We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Dahab choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jaz Dahabeya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jaz Dahabeya
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
dorset
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Dahab choice”
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We recently spent our second holiday at the Dahabeya. It’s a lovely smallish (around 100 rooms) AI right on the golden beach of Dahab. The hotel is compact but nicely laid out with lovely public areas (including an attractive terrace for evening drinks etc. Our room was lovely – a double overlooking the pool, with good a/c and a nice bathroom.

We found food to be very good. We don’t usually eat lunch, but enjoyed breakfasts (complete with egg/pancake station) and plentiful tea and coffee. Dinners were varied, though admittedly there was lot of chicken on the menu. We could always find something appetising and everything is fresh and well presented. Waiters were generally very friendly and efficient, bringing drinks (remembering your preferences) and clearing tables quickly.

We spent most days on the beach, where sunbeds and shades are available. The only downside to this hotel is that the beach frontage is fairly narrow, so if you do want to sit in the front row you literally have to do ‘sunbeds at dawn’. I don’t approve of this practice at all, however all the other guests were already doing so…..if you can’t beat them join them I guess. It is irritating though when people bag beds and then disappear for practically the whole day. The beach is lovely soft sand and the sea very easy for swimming. There are also a few clumps of coral on the edges of the swimming area, where you can easily see loads of fish.

The beach bar is lovely and breezy for cool drinks through the day and beer at sunset. It is often open in the evening, which is a peaceful alternative to the entertainment on the terrace. The All Inclusive is great – the beer is cold and drinks are served in glass except by the beach and pool. Water is available by the glass and you can buy a box of 12 large bottles for your room for about £10 from reception.

All hotel staff are super friendly, from the room cleaners to the waiters to the bar staff. I don’t know how they stay so cheerful as they work such long hours. This really is a feature of the hotel.

We went snorkelling once with Sam (based on the hotel beach) to the 3 pools, which was good. However, the boat was a bit difficult to get back into. We also took a taxi from outside the hotel to the Canyon (turned out to be a bit of a tricky entrance for snorkellers – the Blue Hole is better). We also walked (about 30 mins) to Napoleon reef which was excellent. Just turn left and walk along the beach to the end, cross the lagoon (not more than knee deep – depends on the tide) and walk over to the beach. You will see signs showing where to snorkel.

Note – if you want to do the glass bottom boat the Baby Fish is only 5 Euros each (hotel boat is 10 Euros).

We also ventured into Dahab a few times on the shuttle bus. We have been before and like the town anyway, I would just say that the shopkeepers are having a bit of a hard time, and they really need your business! Just be friendly and don’t be scared to have a look at things. There are some good dive/snorkel shops there and equipment is cheaper than the UK. We like to eat at Nesima (quite near where the bus drops you off) for a hygienic and pleasant dinner, sitting right at the waters edge.

All in all if you want a good value ‘flop’ on the beach you can do a lot worse than the Dahabeya. We will be back!

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pier21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    206
    40
    15
    12
See reviews for
196
425
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
milton keynes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

i dont normaly write a review, thou i read them before making a decision on where to book my precious holiday. but my husband and i went to the iberotel dahabeya on 10th november and we both said it was one of the best holidays we have had for years.everywhere was spotless, the service at the bars and resteraunt was excellent and the food was very good we could not find fault.there was plenty to do on the beach even if you dont dive. or lazing by the pool which was lovely and warm, the staff was very helpful nothing was too much trouble. we had no tummy troubles so you can tell the food was well cooked and on our leaving day they let us use our room well after booking out time at no extra charge.the animation team on some other reviews prior to us going to the iberotel had come in for some critisism so i was expecting them to be pushy so i was pleasantly suprised that they was'nt yes they asked if you would like to join in but if you said no they did'nt push.people joined in because they wanted to not because they was bullied into it. we shall be returning that in it's self is a recomendation go and have an active or lazy holiday you will recieve a warm welcome.
the only drawback is sharm airport on landing it was caotic no orderly queing system. but that's not the hotels fault.

Room Tip: next time we go we will ask for a pool side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank devina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I would like to congratulate the Iberotel Dahabaya, Dahab on their high standards! The staff were all soooo friendly and helpful. The food was very varied and tasty! Lunch and Dinner was served on tablecloth clad tables! This is my guage of high standards. All the waiters are happy to refill your wine, so much so that they ran out of white wine on our last day! I was OK I drink red!! By the way for all inclusive the wine was quite glugable! The beds were so comfortable, i actually slept all holiday, which is rare these days. Timeshare in particular, have the most uncomfortable beds! Does anyone else out there agree with me???
I just wish we had booked for a longer stay!! We squeezed in a week 17th - 24th November 2011. I was travelling with my Husband. There were girls on their own in the resort and unlike a lot of Egypt, we would say they were safe here! We walked along the beach to Dahab "city"!this took us 45 minutes via beach and promenade. Mainly deserted when we walked. We went on a boat trip with Sam who has a shack adjacent to the Hotel beach! We would recommend going on the glass bottom boat to the 7 pinnacles and the reef to snorkel. There isn't much to see off the beach but there are trips to the Blue Hole.......a must for divers and snorkellers alike!!! So well done all in the resort, Sam looked after us for our tea and cake in the afternoons and we both enjoyed the beach bar for a game of cards after dinner! And if you are as lucky as us we had some chaps jammin' with their guitars.......really enjoyed the impromptu music and singalong. Thank you chaps! (germans) Take a cosy jumper/hoody for this time of the year cos it can be chilly. Great place to choose! Especially if you like windsurfing!!! Windsurf city. Needless to say IT IS WINDY HERE!! Oh and I mus'nt forget the Animation team....brilliant fun!

Room Tip: Choose a first floor if possible. People were saying it was quite dark on the ground floor, but if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank janegDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We stayed 13th-20th November 2011. The hotel, its facilities and staff cannot be faulted. We had a great time. A minor complaint would be that the food on the excellent buffet could be a little hotter. NOW a word of warning to anybody thinking of using the on site spa/manicure/massage facilities, apart from "rip off" prices the staff seem untrained and standards of hygeine are non-existant. The manicure consisted of only ONE coat of polish (no base coat,top coat or second coat) upon comment, a clear top coat finnish was offered. My wife came away with two skin abrasions where staff were over zeleous with the scourer and scolded feet, due to the hot water soak .Promises of exotic oils/massage etc made to secure an order were not kept. Prices in excess of £30 per treatment.

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor as you can sleep with the patio doors open. It is very warm at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liz w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamble, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

I really enjoyed my holiday here.

The hotel was spotless and well maintained. The staff were friendly, helpful and worked very hard with smiles on thier faces. The pool was nice, as was the beach and i really liked the comfy beds in the rooms.

The food wasn't always to my taste but it was always fresh and it's worth remembering that they have to cater to a wide variety of guest, bearing that in mind I think they do very well.

I would stay here again and would recommend it to couples who want a relaxing break.

My holiday was marginally let down by Thomson who tried to bully us into booking diving through thier partner company posiden. We saved 200 euro by shopping around and our diving centre, penguin was superb. The plane was also awful as Thomson seem to be saving pennies by running short haul planes for what is really a long haul journey. Cramped and no in flight meal or enterainment made the journey very unpleasent.

I would stay at the Dahabeya again without doubt but I won't be using Thomson.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pegs29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woolston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The most all inclusive hotel so far ,safe/fridge/beach towels,no charge. service could not be faulted,everywhere including the beach. Clenliness is excelent,again everywhere. Food is cooked well ,though very plain ,not 4 star but again service is 4 star. Room noise insulation is very good. I lost my wallet on a seat in the bar one night,on our return to our room the phone went and I was asked to go to reception to collect my wallet which had been returned by a cleaner ( I wished I had asked his name), If thats not a recomendation for a hotel and its staff, I dont know what is ! I wish to say thanks to all the staff for a very enjoyable stay. Two moans - Sharm El Sheihk airport is a dissaster,because of this sadly we will not be returning. - Thomson flights, outbound no in flight meals/no in flight entertainment, videos or radio, A very misserable crew. Return the same but with a much better crew even though down in number.

Room Tip: choose room with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silka57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Fourth vist so- can't be bad- though still no cheap wi-fi and management remain invisible while demanding maximum from staff. First two days were chaotic as management in their wisdom had sacked half the experienced table staff and were too slow to replace them.The replacements - when they came were not as skilled or fluent in einglish as the ones we had come to know - so distinct dip in enjoyment but overall quality remains high.

Clientele is kind of quiet - thouigh with a number of pre-school kids this time - we love it like this - no lunatics and we met some really good folk from Scotland, Germany and Poland.

The food is not always successful - the themed nights - chinese/italian &c are not what you would recognise and but there is enough wonderful fresh and dried fruit, well--cooked vegetables, char-grilled meat to make a really delightful plate of food. But get this - because we like eating Egyptian more than most - the kitchen came to know this - and would you believe it!? - meat chef Mohammed Moustafa presented us with an individually cooked plate of Egyptian food every night for week. How about that for service!

Room Tip: Pool view is fine - beach view sounds nice but you'll get more mozzies
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotchwhiskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
0.2 mi away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#7 of 52 in Dahab
362 reviews
3.2 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
2.0 mi away
Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
1.7 mi away
Acacia Dahab Hotel
Acacia Dahab Hotel
#6 of 52 in Dahab
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Dahabeya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Dahabeya

Property: Jaz Dahabeya
Address: Lagoon Area, Dahab, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Dahabeya)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dahab
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dahab
#6 Family Hotel in Dahab
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jaz Dahabeya 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jaz Dahabeya is situated directly on the sandy beach of the natural lagoon by the Red Sea resort of Dahab, just a one hour drive from Sharm El Sheikh International Airport and only two hours from Taba International Airport. You can reach Cairo in around six hours, driving through the beautiful mountains of Sinai. Away from it all and not as bustling or as yet commercial as some other Red Sea resorts, Jaz Dahabeya offers serenity in an unspoilt landscape with some of the best adrenalin fuelled watersports action and diving in the world. The scenery surrounding the hotel is breathtaking, looking over the lagoon to the mountains of Sinai and Saudi Arabia as a backdrop. The bay is one of the most sought after destinations for windsurfers keen for the ultimate challenge and many other attractions, such as the Mountain of Moses, St. Catherine Monastery and the Coloured Canyon are close to hand. Service and warm hospitality complete the picture as Jaz Dahabeya has won several awards including Holiday Check 2005, TUI Holly Award 2006 and L’Tur best 100 hotels word-wide in 2007. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jaz Dahabeya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Dahabeya Dahab
Iberotel Dahabeya Hotel Dahab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing