We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for Adults”
Review of Fanadir Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fanadir Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for Adults”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Boutique Adult's hotel, No children are allowed, in case there are Famillies they can book Mosaique hotel which is sister hotel with same level, cosy & stylish, very clean, reception is not too big but representable, we booked a STD room which all are pool view, on Half board basis and were upgraded to Marina view room, furniture are utlra modern, Pool is too small but there was no use for it for us, food was basic as breakfast and dinner, but all items are included, staff are service oriented, helpful and freindly. Location is in the new Marina which is 5 min walk from Moods beach (the most known beach) with free access to hotel's guests, and to the old Marina which all kind of restuarants and outing are in it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnMiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    127
    35
    6
    3
See reviews for
28
215
53
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel is an adult only 1 which was very appealing as we had no children travelling with us. We stayed in a standard twin room and it was adequate for what we wanted, the beds were comfy and the rooms were clean although the bathroom could do with a bit of a makeover. The staff were very friendly and helpful but it was the main Eid celebration when we was there and the hotel ended up full of rich egyptians, all their friends from other hotels came to ours and decided to party round the pool, loud music, smoking in the pool, talking down to the waiters, they basically took over and didnt give the other guests a second thought. If your wanting to just have a nice quiet holiday then make sure you dont go when there are any muslim festivals going on. Abu tig marina is beautiful and there are some lovely shops and places to eat. El Gouna is not your typical egypt, you dont get hassled to go in their shops or bars as the person that owns El Gouna does not allow it. I would definitely go back here. The pool was freezing though.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the marina are delux but the rest which are standard overlook the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fennyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Clean room, decent location about 15 minute walk from Abu Tig Marina restaurants. Nicest hotel experience out of other stays (vs. Movenpick, Sultan Bey, Rihanna Inn). Adults only meant quieter stay and less crowded breakfast. Friends with children could stay next door at Mosaique. Best beach experience was shuttle to private beach that was less crowded.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveandKaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Best hotel for location and price. friendly staff, nice heated pool, good breakfast with good food selection. Very near walking distance to the marina, restaurants and cafes. Large sized clean rooms with nice views.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Htsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirtzfeld, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Fanadir hotel is a small hotel, where the minimum age of guests is 16, in order to provide a relaxing atmosphere to the guests without being disturbed by kids.
It is also one of the most recent built ones ( i think in 2011...)

For those guests travelling with kids, nextdoors is the Mosaique hotel where kids are welcome.

Due to the turmoils in Egypt big cities in summer 2013, i had to change my journey dates 3 times, because Condor did cancel their flights from Germany to Hurghada, and after i booked a new flight with Sunexpress, their flight dates changed also once more.
However, reception at Fanadir hotel was very flexible in changing the dates each time without any hassle.

Btw... No interruptions at all in the holiday resorts at the Red Sea, so travel agencies were wrong to cancel so many trips to Hurghada and El Gouna.

I booked my room directly at the hotel and with only breakfast, as El Gouna has more than 50 different restaurants, so i like to go out dining at different places during my stay.

Breakfast however i do take at the hotel, on the breakfast terrace nearby the pool (which btw is low chlorided, so no smell at the terrace at all!).

Choice at the breakfast buffet is great, going from all kind of omeletts and pancakes, different types of breads and yoghurts, 8 different warm dishes, hot and cold drinks, pastries and mueslis and fruits.Plates and glasses are removed from your table as soon as you've finished them.
Very attentive waiters!

The room itself is spacious, clean and has comfortable beds and pillows. Choice to have a balcony towards the pool, or with a supplement a balcony towards the sea or the marina where expensive yachts and palm trees give an exotic flair to your stay.

I appreciate especially the small room extras like single lever taps, glass shower door and soft toilet paper as wel as an electronic safe, big enough for laptop or tablet in Fanadir, extras which are not always found standard in Egypt hotels.

Minibar drinks and snacks are refreshed on a daily basis, but as it is adviced to not drink tap water, my experience is that you best buy a 5 liter bottle of drinking water at the nearby supermarket, which cost less than one euro per 5 liter, to use for tooth brushing to prevent the "Pharaos revenge!"

You get an electronic key+card for your door and room electricity, so you have to be aware that when you leave your tablet, cellphone or laptop plugged in in your room, power supply will not continue when you leave the room while taking the card with you.
So better load those devices during nighttime.

WiFi is not free but available, but cheaper is of course to get a MobilNil datacard with 1 gig for 11 euro or 7 gig for 16 euro at the local telco shop on tammr henna square in el gouna downtown.
TV in the room has about 60 international channels. But who watches tv during holidays?

Towel cards are provided for beach/pool towels and can be exchanged for fresh ones any time. The beach nearby at Moods (3 minutes walk along the marina) can be used by guests of the Fanadir Hotel, but i preferred the quiet hotel pool which is surrounded by the rooms, so little wind, and which is spacious to swim undisturbed rounds (about 17 strokes for a length.)

At the pool bar you can order your soft and hard drinks or have them served at your deck chair.
Enough sun umbrellas for those who search the shade, because the sun is always shining in Egypt.

Some reviews think it a drawback that this hotel is at the utmost corner of El Gouna, but I found it not a problem, and when you stroll around, you'll do something for your health as well.
And most of the other hotels in El Gouna are as well quite a walk from Abu Tig marina or El Gouna downtown.

However, cheap toktoks, shuttle busses and limousines bring you anywhere in El gouna in ample minutes. If you stay longer, you can buy a week ticket for the shuttle bus for about 3 euro per person.

After having stayed at Sheraton, Möwenpick and Ocean View as well as in several private appartments in El Gouna during the last 10 years, I honestly can say that Fanadir has become my new favorite hotel in El Gouna.

Room Tip: I had room 117 with a balcony that overlooks the pool. 9 rooms have a terrace instead of a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WirtzfeldValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosaique1, Manager at Fanadir Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear WitzfeldValley,

Thanks a lot for the kind words and the effort of giving a such indept explaination about the hotel to future customers.

We are pleased to be your new hotel-of-choice in El Gouna and are looking forward welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Ragnhild Tabet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

In line with other reviews our experience in this hotel is mixed. The hotel has a superb location on the side of the new Abu Tig Marina (North Basin) and therefore a short walk (8-10 minutes) from the restaurants etc. in the original Abu Tig Marina. We stayed for 14 nights.

The rooms are well appointed, and very large, so there is a considerable amount of space in the room. Though WIFI reached our room the price is fairly expensive, particularly when you consider that a number of bars and restaurant in the area offer free wifi.

Sun loungers around the pool are plentiful, though the sun obviously moves from one side to the other through the day. Within the courtyard style pool area there are large areas of shade caused by the high walls of the hotel, and so as the sun drops the only sun is in the corner of the courtyard.

The hotel provides towels for the pool, and also to be used at Moods Beach (free entry) and Rihanna beach (free entry and complimentary subtle). These towels are also used if taking snorkelling or dive excursions.

The breakfast buffet is basic, and can be supplemented at the egg station where the chef will make eggs and pancakes.

This hotel has the potential to be very special, however the staff, as friendly as they are are lacking in some basic hospitality skills: the swim-up pool bar is seldom staffed, meaning that it is necessary to go into reception to request service. Our mini-bar was not re-stocked despite several requests, and I needed to go to reception a number of times at 11:00pm or later to get water. I was advised that this was because I had not signed my mini-bar ticket to confirm consumption, however this was not possible since the ticket was not left for us to complete and was only left during the day to be completed on our return to the room.

The small bar in reception is not welcoming, and again rarely staffed. As an example an order for bottle of beer was fulfilled by removing the bottle from the fridge and then going to another room (the restaurant) to get a glass - allowing the beer to warm.

The housekeeping department were generally good, however there were a couple of days where they forgot to refresh the towels and again I needed to go to reception to resolve this.

In general I would stay here again - the location and peaceful nature outweighs the lack of service, but if the service was improved this would be a truly superb place for a holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FreckBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosaique1, Manager at Fanadir Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear FreckBlue,

Thank you for chosing Fanadir hotel for your recent vacation and for the effort of giving us your feedback.
I am sorry to hear that the service was not meeting your expectations and i will follow up what happended during this time. I will also follow up with the communication regarding re-filling of Minibars.
We hope to welcome you back to Fanadir hotel and that we will not dissapoint you this time.

Looking forward welcoming you back

Best regards
Ragnhild Tabet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
1,493 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 798 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Fanadir is located on the northern most part of the Marina next to sister property Mosaique. We stayed here for two weeks from the middle through the end of June with a Half Board package.
The Fanadir is listed as a four star property. The building’s exterior in general is well maintained and the plants are well groomed. We had a standard room with a patio and pool view. The standard rooms are comfortable. Some of the interior building materials, quality, and workmanship (most particularly in the bathroom) would barely meet a three star property by European standards. In room amenities included: hair dryer, mini bar, flat screen satellite TV, safe and ample shelf space.

To keep this review as compact as possible, I will try to cover most items by listing them under the advantage/disadvantage sections with some explanations.

Advantages:

-Pool with swim up bar and an ample supply of sun beds.

-No children allowed, which may be viewed as a positive or negative. (Guests with children may consider staying next door at the sister property Mosaique).

-Book swap area at the front desk.

-Most of the staff was friendly.

-Free Access to Moods beach and Rihanna/Buzzha beach. At check-in, Fanadir issues each guest a towel card which one exchanges for beach towels. Guests are asked to use these towels on the beach and not the towels in the guest rooms.

-Our housekeeper, Khaleb (sp), was very nice and seemed to take great pride in his job.

Disadvantages:

-The biggest disappointment was the food. In general, the food was boring. Dishes that should have been hot were not as there were no or insufficient burners under the food warmers. In my opinion, the freshness of the food and bread items didn’t meet our expectations. The bread was generally dried out and other items on the buffet were carried over from the previous day or evening. This may be due to the fact that this is a smaller hotel and in low season there are not enough guests to keep the turnover on the buffet items for things to be freshly replenished. Breakfast juices were undrinkable! In my opinion, there was no actual juice in these drinks, just powdered or a watery beverage!

-Internet charge of EGP 120/day, or 360/ week! We thought that while such a charge is not uncommon in an international business hotel, it was extremely expensive for the location and positioning of the hotel in a tourist destination. This charge was also very expensive compared to the price we paid for the room.
-Shower only in standard rooms (no tub) and only liquid soap from dispensers offered.
-No security peep holes on the guest room doors (though, I know it is a secure, gated community).

-One night during our stay, a group of locals staying at the hotel were yelling and having a party in the pool at 3.30 in the morning, though hotel rules state the pool closes at sunset. It took two calls to the desk and thirty minutes later before the front desk person was able to control the group.
-On another occasion, there was a professional photography company that was on property. On this day, the hotel went all out to make the presentation mostly around the front desk and pool really exceptional. There were tall tables set up near the pool with nice floral arraignments placed on them. The sun loungers were all strategically placed around the pool and rolled towels were placed on each one of loungers, amongst other nicer improvements for the photo shoot. My friend made a comment to one the main managers that the hotel should consider taking such care and nice presentation every day. The hotel took the comments to heart at least for a few days, but then things returned to the old standard operating procedures.

I would personally suggest a pool view, pool level room. Some of these rooms have walk up balconies other just have balconies on the pool level. There is not much happening at this northern part of the Marina, so I would not choose a Marina view room, besides you will miss all the pool action.

Would I visit Fanadir or El Gouna again? I would honestly have to say no, at least, at this time of the year. It was a very relaxing vacation, but with the weather at 40 C (100+ degrees) each day, I’m not inclined to do much during the hottest part of the day.

I hope this review was helpful and if you would like more specific/detailed explanations and opinions, please feel free to click on the ask me more about Fanadir and/or El Gouna in general at the bottom of this review. I hope to have a Trip List published shortly about everything I experienced on my two week vacation in El Gouna.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FormerCaliBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosaique1, Manager at Fanadir Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear FormerCaliBoy,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the room and the pool area.
The internet connection and prices is set by an external company and we therefore have no desicion on the prices and services provided, but are in the process of reviewing the agreement.
We are constantly working with the engineering team to maintain the rooms in order to maintain the standard we want.
Some groups of guests unfortunatly not respect their fellow guests and our team in the night and are sometimes not easy to control. We do our best, but some are more difficult than others.
The Set-up for the photo shoot was nice, but not practical (if you talk about the tables by the pool) and the towels was presented on the sunbeds, and i agree this looks nice, but again, some guests does not respect the hotels property and take the towels with them and we therefore use the Towel card system in order to control.

We hope to welcome you back again (maybe in the winter this time)

Best regards
Ragnhild Tabet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
0.4 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.1 mi away
Mosaique Hotel
Mosaique Hotel
#3 of 18 in El Gouna
458 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
372 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dawar El Omda
Dawar El Omda
#10 of 18 in El Gouna
485 reviews
1.4 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fanadir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fanadir Hotel

Property: Fanadir Hotel
Address: Abu Tig Marina North Basin | El Gouna, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fanadir Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fanadir Hotel offers modern comfort and blissful quietude in a child-free environment in El Gouna on the Red Sea coast. Opened in 2010 as part of Abu Tig Marina's latest development, it overlooks the North Basin and its luxury yachts. Ideal to escape the crowds, this serene setting is merely a few steps away from the main attractions of the marina's South Basin, including cafes and restaurants, bars and nightclubs, and a wide array of boutiques and souvenir shops. The Fanadir Hotel's ideal location, combined with Egypt's mild climate, makes it a perfect choice for holidaymakers seeking active seaside vacations, and in particular for kitesurfers. Within walking distance, Mangroovy Beach has shallow waters and consistent winds; it is home to three kitesurfing stations offering beginner classes, private tuition, and supervised freeriding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fanadir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing