We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere”
Review of Penguin Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Penguin Village
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Loved this place. Right on the water with a dive shop (excellent prices and instructors), a laundry, a restaurant with yummy food (also good prices) and an Internet cafe (or free wifi if you have a device to hook up to).
We stayed in a private room with shared bathroom (which could have been cleaned more regularly & one of the toilets didn't flush) but it was cheap 50pounds per night and the location is ideal. The strip is not big so it's nice to be away from the touts.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shilohmilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenguinDiversDahab, General Manager at Penguin Village, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for taken the time to write this nice helpful review,
It is our pleasure to have our customers happy about our services,
We wish you a good day, and please send us more friends,
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    97
    32
    24
    17
See reviews for
15
57
63
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I stayed in a dorm room at Penguins in 2012 for 8 nights. It is located on the main strip in Penguins, but it is further out from the busier part of the strip which is perfect. The room was basic but clean, the staff absolutely lovely and accommodating. The restaurant serves amazing breakfast and is great value. I also did an Open Water Dive course with Penguin Divers and it was well organised and professional.

Room Tip: The dorm room is cheap and simple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shark432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabie, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Great location right on the sea and a short walk from the main shopping/restaurant area. Restaurant is amazing...tastiest and cheapest we could find in Dahab with a great balcony and beautiful views. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The dive shop is relaxed, user friendly, all staff were great and diving was crazy cheap! All staff are friendly, helpful and can teach you the great game of Basrah (spelling??). They can also organize trips to Petra, Mt Sinai and many other places right from the hotel. We only stayed 5 days but will definitely be back one day for longer!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

First off we went for the room with a balcony with sea views. The first room we had the shower head was not connected. Also the AC did not work, we talked to them about this and they had the parts to fix both (why didn't they?) the second room was a good size but we ha a broken window that was covered in plastic ad the wardrobe was place in front if it, why not fix it. They were not totally full and seemed to be doing work around the place like re-grouting the tiles outside. Not the rooms.
This place is well priced tho.
We would go back.
We did have to ask for the 10% discount offered by FB them.
Also the offer for the breakfast at 2 Euros is not worth it as this only gives you a voucher for 15E£ we spent around 70-80 each day

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobE_AdamD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbleton, Quebec
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Essentially the Pingouin Village is well situated on the waterfront, the rooms are clean and the price was right for our budget. But, some anoying details made our stay less than memorable. To begin with, we had the loudspeakers of the restaurant right in front of our "sea view" room; it was so loud that we couldn't hold a normal conversation on our "sea view" balcony. When we complained the volume was set lower for some hours; but later on during the evening, it was set loud again! Our "sea view" room, we paid more for it, was rather a "restaurant view" affair with a large neon sign with large letters of "Pingouin" right in front of our faces... Wifi internet was very unstable; we had to leave the room each time we connected in order to re-set ourselfs the router. The're was some argument about our breakfeast plan that was included in the price of our room and they assured us we could choose what we fancied; they gave us vouchers for 15 egyptian pounds, but most choices were priced at 20. We never paid the 5 pounds difference but had to argue two mornings in a row about the misunderstanding. At the desk, one member of staff was truly friendly, so we had some pleasant moments with him; unfortunately, the second one was not friendly at all and we noticed that was the case with every customer of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PierreD861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Booked my dive package here and qualified for a discounted room or free bed in the dorm. Selected the twin room for £3.50 per night and that's about as cheap as a private room can get. Okay the room was basic with just 2 beds and a fan but just as a place to sleep its amazing value. Separate shower and toilet facilities close by the rooms with hot water, seemed a bit salty at times so used bottle water for brushing my teeth.

Free use of the hotel safe behind the reception for personal belongings, passport and money etc and all the staff spoke good English, polite and courteous at all times. WiFi is available throughout the hotel, not the fastest but okay to stream the odd film and internet browsing.

The dive company operating in conjunction to the hotel is the best value i could find and had up to date equipment, seemed very professional and offered all the main local dive sites. Had a small chill-out area to relax after a days dive where you are welcome to bring your own beers along and socialize.

The restaurant was undergoing some minor changes and a new menu being formulated, the food was good quality and at the right price. Just above the restaurant a soft furnished area to unwind with great sea views is available.

Great snorkeling on the reef straight outside the hotel, an abundance of life right on your doorstep.

Transport back to the airport was arranged through the dive shop at 150LE

Dahab is a fantastic place to come and unwind, a million miles away from Sharm its got real character and a backpacker vibe. I just love it !!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Three friends and me went to the penguin village this february and we really enjoyed our stay there. The hotel all together gives a nice, relaxing and welcoming atmosphere. The rooms are totally fine compared to the price you´re paying and from the attending restaurant you´ve got a beautiful view on the ocean. Beside that the staff was incredibly friendly, from the restaurant staff to the hotel management or the attending diving center. They offered us customized, spontaneous planned tours and dives and tried to help with every problem occuring. Also there was always time for a little chat with them, so that we really got to expierence egyptian hospitality and even extended our stay. So if you´re travelling low budget I can definitly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9-Clod-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
4.2 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
0.1 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
508 reviews
0.1 mi away
INMO Divers Home
INMO Divers Home
#30 of 52 in Dahab
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
699 reviews
4.8 mi away
Happy Life Village
Happy Life Village
#15 of 52 in Dahab
548 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seven Heaven Hotel
Seven Heaven Hotel
#25 of 52 in Dahab
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penguin Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Village

Property: Penguin Village
Address: Mashraba St, Dahab 46617, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dahab
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Village 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, clean hotel located on the waterfront. A range of rooms including ones with A/C, private bathrooms and balcony with red Sea views. Onsite restaurant and dive center offering recreational diving and PADI courses. Pick up service from anywhere in Egypt and assistance in arranging tours to surrounding cities and the Sinai region.hope to see you soon> ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Penguin Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penguin Village Dahab
Penguin Village Hotel Dahab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing