive for watersports so make sure you haggle.

Overall i would definatley recommend this hotel, they also have a good entertainent team and kids club (i dont have kids but they have there own little play house - seemed good!). There is a bedouin tent in the evening where you can go and smoke the shisha pipe. Gym is a little ancient and i think i blew the fuse trying to sprint on the treadmill! There is massage as well. plenty to keep you occupied for a week!

We also booked some excursion through one of the local travel firms, which involved a day in the desert, sandboarding & lunch with the bedouins. I must say one of the most authentic trips i have had in egypt, not everyone cup of tea but brilliant. woudlnt recommend the sandboarding unless you like running up sand dunes in 40 degree heat! Again prices are really competitive as the egyptions have had a bad year so it is worth checking them out rather than going with the travel reps.

When you go into Dahab you find you get hassled quite a lot, but i think it is important to remember that these guys have been struggling over the last year and are just trying to make some money - yes it is annoying and gets old very quickly but they really dont mean any harm.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laurajsxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Our first family holiday to Egypt. It took a few days to get used to the dry, windy, massive desert heat. The Sea was warm and clear - perfect for swimming. Good windsurfing, not too many gusty days. A great place for people to learn. Glass bottom boat tours, water skiing, horse & camel rides on the beach, all within a few minutes walk. The hotel offers entertainment, they will fill your day with yoga by the pool, darts to volleyball. The team also takes care of the children, face painting, drawing to the nightly Kinderdisco. My 4 year old still asks to go back and visit with Uli. The small playground and house for kids if the perfect escape from the afternoon sun.

Our room was sea view. The cleaners kept it spotless and their daily towel and blanket configurations entertained our daughter. The entire staff at the hotel was friendly and helpful. The food was okay, you will not go hungry. We all had minor stomach problems, but with a daily Bioflorina, you should be fine. I think more people had problems from too much sun.

The best part of the day was around 17.00 when the sun went down behind the mountains and you could enjoy a beer on the beach. The all inclusive is the way to go.

You can walk the beach and a little outside of the hotel. The hotel offers a bus into Masbat 3 times a day. I ventured in one night for some shopping, no problems. There you will find a grocery store and several small souvenir shops. The hotel has a pharmacy right next to it, along with a little shop with drinks, fresh fruit and snack food. Get ready to bargain, they love it! We did not experience any of the demanding or pushy salespeople that we were told about. The beach and hotel always has visible security. Overall, we were happy with the trip and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swissmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My wife and I were looking for a very peaceful and restful week in the Sun. The Iberotel Dahabeya provided us with just what we needed. The hotel was pretty empty even though it was half term. As a result there was never a need to queue for anything and you could always sit where you chose in the restaurant and on the beach. The hotel beach is excellent with much nicer sand than areas on either side. Being Egypt, the weather, of course, was wonderful with just a little cloud and lovely cooling breezes. It is a fantastic sight to see the sea so full of windsurfers and boats. We booked a couple of trips with Sam from Wave Aqua Sport - both very enjoyable with friendly and knowledgeable staff. Staff in the hotel went out of their way to be friendly. In the restaurant, Fawzy was always very helpful and Mustafa enjoyed entertaining us with his English. Ali in the Aqua Bar is an excellent staff member who really impressed us both. Our cleaner Mohammed was also very pleasant and did a fine job. Food was good quality, although not as much choice as in other AI hotels we have stayed in. It says a lot for Dahab and for this hotel that quite a lot of people seem to like to return here. We would very happily do so. Some people might feel that there is too little to do (and we certainly heard reports of being hassled in the town itslef which we chose not to visit). For us, however, doing nothing but resting and reading was just what we wanted and this was a perfect place to enjoy this.

Room Tip: We were pleased to have a pool view room. Although right on the beach, very few rooms seem to actual...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

With a little anticipation having read some good and not so good reviews on this hotel we were not quite sure what we were going to get , but after arriving late we awoke to be very pleasantly
surprised we found the staff to be very friendly , helpful and polite and nothing was to much trouble the rooms although a little on the small side were clean and tidy food was always well prepared and cooked albeit a little to much the same , The animation team tried to get guests involved in various activities but not pushy ,children seemed to always be entertained with games , face painting competitions ect there were also water sports and trips available from the beach windsurfing , banana boat , waterskiing and a number of dive schools , i dive with poseidon divers who picked me up by car whenever i wanted and they were excellent , as is the diving , as a couple on your own with a family young or old i would strongly recommend this resort / hotel to anyone

Room Tip: i think all rooms are good , we stayed on the ground floor with a pool view and small terrace where...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Davidgrimsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.2 mi away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#9 of 52 in Dahab
397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon Hotel
5.3 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
709 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
1.8 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Dahabeya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Dahabeya

Address: Lagoon Area, Dahab, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Dahabeya)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Dahab
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dahab
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
#6 Family Hotel in Dahab
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
Price Range: £41 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jaz Dahabeya 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jaz Dahabeya is situated directly on the sandy beach of the natural lagoon by the Red Sea resort of Dahab, just a one hour drive from Sharm El Sheikh International Airport and only two hours from Taba International Airport. You can reach Cairo in around six hours, driving through the beautiful mountains of Sinai. Away from it all and not as bustling or as yet commercial as some other Red Sea resorts, Jaz Dahabeya offers serenity in an unspoilt landscape with some of the best adrenalin fuelled watersports action and diving in the world. The scenery surrounding the hotel is breathtaking, looking over the lagoon to the mountains of Sinai and Saudi Arabia as a backdrop. The bay is one of the most sought after destinations for windsurfers keen for the ultimate challenge and many other attractions, such as the Mountain of Moses, St. Catherine Monastery and the Coloured Canyon are close to hand. Service and warm hospitality complete the picture as Jaz Dahabeya has won several awards including Holiday Check 2005, TUI Holly Award 2006 and L’Tur best 100 hotels word-wide in 2007. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jaz Dahabeya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Dahabeya Dahab
Iberotel Dahabeya Hotel Dahab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing