We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the beaten track”
Review of New Sphinx Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dahab
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New Sphinx Hotel
Ranked #51 of 53 Hotels in Dahab
Reviewed 26 April 2010

It was the first time for me to visit Dahab and I got a very good impression about it . I stayed at New Sphinx Resort . The room is very nice , it has an air-conditioning , private bathroom , a satellite T.V , a fridge and a balcony that overlooking the ocean . The breakfast is open buffet , you can eat a different variety of dishes , drink coffee , tea and juice . All the stuff are very helpful especially the guys at the reception Sayed and Mahmoud , they assisted us in lots of things like booking flight tickets and organizing trips . They tried to make us over hte moon all the time . If you have any problem , you can go to them and they will work it out . The New Sphinx Resort is a great value of money . There is also a swimming pool where you can relax and chill out . the swimming pool is situated in a wonderful area where you can see the ocean and the mountain of Saudi Arabia on the other side . I recommend this hotel to all my friends .

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2010

Just got back from a wonderful trip in Dahab . I stayed at New Sphinx Hotel after I checked heaps of hotels but I found that The New Sphinx Hotel was the best hotel there . Pleasantly surprised by the friendly service . But be sure on their official website www.sphinx-hotels-dive.com to avoid paying commission .
To book , email [--] .

Matthew , UK

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warmglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2009

Me and my boyfriend stayed here- we moved from the Pengiun hotel because it was too expensive. This place offered the same facilities for half the price. It had a nice pool, breakfast was included and the staff were welcoming. It was also down towards a quieter end of the bay where you were hassled a lot less.

The rooms had egyptian character, were very spacious and were exactly what we wanted. We were very happy and so came back to stay after several excursions away.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonIlovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

This is a decent hotel in Dahab. We arranged to be picked up in Sharm el Sheik airport through the hotel and our driver was waiting for us when we got outside arrivals - so far so good!

After a journey of about 50 minutes we arrived in Dahab and pulled up outside the hotel which is in the centre of the main drag and walking distance from everywhere worth going. We were met by the jovial manager "Jimmy Dahab" who had us checked in and showed us to our room which was nothing special but functional and clean. He then escorted us to the nearby Funny Mummy bar which is owned by the hotel and is a great hangout. With cool tunes, a great view out to sea and a funky cushions instead of chairs approach this was a place we came back to every evening - it also does decent pizzas.

The hotel also has a tour organising office nearby - "Sphinx Safaris" - that can organise pretty cheap tours to all the diving and snorkelling sights in the area and more. We took a trip to the Blue Hole snorkelling spot which was pretty impressive and also did a day trip to St. Catherines Monastery/Mount Sinai. Both trips were as cheap as can be found in Dahab and well organised too.

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel and although you get what you pay for where the rooms are concerned the whole experience is enhanced by the friendly manager and staff.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthanSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

I liked this hotel a lot, it was nice and comfortable but our biggest beef was how we booked.
There are two websites for this hotel, one is run by the hotel (www.sphinx-hotels-dive.com) and one is run by someone else (www.sphinxdahab.com).

The second site is actually a travel agent, who will charge you more and continue to bug you about signing up for additional tours. Actually, we didn't realise that the person we were dealing with wasn't ACTUALLY affiliated with the hotel until our last day in Dahab. It all resulted in a few headaches:

At the end of our stay at the hotel, we wanted to share a taxi to the airport with two friends we had met in the course of our travels and were also staying at the hotel. Because we had booked through the agent, and our friends had just come to the hotel and gotten a room, the hotel and the travel agent worked very hard to make it improssible for us to book a taxi together (hotels and taxi drivers have deals for rides to the Sharm airport, I guess they didn't want to share the comission) After we re-connected with our friends at the airport, we also realised that we paid TWICE what our friends had, for an identical room.

The hotel is nice, and I recommend it, but please use caution when booking to save yourself money and headaches!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtl_diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We arrived in Dahab and managed to get a room here after a bit of bargaining with the manager. We had a great room overlooking the swimming pool, with a fantastic view across the sea towards the Saudi coastline leading to cracking sunrises. All the staff were very helpful and accommodating, the manager was always about checking how everyone was, and staff were on hand to sort out taxis, excursions etc.

The dive shop and hire centre is conveniently located next door to the pool. The breakfast was a bit odd by our UK tastes - such as hot dog sausages and fried vegetables every day, but the omelets were tasty and made to order. The coffee was pretty good although it needed about six members of staff to make it. In the rooms, air con was good and worked, and nicely orientated so with windows open, the room at night was cool and the aircon could be turned off. The fridge and TV worked.

There were a few negative experiences. A couple of dead cockroaches on the stairs leading to the upstairs rooms should've been swept away! Water coming out of tap was not drinking water, although this may be taken as a given in this part of Egypt anyway. Construction works on the seafront combined with yapping dogs led to one night of no sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodoffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

My husband and I stayed at the New Sphinx for around a week, and had a really enjoyable stay. The rooms are really nice, and there are heaps of restaurants, internet cafes etc in close proximity. The manager, Sayid, is also fantastic, and was really helpful to us during our stay.

But beware the Old Sphinx - we went there first by accident, and the guy behind reception 'helpfully' showed us to the location of the New Spinx (next door) and then took a commission on the room! We were actually wary of this, but the guy told us it was the same hotel, implying that no commission would apply.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneTraveller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0 mi away
Dahab Plaza Hotel
Dahab Plaza Hotel
#20 of 53 in Dahab
343 reviews
0 mi away
Panda Resort
Panda Resort
#29 of 53 in Dahab
107 reviews
0 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#2 of 53 in Dahab
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#1 of 53 in Dahab
550 reviews
0 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
0 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Sphinx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Sphinx Hotel

Address: Dahab Village, Dahab, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 53 Hotels in Dahab
Price Range: £28 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Sphinx Resort is located right on the beach in the center of Dahab. All rooms have aircondition, tv satellite, phone, sound system & minibar. The resort has it's own dive center Sphinx Divers, health spa, restaurant and bazar. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing