We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change”
Review of Penguin Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Penguin Village
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Penguin is along way from the good shops and cafes. I did not enjoy having to walk through the market everyday and been hassle. Rooms are are run down. Water taste like salt. It doesn't look like the pictures anymore. It's has age a lot . There are better places in town

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank lhall1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenguinDiversDahab, General Manager at Penguin Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for taken the time to write this review,
We do understand your point of view ,and we are renewing the rooms at the moment and we hope to see you again soon ,and have your openion change,
Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for Penguin Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

Penguin has large comfortable rooms with balconies overlooking the beautiful Red Sea at a great price. If you want to pay less there are cheaper options. Connected to the hotel is a nice diving center with very reasonable prices and professional staff.

By the way, this part of Egypt is completely safe and chilled-out. Go for Dahab instead of Sharm or Hurghada if you like back packer vibe

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenguinDiversDahab, General Manager at Penguin Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for taken the time to write this nice helpful review,
It is our pleasure to have our customers happy about our services,
We wish you a good day, and please send us more friends,
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Me and my girlfreind just came back from a very nice vacation in Dahab. We stayed at penguin village resort and had a very good time. It is a very nice, small, laid back resort with very friendly people. When you dont like the mass-tourism all-inclusive resort, then penguin is the place to be. It is really not expensive for what you get. There is also a restaurant at the resort with very good food! The resort is on the beach and so is the restaurant, wich has a good atmosphere, especially in the evenings! Thers is also a diveshop at the resort (penguin divers) so if you like diving, this is perfect! You can rent all the stuff for a good price and because a lot of divers come to penguin, it is very easy to make contact with other guests because there is always something to talk about!
I can tell you a lot more about penguin but it is better to experience yourself!

Penguin thanks! We came as a guest and left as a friend!!!

Jan & Hanneke (from Holland)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janvanlokven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenguinDiversDahab, General Manager at Penguin Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for such a nice review ,we wish you a nice safe travel and we hope to have you staying and diving with us,we are doing our best to improve our place and services,
Have a good day from sunny Dahab,
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

the hotel is very primitive, rooms are just OK, No TV, No fridge in the rooms not facing the sea (stay out of them)

the service is OK, the staff is very helpful and kind

i had the most expensive room (facing the sea in the upper floor) the balcony was almost the same size of the room
the diving center was just in the ground floor which was very convenient as i was in a diving trip

Bottom line: if u r on a diving trip, the hotel & the diving center will be a perfect choice

Room Tip: first floor, facing the sea
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khaled A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenguinDiversDahab, General Manager at Penguin Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for taken the time to write this nice helpful review,
It is our pleasure to have our customers happy about our services,Yes it is a place for divers.
We wish you a good day, and please send us more friends,
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

There are many reasons why we keep coming back to Penguin Village. The staff are helpful, Ahmed at reception is always there if you need anything and the other members of staff are just as friendly, welcoming and generally really cool to talk to. The rooms are amazing value for money no matter what you decide to go for, be it a balcony room with sea views or one with shared bathroom facilities. The rooms are clean and the shared bathroom facilities are cleaned regularly as there are always staff keeping the place looking at its best. The seafront location means that you have snorkeling on your doorstep. The restaurant staff are again genuinely nice people, they offer great service, especially their good coffee, egyptian tea and breakfast.
The dive centre at Penguin is very good, Hanan and the others offer quality service and the instructors are top notch as we had the pleasure to work with Ahmed for our Advanced Course.
There is a very relaxed atmosphere at Penguin, and whether you are into diving or not there is always something to do.
I've just come back from Dahab but I am eager to go back, especially to Penguin!

Room Tip: A balcony room means louder music in the evening from the restaurant so you might want to take this...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnaHriscu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenguinDiversDahab, General Manager at Penguin Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for taken the time to write this nice helpful review,thank you for the hint about the louder music,it is more controled now,
It is our pleasure to have our customers happy about our services,
We wish you a good day, and please send us more friends,
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I had the opportunity to stay 4 days at Penguin Village! The staff (of reception and restaurant) are very cool and the offer good options of tours and adventures in Sinai. If you like to dive, they are the persons that will help you. The hotel is in a basic place but in a kind of village (looks greece) very nice. The rooms are basic but confortable. The restaurant in front of the hotel is very cool with a great and relaxing view to Red Sea.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernandobabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenguinDiversDahab, General Manager at Penguin Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for taken the time to write this nice helpful review,
It is our pleasure to have our customers happy about our services,
We wish you a good day, and please send us more friends,and hope to see you again soon,
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I had a fab time in Penguin Village Dahab and also had a great time learning to dive. The village is friendly and helpful. One evening I lost some money in the ATM exchange machine - the shop keeper over the road rang the bank for me and then the Penguin guys followed up to ensure I got my money back. It was such a beautiful setting, I went for a run each morning down the coast and in the evening I hooked up with other solo travellers and enjoyed a relaxing dinner.

The rooms are getting a little tired and are pretty basic, but they are also clean. In terms fo value for money including diving you cannot do better than this and the diving instructor quality was first class.

Room Tip: Sea view has to be the way forward, althugh sadly I didn't manage to get one of these.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luceeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenguinDiversDahab, General Manager at Penguin Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for taken the time to write this nice helpful review,
It is our pleasure to have our customers happy about our services,Taken in consederation to always looking after solo female traveller,and keeping them happy and safe.
We wish you a good day, and please send us more friends,
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.1 mi away
INMO Divers Home
INMO Divers Home
#28 of 52 in Dahab
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jowhara Hotel
Jowhara Hotel
#17 of 52 in Dahab
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dahab Plaza Hotel
Dahab Plaza Hotel
#23 of 52 in Dahab
334 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
0.0 mi away
Dyarna Hotel
Dyarna Hotel
#45 of 52 in Dahab
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penguin Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Village

Address: Mashraba St, Dahab 46617, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dahab
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
Price Range: £4 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Village 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, clean hotel located on the waterfront. A range of rooms including ones with A/C, private bathrooms and balcony with red Sea views. Onsite restaurant and dive center offering recreational diving and PADI courses. Pick up service from anywhere in Egypt and assistance in arranging tours to surrounding cities and the Sinai region.hope to see you soon> ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Penguin Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penguin Village Dahab
Penguin Village Hotel Dahab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing