We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The hotel lies in ruins”
Review of New Sphinx Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dahab
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New Sphinx Hotel
Ranked #50 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Москва, Россия
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The hotel lies in ruins”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I came to Dahab for diving. And my diving agency settled me to this hotel as it located not far from dive sites.
Its location is the only plus of this hotel.

Everything in this hotel is like ruins:
old shabby buildings, wires protrude from the walls, turbid water in pool, tumbling down furniture in the room and outside, not working fridge, noisy industry air conditioner, broken shower with salt water, absence of toilet paper, plane layer of dust everywhere in the room and falling from ceiling to bed plaster and etc.
Windows can't be fully closed in the room, so you can hear chattering from the yard all the night. Don't forget earplug.

Breakfast was poor and same everyday with withered sausages, cheese, tomatoes and cucumbers.
The room was never cleaned up during this week.

The real price I was told in this hotel is $30 for a room per night.
The hotel looks like its price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freeneon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    14
    10
    0
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
16
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I went to this hotel many times and others in Dahab. For your comfort, this one is the best. It has very nice staff, swimming pool (rare in dahab hotel), located front of the sea, close to funny mumy (one of the best restaurant of dahab), serve good breakfast and has wifi. The architecture is lovely. The room are comfortable and many offers balcony with sea view, + A/C, fridge, tv private bathroom. It is quiet around and not located close to a night club like other hotel in Dahab. I totally recommend it for its price, quality and staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Swimming pool, free wifi in room, buffet breakfast included, good price, balcony, fridge, air con, clean, TV with film channels.

A very good budget option. Cant really find fault at all,

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mccaramba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We stay in room 401 above the reception area. The bedroom's good size, has a big fridge, clean and quite new but the bathroom could be better and water a bit salty which I think it's common happen in the sea resorts. Breakfast was all right not that great same as anywhere else we went in Egypt.The location is great right in front of the sea and only a few minute walk to the main Dahab. The internet cafe just right next door and I do love ' Taamiya' at yum yum ,a small restaurant at the back of the hotel, only E£3 (50p British pound) , so tasty and very cheap , very popular for the local and we had no problem with our stomach at all. Grazala supermarket in town is selling fair price goods for everything u need from food , drink to Shisha tobacco. Love Ali Baba restaurant on the sea front, good food , great service and reasonable price and atmosphere is great, my favourite restaurant in this Egypt trip.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank happyhippo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

This was our second time in Dahab - we came for our honeymoon after 4 days in Luxor. Having stayed at the New Sphinx before in 2008, we initially booked into a different hotel to try something new. After 4 nights we swapped to the New Sphinx - a much bigger room, better pool, free a/c and breakfast included, for 10 euros per night cheaper. The manager recognised us from 2008 which was really nice, and may have been part of the reason we got such a good rate! The location of the hotel and specifically the pool is great - the constant breeze made sitting by the pool in 40 degree heat quite pleasant, and the sea front and Saudi Arabia views are lovely. The pool itself is large and there are plenty of sun loungers and parasols, although the deeper pool could have been a bit more full up.

It's only a short walk to the more lively area of town but everything is within easy walking distance and there are plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from. Eating out is cheap but the sea front restaurants charge a little bit more (although still cheap) - we got takeaway from the street cafes some nights and these are such good value as the food is tasty and comes in big portions.

If you want to scuba dive then 'Adventure Spot' are really good - the instructors are very knowledgeable and clearly know their stuff inside out, which is reassuring. We met some really nice people whilst diving that we then spent a fair few nights socialising with. This dive school seem to be affiliated to the New Sphinx in some way.

We both had massages at the beauty parlour which were excellent, and very reasonable priced - half what you'd pay in England. They also stay open til about 9pm so you can have a massage once the sun has gone down and you're a bit cooler.

All in all we had a truly amazing holiday and would definitely come back to Dahab and the New Sphinx - even though we try not to make a habit of staying in the same place twice we had to break our rule!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lady_xxLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Stayed at the New Sphinx after leaving an organised tour to stay in Dahab. Located at the quiet end of the resort in Mashraba, its a short walk to the livlier area of Musbat.

The staff were friendly, especially Mahmoud on reception who helped organise my transport back to Cairo.

Looked at 3 rooms at various prices before checking in and all were clean and a decent size with either a double bed or twin singles. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice in comparison to other hotels.

Air conditioning was invaluable and came in very useful when escaping the heat

The bathroom left a little to be desired: the shower curtain didn't reach the floor and the
plumbing cant cope with toilet paper. The water from the shower is salty , but that's no different to other more expensive hotels

They've got an on site "beauty parlour" and you'll be offered everything from Massages to a manicure but they're not persistent or pushy

Overall I would recommend the New Sphinx as a laid back, friendly place to stay. Excellent value when you take into account the location and the 2 swimming pools with views of the Red sea and Saudi Arabia. Like everything else in Egypt - don't be afraid to barter over price depending on how full they are.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverf0x1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

It's been a great pleasure to stay in this hotel!

The rooms are clean and comfortable. All rooms are equipped with an aircon, TV and a small fridge. I found that it's very important to have this facility, so you can store bottled water in it.

Dahab tap water is very hard and, depending on where you are staying, could be very salty. We stayed a couple of nights in a different hotel before we relocated to New Sphinx and it was like taking shower in the sea there! Fortunately, New Sphinx have got a good filtering system and their tap water is actually bearable.

The hotel service is very good and friendly. The rooms are cleaned every day, the cleaners even lay towels in adorable shapes on the bed! The hotel also offers a cheap laundry service (clothes are washed in fresh water and ready for collection in 24 hours) and a number of discounts on various tours. The reception is 24/7 and very friendly and helpful.

The hotel has also got a great swimming pool, it's quite big and even got a slide on one side. There are nice sun lounges and umbrellas surrounding the pool and you can get nice towels to wrap yourself in.

I found this hotel contributed greatly into my positive holiday experience! I think New Sphinx has got a very good value for it's price.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bloginkfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.0 mi away
Penguin Village
Penguin Village
#16 of 52 in Dahab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.0 mi away
INMO Divers Home
INMO Divers Home
#28 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
0.0 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Sphinx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Sphinx Hotel

Property: New Sphinx Hotel
Address: Dahab Village, Dahab, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Sphinx Resort is located right on the beach in the center of Dahab. All rooms have aircondition, tv satellite, phone, sound system & minibar. The resort has it's own dive center Sphinx Divers, health spa, restaurant and bazar. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing