We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Meridien Dahab Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$37
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$53
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$41
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dahab Plaza Hotel(Dahab)(Great Value!)
US$23
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$21
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Happy Life Village(Dahab)(Great Value!)
US$39
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$40
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropitel Dahab Oasis(Dahab)(Great Value!)
US$28
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$48
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,166)
Filter reviews
1,166 results
Traveller rating
711
269
84
41
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
711
269
84
41
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showervie restaurantsails restaurantdeluxe roominfinity poolfresh water poolsea breezesalt waterlow occupancystar resortprivate beachfishbeach bardahab resortdive schoolsharm airportmain restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
804 - 809 of 1,166 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2009

My husband and I stayed here for two weeks and I can honestly say it was one of the most relaxing, enjoyable holidays I have had in many years. The hotel itself is beautifully laid out (though perhaps a bit hilly if you have walking problems - though they do have golf style buggies to drive you around if this is the case), the staff are genuinely friendly and everything is immaculate. The bedroom for me was great and I have never slept in a bed like it, with the extra thick mattress and super soft cushions. It was a bit of a pull to get myself up every morning!
We wanted to go to Dahab to do some scuba diving, so we used the onsite padi centre called Poseidon. There are over 60 dive centres in Dahab these days and although we're sure you might have got things a bit cheaper in town, I can honestly recommend using Poseidon, as they are both professional and friendly. I had saw some previous reviews saying they were disorganised but we found the exact opposite to be the case. If you are going to go and do some diving, I can recommend the camel safari trip, which is 2 dives on an all day trip. The diving on this day is truly brilliant, not to mention the Bedouin experience, and it made the trip for me.
So all in all I would not hesitate to praise the hotel or the onsite dive centre, and I'm only jealous that people reading this review will potentially be going soon, whilst we're back in rainy London!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacquiLondom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management1937, Management Team at Le Meridien Dahab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2009

Dear loyal guest,

It truly is a great pleasure to read your enthusiastic comments. Your feedback is highly appreciated and we am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

we stayed at the le meridian last wk of may first week of june. never been there before but it was the best holiday we have been on. the rooms were spotless and a good size with air con. the food was excellent. location was just what we wanted very very relaxing, never once did we have any problems with the food never got bad stomach never got bit by any mosquito's or bugs. and to top it all the best staff you could wish for they looked after us 150% . s mahmoud and achmed totally looked after my partner and me by the pool sides and pods always gave us a laugh and jokes and even tried to teach us how to speak arabic. to finish the icing on the cake the bar staff (bassam, aly and waled) were the best of the best you could not ask for better from them. emad is the bar manager who became our best friend to both of us he always gave us his time and took time to get to know us a very genuine guy. already saving to go back next year. a1 break.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gloriaAylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

Stayed at the Meridien dahb for 4 nights.the location is outstanding..blue sea in front and the stark Sinai mountains behind.Chose this spot for diving..rooms were luxorious and service excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mayaChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2009

Stayed here 17-24 May. We wanted some spring sunshine and the Red Sea never fails. We booked 24 hours before we flew out, as the forecast in the UK was wet. We have been to Sharm and Taba, so wanted somewhere different. Dahab was recommended.

An 5 hour flight from Manchester (Monach) to Sharm and a 45 min to 1 hour private transfer to Dahab. The road is a very good dual carrigeway, but the driving is a bit too fast for my liking, but the road is near empty. Return flight with Jet2.

A friendly greeting in the large airconed Reception, with the now standard cold towel and drink, but more importantly a very swift check in. Within 10 mins of arrival we were in our room and the bags followed 2 mins later - perfect. We are Starwood Prefrred Guests, having stayed in Le Meridiens in Fujiarah (UAE) and twice in Marrakesh. We like this group of hotels, as they are always of a good standard, but without being too flash and pretentious. Preferred Guests usually get an upgrade of some form and ours was a room closer to the sea (room 208).

The rooms/bathrooms are very modern, with a middle eastern twist. Could not fault the room and the bed and the views were superb. All rooms have a sea view, but the closer to the sea you are, the better the view. Further back the views are more restricted. Rooms were cleaned very efficiently early each day. A few english language news channels. The patios are nice with good quality chairs. Good aircon is definately required here, as it was +40C every day. It is normally in the mid 30's C this time of year, but it was hotter than normal. Daily mini newsopaper provided to each room. The hotel is on a slope, so there are plenty of steps and inclines to tackle. Not that suitable for disabled, but they do have a number of golf buggies to ferry you arround.

The public areas are very comfortable, clean and well maintained. Sure it is not the same standard as the 4 Seasons in Sharm, as PJ from Durham has rather naively complained below, but very few places attempt to reach that standard or price levels of the 4 Seasons. We particulaly liked the terrace seating area in the evening after dinner for a drink and a cigar. Some gentle live local guitar music and the warm breeze off the Red Sea - it was idylic. One evening we watched a football match on the terrace between the top 2 Egyptian teams with a host from a Vodaphone conference - it was fun. They have a happy hour from 5-6pm and then from 8-9 pm I think ,when all local drinks , including bottled water are half price. You also get nibbles with your drink.

Very good sun loungers both at the pool and the beach. Bery wide with good padding. Both freshwater and seawater pools. Nice quality beach towels provided. The beach pods were fun and there were always some available.

Food is always a concern for travellers in Egypt, and Mrs P and I do not like buffet meals, but these were some of the best we have encountered. So much so that we did not eat in the al a cartes at all in the evening. We had planned to alternate but never needed to. You get a discount off the al a carte if you are half board. Breakfasts are normal affairs, but the quality of the food and the hygiene were very high. We had lunch a few times at Vie by the pool and Sails on the beach and were very impressed with both. The evening buffets did get a bit boring after a week, but the quality was very good. We like arab food and could eat messa for every meal. They do have a different theme each night, which did give some variation. Drinks seemed initially expensive, but at 9 Egyption to the £, they were very reasonable. Even the Egytian wine at EG130 was good value for a hotel of this standard. Imported wines have a punitive tax and are silly prices. Local beers are nice and ok value at EG24. Water was EG13 for a large bottle. All very reasonable. The hotel is sufficiently concerned about hygiene, that we saw staff checking the temperature of the buffets with digital probes.

The highlight of the trip for us was the superb service from all of the staff. From the minute you arrive, they cannot do enough for you and at no time were tips expected. I always like to give small tips on holiday. I asked at the money exchange in Reception (very handy and with good rates, plus an ATM) what the level of tips was normal. He said EG5 was normal, EG10 was a good tip ie 50p to a £. I spent about EG20 per day (£2-3), but it was never expected. The pool attendants were very friendly and helpful. They would move your lounger in and out of the sun and offer fresh towels as required. Cold towels each afternoon was nice at 40C. Best service we have come a cross in years. Similar down on the beach. We could not praise the service in all areas highly enough. Not the begrudging, often sneering service of the Caribbean that we have become used to.

The beach is "cat litter" type and you need shoes to go into the water, though the best access was from the pier. Snorkling was OK and the kit hire was about £5 for 24 hours. Water sports are very well catered for with both a diving and a wind surfing centre. Dahab is a real mecca for windsurfing, kite surfing and diving. There is a gently breeze in the morning, which reduces in the afternoon. From the hotel you can see hoards of surfers at the lagoon a few miles away. Dahab town is a fun, chilled out, hippy sort of place, with lots of restaurants and bars, but nothing like the glitz of Sharm. Free bus from the hotel a few times a day. So many bronzed, bleached young people - they all looked like they were having a great time - made us feel old.

the hotel wwas generally quiet and I would estimate only 30% full.

We did not do any trips, as we have seen the main sights before.

A great relaxing trip and a fine hotel. Perfedctfor a short break in the sun.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NeilandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

We stayed in this hotel at the beginning of May for 10 nights and had a fantastic time. The hotel is as beautiful as the pictures, the grounds are immaculate and the staff couldn't do enough for you. We had a deluxe room which was right at the front and well worth the extra money. The hotel is situated a little way out of the centre of town but this was nice for the peace and quiet. The hotel have put on a couple of extra shuttles, otherwise a taxi ride was approximately £3.50.
The one thing that lets this hotel down is the food. We only ate in the hotel two nights, once in the buffet and the other in Sails. We’re not really into buffets so preferred to eat in the town where there is a greater choice. The hotel was supposed to be around 70% full but it felt like we were the only ones there, this is ideal if you want total peace and quiet but we would have liked a little more atmosphere!
We used the hotel dive centre Poseidon and found them to be very good despite what other people have said. We never went out with more than 4 or 5 in a group so perhaps they were just unlucky.
Overall we had a lovely, relaxing holiday and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_80Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews