We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An very attentive service to the PENGUIN hotel !!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penguin Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Penguin Village
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An very attentive service to the PENGUIN hotel !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Pleasant surprise, which all these transformations has the Penguin hotel!!! We already had there stay next year some small critics has to make, but well the situation the price more than attractive, we returned this year to discover a completely transformed place, rooms simply but magnificently decorated, and very appropriate(clean). Breakfasts delicious and most it is the new restaurant, we eat there simply but divinely with an attentive service of a rare kindness a warmest welcome. We recommend you Happy hour one moment of user-friendliness(conviviality) in a place of the most magic of Miami Beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klo139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    88
    32
    24
    15
See reviews for
13
54
58
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gladesville, Australia
Level Contributor
467 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,771 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Located at the quieter end of town on the beach promenade, away from all the noise & people, this backpacker hotel offers a mix of services from dive shop, beachfront restaurant, internet cafe, tour operator, laundry & can organise coach tickets to Sharm, Neweiba, Petra, Cairo & Luxor - $30 AUD 17 hours. It’s value without all the fancy packaging. We walked in without any reservations & bargained for a good discount.

Room 106 is a beachfront room, air con, hot water & a great wooden balcony overlooking the restaurant & Red Sea, made famous by Moses. Free WiFi is slow from the room, access passwords are reset daily. The balcony offers beautiful sunrises from the Red Sea. Staff are very friendly, speak good English & don’t employ creepy old men. Plenty of food & cheap drinks within walking distance, all late night in this backpacker town.

Being in the middle of the Sinai Desert, the shower water was slightly salty & the room had a sewerage smell which we had to air out. There were stray cats who made themselves at home on our balcony but it’s a good omen to have in Egypt. No TV in the room but in this laid back town the cold beers flow & the music cranks up a notch. Would probably return.

Room Tip: definately choose a balcony room for smokers & sunrises
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Pale_Ridah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I stayed there for one night in December 2011 before staying in Dyarna, rooms are average.. not amazingly clean for a clean freak like me :D but it's okay!

The amazing thing is the food in their cafeteria!! it's perfect! you should try the Pizza they make! i don't EVER eat cold food; but that pizza was as delicious cold as it was hot!! and have the Chef prepare that "Special ingredients" pizza for you.. you'll never forget it! :)

Their staff are as friendly, fun, and polite... we ate there all our stay!

Also their Diving center has nice rates for rentals and dives... Do, if you don't like their rooms, stay wherever you wish... but eat & dive there! :D

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Habeeba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lviv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Me and my girlfriend excaped from freezing Ukraine to Dahab for the New Year.
Our main plan was to snorkel and do other outdoors in the surrounding area.

Location of Penguin is perfect. Right in the middle of Dahab but not on the most crouded part of the beach avenue. Sea and reefs are only 20 meters away. Athough for some great diving or snorkel you'll have to walk for 5- 10 min furthe along the coast. He-he.
Back street is full of cheap local restaurants and shops.

Ahmed and co. are super friendly and helpful. I didn't expect such staff support, to tell the truch. We took a trip to St. Katherine monastery and Sinai mount which was a blast.

And you are unlikely to find a cheaper place to stay in Dahab. Simply great value for money.
Enjoy...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrestZub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I enjoyed my time through a trip of 3 days 2 nights , with Bedouin dinner in the dessert, swimming at La gouna beach,

Rooms are good
service is great
Its cheap ... and the area around are full off supermarkets and restaurants ...
People there are acting like your family ...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxmoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

1. The location is very nice.
2. The hotel has rooms ranging from cheap to not-so-cheap, i.e. from not-so-good to rather good. If you are a picky and spoiled European or an American of the same breed, don't go for the cheap options. For me it was perfect in the cheap ones.
3. The value for the money is very good, though.
4. It is as clean as you wish it to be - if you do not ask, it will not be touched, which I find very convenient. There is no one banging on your door for cleaning while you are in underware or still rocking in bed. Perfect.
5. Sleep quality - well, I slept like a baby. So it's excellent.
6. Service - extremely friendly folks. Hope when you go there you'll have the pleasure of meeting Andi (Ahmed Kandil), Ahmed (Ahmed Swidi) and Tito (Taib) - the three guys rotating at the reception - Fantastic folks! Andi even thought me how to fold a kaffiyeh the way the western desert Beduins do. Thanks mate! I haven't forgotten :-). The manager Emad Naguib is very helpful too. You wanna go places? Ask him!
If you happen to need a cab to or from Sharm you may try asking for Hamid Samir to drive you. The guy takes you thru a bunch of cool roads with magnificent views and canyons. I personally had a very nice chat with him, helping the 100km journey pass in no time.

Room Tip: If you are a picky and spoiled European or an American of the same breed, don't go for the chea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Had a wonderful stay from the first to the last second of my one week stay. Very welcoming and friendly staff. They are glad to assist you with any inquiry you have. The dive center which belongs to the property is superb too. Great assistance, great equipment and experienced funny instructors. There is several different kind of rooms, from cheap dorm rooms to sea view double rooms with own balcony. And all this with the best prices in town!
Hello to all the staff from Frank

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper floor are a bit quieter, although it is never really noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.0 mi away
Jowhara Hotel
Jowhara Hotel
#15 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seven Heaven Hotel
Seven Heaven Hotel
#14 of 52 in Dahab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dahab Dorms
Dahab Dorms
#40 of 52 in Dahab
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
0.4 mi away
Alaska Camp & Hotel
Alaska Camp & Hotel
#23 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
INMO Divers Home
INMO Divers Home
#26 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penguin Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Village

Property: Penguin Village
Address: Mashraba St, Dahab 46617, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Dahab
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Village 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, clean hotel located on the waterfront. A range of rooms including ones with A/C, private bathrooms and balcony with red Sea views. Onsite restaurant and dive center offering recreational diving and PADI courses. Pick up service from anywhere in Egypt and assistance in arranging tours to surrounding cities and the Sinai region.hope to see you soon> ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Penguin Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penguin Village Dahab
Penguin Village Hotel Dahab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing