We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good base for Dahab”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Beach Club
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A good base for Dahab”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Great location and very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    122
    13
    5
    8
See reviews for
74
97
58
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I stayed here for a yoga retreat in November and had such an amazing time. The hotel was spotless and the staff super friendly and eager to make your stay that extra bit special (even sending someone to cancel a table at a local restaurant when we were too tired to go after a trip to the desert!). The trips are well thought through and the facilities there include everything you could need (I recommend the Swedish massage and the reiki in particular). There are some lovely little secluded spots, some with hammocks, dotted around the hotel which are a lovely little addition. The staff at the restaurant are also very friendly and helpful. The food is good, but a little bland at times and a bit too pricey when compared with the other restaurants in Dahab.

If you're interested in yoga, they have a stunning studio nestled in between a view of Dahab's mountains on the one side, and on the other the sea looking out to Saudi Arabia - a pretty awe-inspiring backdrop for when you're doing the tree pose! I would stay here again, but rather than doing a full yoga course, I'd probably just go to some of the drop in yoga sessions at Beach Club or any of the other many studios running yoga classes in Dahab.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms in the main building next to reception seem much nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelstar16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

I stayed here for 4 nights in September and can't say enough good things about it. The budget-category room was better than expected and a great value for the price. Spotless, simple but charming decor, and well-functioning air conditioning. The staff is really helpful -- for example, when I needed a haircut, one of the owners/managers set up an appointment with the salon next door (which gives great cuts, by the way).

The bar down by the water is a great place to end the day, and though there's not much of a beach in front of the hotel, there are a couple nearby (3-5 minute walk) where you can rent a lounge chair and umbrella for a day for about 20 Egyptian pounds (about $5 USD). Overall, I had a wonderful experience at the Blue Beach and hope to get back there someday.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Stayed here with my partner for a week. She was on a yoga holiday, I went diving. The hotel is lovely, small but very clean and with friendly, helpful staff. The hotel has rooms on both sides of the road. We had a superior room (on the side nearest the sea) and it was bright and airy with a large, comfy bed, small balcony overlooking the garden and the sea beyond, and a nice toilet/shower room. There was an air conditioner which although looking a bit battered did a good job. We didn't use the TV but there was one if you want it. There was also a kettle with tea and coffee makings, oh and a fridge. Also a safe in the large wardrobe. In short, a very well equipped room!

The hotel itself is right on the sea front, about 5 minutes walk from 'Lighthouse', the beginning of Dahab's seafront walk with a wide choice of restaurants, a couple of bars and loads of shops.

The yoga was carried out in a large, tiled room on the top of the hotel, with lovely views out over Dahab one way and the sea the other way.

The diving centre is very well run and equipped, the kit is of good quality and there are absolutely loads of dive trips you can do. I had a super instructor, "Mo", who made the holiday even better by making the dive trips so enjoyable.

There's a nice little pool which is VERY cold. But then it was so hot in the sunshine it was nice to plunge in there and cool off a bit every now and then. Not very many sun beds but we managed to get one every day. You can get food and drink from the restaurant all day, served by the pool.

Oh I nearly forgot the Blue Beach's bar - the amusingly named Furry Cup. Nice enough, not a lot of atmosphere but a good meeting place before you head off in the evening to restaurants. There's free wifi there too if you want to catch up with what's going on in the rest of the world!

I thought the whole package was pretty good value as well. To be honest, I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. You'd be hard pressed I think to find better in this sort of price range.

Book it!

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room on the side closest to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

If you're considering the Blue Beach, look at the website, it gives you a very good idea of the services and the philosophy of the whole set-up. Booking by email was simple, Natalie was extremely helpful, and reservation confirmed without any deposit being required.
The rooms (we stayed in both standard and superior, as soon as they became available) are simple but have everything you need. We found the standard rooms noisy as they overlooked the road and they also got pretty hot (but the aircon worked!) and felt the superior rooms fully deserved the extra money for: a fantastic sea view (check out the sunrise from behind the mountains - I'll post my photos later - while a breeze rustles the palm trees), working fridge and tv, enclosed shower (though the doors of ours tended to jam a bit), and the safe inside the wardrobe. All very useful.
I shared their eco tendency to avoid unnecessary towel changes etc and understand that sea air and wind take their toll on all buildings and fixtures. So things can and do go wrong.... my daughter's room had a plumbing problem and the workman 'went home for the day' leaving boiling hot water pumping continually into the loo.... the first reaction from the hotel was 'sorry, we can't do anything till he comes back tomorrow', luckily soon corrected by Natalie to a change of room. The fixtures in our bathroom (pipes to the water boiler) were heavily encrusted, but everything worked fine, plenty of hot water though we followed requests to use all water sparingly.
Breakfast was an abundant buffet, some days better than others - muesli might be with lots of nuts and raisins, or with none, for example. Friendly attitude of English Claire and her Egyptian husband much appreciated, some other staff failed to replace falafels or other popular breakfast staples when finished.... or not notice/not care when coffee/tea mugs were finished. Little things could be improved, but overall for a 'breakfast included' menu, it was both tasty and abundant. Fresh cheese and sweet croissants, as well as made-to-order omelettes were particularly good.
The Blue Beach Stables offered lovely horses, and Linda was a good and knowledgeable leader. Too bad the horse she was riding went lame 20 minutes into the ride, so our ride was limited to a there-and-back rather than the circular ride I had been hoping for. The scenery in the wadis (dry river beds in the desert) is really spectacular, made me long for two or three hour rides, but unfortunately I didn't have the time to go back again. The sun goes behind the mountain early (just after 3 pm in early November) but it is light from 6 a.m. until about 5.30p.m., so there is plenty of time either in the early morning or in the afternoon when you have light but it is not too hot for a good canter.
The staff in reception was pleasant and helpful - even when I requested breakfast boxes late in the day, and for an excursion with a 'rival' organization, the request was met with a 'we are here to satisfy your requests, even if you are going with other agencies, we wish to meet your requirements'.... and within an hour or so, we had a box containing bread, processed cheese, sliced meat (not a highlight, on the following occasion I requested they OMIT the meat, which they did!), yogurt, fruit juice and a banana, quite enough to sustain us after the night climb of Mount Sinai (highly recommended excursion!)
The location of the hotel is very convenient, a short walk to the Lighthouse with its restaurants and tourist shops, market etc, yet away from what I imagine can be noisy when tourist numbers are high. The pool looks nice though I did not use it and the whole hotel complex has a relaxed but nicely presented air. A little maintenance and repainting of the first floor corridors etc would not come amiss, but it really didn't detract from our enjoyment of the hotel and its amenities, and overall the rooms are excellent value. We didn't do yoga classes, which had a strong following every morning, or try the Arabic lessons, which I would love to another time....

Room Tip: Rooms 205 and 206 (superior) have lovely views over the sea and balconies that side too
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuravidaPlaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

The room was clean with pleasant decor and all the facilities were working (lights, showers etc). Staff were very friendly and will go out of their way to help you. Booking was easy via Skype and email. It's a few hundred metres walk from the shops and restaurants so it's nice and quiet for a good night's sleep, but close enough if you want the nightlife. The breakfast buffet is different every day so always something nice to choose from, plenty of options for lunch, and in the evening the steaks are fantastic. The bar has a selection of beers, wines and spirits and free internet access (although very slow). The airport transfers were efficient and very reasonably priced. We were diving for 6 days out of the 7 that we stayed so we can't say much for the trips or other activities on offer! We would definitely stay there again :D

Room Tip: The new extension with standard rooms is a good idea, it has a quiet quadrangle with shady seating a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DivaDawn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

The "superior" rooms come with pretty much the worst LCTV I've ever seen with 10 channels. The air conditioning remote stopped working. The budget rooms (stayed in there 2 nights) don't have a shower curtain so you effectively are forced to having a wet room bathroom. Overall OK, the breakfast is passable (don't even bother with the breakfast boxes as these are heinous. I mean stale bread, brown-ish fromage and some non-specific meat that would be quite appropriate in tinned dog food).

Don't bother doing any activities through Blue Beach. You can find much better and cheaper through a quick research in Dahab itself (one afternoon got us all we needed from Quadding to a trip up mount Sinai etc.). Want an example? Doing your Open Water PADI will cost 320€ at Blue Beach (€260 course, €35 for manuals, €25 for accreditation); I did mine at Seven Heaven hotel (Divers Down Under) for €190 all inclusive. Sorry Blue Beach, but your prices are geared towards ripping off guests who are too lazy to find out what the going rates are for these activities.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view, don't take the budget rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matteo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
2.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
3.5 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
1.5 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
5.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.8 mi away
Acacia Dahab Hotel
Acacia Dahab Hotel
#6 of 52 in Dahab
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Beach Club

Property: Blue Beach Club
Address: El Melal Street | P.O. Box 45, Dahab, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
#14 Family Hotel in Dahab
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint beachfront hotel in great location in Dahab. Warm atmosphere, great staff and loads of activities for all ages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Beach Club Hotel Dahab
Blue Beach Hotel
Blue Beach Dahab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing