We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but not great”
Review of Fanadir Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fanadir Hotel
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel looks good on the outside, just like the pictures we saw before booking. Comfortable and clean room, with location being convenient next to the marina (5 min walk). We had an ambassador suite but it didn't live up to its name, yes there was a lot of space but it lacked furniture. And there was a very loud buzzing A/C.
The front desk was friendly and welcoming however they didn't have the right information about excursions while we were booking to go to Mahmya. They told us no need for advanced booking and just show up there... well turns out that's a very bad idea, after driving out all the way to Hurghada (30 min) the reservation desk said the boats are fully booked! after a lot of back and forth and waiting for any cancellations they finally got us on the boat but I was very frustrated from the misinformation from hotel.
Lastly the food at the hotel was quite bad, I haven't tried anything but the breakfast, but the quality was terrible, taste was not good and strange thing, they charged extra for fresh orange juice.
Overall, I think the negatives are more than the positives and I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: try to get a marina view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mannotg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosaique1, General Manager at Fanadir Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Mannotg,

I am sorry to hear you did not fully enjoy your stay in our hotel this summer and that the reception did not give the correct information about the trip to Mahmeya. Normally they book full package with transportation, boat and meals with one of the local travel agents.
The breakfast is usually well appreciated by our guests, and i am sorry to hear you did not enjoy it. All our fesh juices are with a supplement.

I hope you will change your mind and give us a second chance next time you are visiting El Gouna.

Kind regards,

Nicolas Tabet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

I enjoyed a great relaxing weekend with my wife at Fanadir hotel, the quite environment, the quality and caliber of guests would make me go there each and every time i visit Gouna. Based in the new Marina and very near to the old one makes it easy not to use any mean of transportation.

Room Tip: Pool view or Marina view they are both marvellous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khaled T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosaique1, General Manager at Fanadir Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Khaled T,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and we are pleased to hear you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to see you again soon when needed to relax.

Kind regards
Nicolas Tabet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful two week stay at The Fanadir.

When we booked this we were unsure of whether or not it was for us because it's a very small adults only hotel and we wondered if it might be too small for two weeks. We needn't have worried as it has been great.

The hotel is located on the new marina, a short walk away from the Abu Tig marina and a short hop in a tuktuk to Downtown.

We had top floor marina view room which is lovely, light and airy and has a great view. I'd booked a marina view direct with the hotel rather than through the tour operator. The rooms overlooking the pool are good too but we'd wanted to look out on the marina. Be warned though that these top floor (third floor) rooms have a great view but there's no lift so if you don't like or struggle with stairs book a lower floor.

The room was a junior suite so has a lovely little sitting room on the side and a small balcony which is perfect for enjoying an early morning or afternoon cup of tea. The room itself was very clean and contains all the things you could need like a safe, kettle, etc.

The staff are all great. Reception staff were always really helpful and friendly, answering all queries and having a chat with you and the boys waiting tables at breakfast and serving around the pool were all very good and took the time to chat or joke with you.

There was an Egyptian wedding party staying at the hotel last weekend and it was very busy but getting a table for breakfast was still easy and they were constantly replenishing things so that they didn't run out. Getting served by the pool was equally as easy during this busy time too. It's a credit to Moshen and his team that they coped very well when the hotel is at capacity, we have stayed in several hotels that can't.

We came here for my husband's birthday and we went out for a meal that night and returned to find a lovely birthday cake in the room.

You have the choice of spending your days by pool, a reserved area on Mangroovy beach or using Moods beach so you have lots of choice.

Breakast is good with the usual choices and the omelette station where the chef does fresh cooked eggs, pancakes and waffles. I did read a review on here that says the breakfast choice is monotonous but our view is that there is a lot of choice and it's up to you to decide to try something different and not stick to the same old choices.

Many people use the hotel as a base and go out all day and then all evening but we've enjoyed sitting by the pool in the evenings with a drink. It's a lovely relaxing end to an evening.

It's true that some bits could do with refurbishing and the wifi doesn't work everywhere but staff says the wifi issue is in hand. We've stayed in a lot of hotels and most could do with some refurbishment if you look closely enough but to us the service and cleanliness are more important and they're first class here.

If you want a hotel that offers good facilities, a great view and great personal service then try this hotel because like us, you'll become fans of The Fanadir. If you want a huge hotel where the service is impersonal and you'll be pestered to take part in activities then this isn't for you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosaique1, General Manager at Fanadir Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Alli_D,

We are happy to hear we have new fans! and thank you for taking the time to share this indept review about your experience here in the Fanadir Hotel. Rest assure we will share your comments with our teams.
We are constantly working to improve and upgrade our facilites. Hopefully you will find improvements next time you come.
We are working on the WIFI and by the end of the year we should have WIFI coverage in all the rooms and privided complimentary in the public areas.
Thank you again for your kind words and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Nicolas Tabet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed at the Fanadir hotel for 11 nights at the end of May. Our package was for room only with a Marina view. The view was gorgeous. The room itself was a little dated but clean. We didn't use many of the hotels facilities, only the pool and wifi. The wifi was chargeable by the hour, around £6 which could only be used in certain areas of the hotel. I don't use wifi much however my partner did, though he found the watersports centre plus many local bars we went to had free wifi.
Location wise, we wanted to be as near to the beach as possible. There are regular tuk tuk's which will pick you up for 50p per person (kids free) and take you on the 2 minute journey to the beaches. The hotels location was great for us because of this short distance. You can walk, which we did when there were no tuk tuk's available which took us about 15 minutes. My partner and I did an 8hr kitesurfing course at Red Sea Zone which was fantastic; El Gouna is a great place to learn, even for a complete novice, because of the shallow water and good wind. I'd highly recommend Red Sea Zone to anyone, the instructors are great and they'll give you advice and help every step of the way.
We used the pool most late afternoons which was fine. The hotel was very quiet so there were plenty of loungers free even at 5pm. Also with being adults only, it was pretty chilled out. There’s a pool bar and table tennis, not much but certainly enough to totally relax. There's also a supermarket nearby which we used occasionally for snacks to take down to the beach but the hotel minibar and food/drinks menu was really reasonably priced too.
Hotel staff were pretty friendly overall, though I was disappointed when I asked for some further information about an event that was being held in El Gouna. I was told they didn't have any further information and they didn't offer to look on the internet or make any calls which was frustrating. This happened twice, on one occasion we were told to call the operator on the reception phone and speak to the centre in Arabic regarding opening hours and prices (we know basic Arabic but we're not that advanced). I've stayed in a huge range of different hotels all over the world and usually reception staff are much more helpful than that. Apart from those instances everyone was friendly and helpful.
There's plenty of places to eat on an evening - Abu Tig Marina is either a 2 minute tuk tuk ride away or 5 minute walk away. Restaurants here are typically anywhere between £10-£20 for a main course, £14 for a bottle of wine, similar to prices in a half decent restaurant in the UK. We ate at the Maratim (best restaurant by far) and Saigon (great food). There's a 'street party' on Friday evenings which was good with seating set out on the street, restaurants with buffet food and different shows throughout the night. Dress code here is pretty chilled, some came pretty formal (maxi dresses, heels, chinos, blazers) others came in shorts and vest tops, it’s a real mix. We ate at Abu Tig Marina a few times during our stay as it has a really great atmosphere. The second place to eat and drink is Downtown, a 5 minute tuk tuk ride (bit too far to walk) There's loads of different places to go, Tamr Henna had great shisha, kofta and cheap but nice meals from £2 per person, The Oriental Grill (great Egyptian food but Abu Tig prices), Puddle Duck restaurant (English owners, nice food), Raz Restaurant, a bar on the beach with bean bags, shisha, Sakara local beer plus others. Real mix and dress code was overall pretty relaxed.
In terms of activities in the area, there's go-karts, kitesurfing, wakeboarding cable park, quad bikes, snorkelling & diving, regular evening shows in different places, all in close proximity to the hotel.
All in all, a good hotel and a holiday with plenty to keep you smiling. Looking to re-book at this hotel again in October this year, so it's pretty good!

Room Tip: We opted to pay slightly more for a Marina view vs pool view. View was great and we sat out on the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaceT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosaique1, General Manager at Fanadir Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear TaceT,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience here in the Fanadir hotel, but also an indept guide to El Gouna. This is very helpful for future guests.
You are certianly right, El Gouna is the perfect place to learn Kitesurfing, but also a great spot for professionals, so you can keep on coming back!
I was disspaointed to see you did not get the help you wanted from the front office team. I have already followed up with them, and hopefully they will do a better effort in the future.

Thank you again for your dining recomodations, i agree with you :)

Kind regards,

Nicoals Tabet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Just back from the Fanadir,6th time in El Gouna and 3rd at the Fanadir. Always stay in room 220, a lovely large clean room overlooking the pool. The staff are always helpful and friendly. Our stay this year was 6-7 weeks later than we normally go and was significantly hotter with a lot less wind. Most days were spent at the Moods beach which is free for Fanadir guests and this works out as quite a good saving for two people as the hotel supply the towels as well. The beach is clean and safe and the beach bar is well run. We will be booking for next year. Our only grip is there is no wi-fi in the bedrooms.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulatbeckenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosaique1, General Manager at Fanadir Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Paulatbeckenham,

Thank you very much for coming back again and again here to the Fanadir hotel El Gouna. LEt us know when you are coming back next time to make sure # 220 is reserved for you :)

We are working on the Wi-fi, and hopefully by the end of the year, all rooms should have wi-fi access and the public areas should have free wi-fi access. This should be an improvement.

We are looking forward to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Nicolas Tabet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed there end of January '14 so the area wasn't busy at all at the time. However all the facilities at the hotel were running perfectly. The rooms are big and clean, with really nice design and colours. The staff is extremely polite and helpful and the breakfast was excellent. Also liked the fact that you order any hot plates from the chef and he does it for you on the spot! The hotel looks really nice, it's in front of the sea and has a pool. Generally Gouna is the most secure place to go to. It is all new build on the same style with high security and great views!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosaique1, Manager at Fanadir Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear kat_n0u,

Thank you very much for your kind words and nice pictures of the hotel.
We are pleased to hear that we lived up to your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us,
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to Fanadir hotel El Gouna shortly.

Best regards,

Nicolas Tabet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed at the Fanadir Hotel as a weekend break from our main holiday in Makadi Bay and having previously stayed 12 mths ago in the Sheraton Miramar we found the Fanadir a better choice in a much better position for the Mariana's and the night life.

We (2 couples) enjoyed upgrades to 2 junior suites overlooking the Abu Tig Marina and the rooms were spacious, comfortable & clean with great views although we did expect tea/coffee sachets in the room but were informed this was extra before sending it to us free of charge! Both rooms afforded separate lounges and spacious balconies as well as A/C, safety box & toiletries.

The restaurant was fine with weekly theme nights although quiet in January had plenty of selection for limited guests with meat/fish cooked fresh on the BBQ to compliment your meal. The same applied to the breakfast service with ample choice and omelette's cooked to order and perfect!

The staff were delightful and on reception was Sherbourne? Who couldn't do enough to help and assisted making the stay enjoyable. The pool and sun lounges were relaxing as was having an adult only hotel to chill out in.

I would certainly recommend the Fanadir and will also look to return for a short break in the future as it was extremely good value for money on a half board basis.

Don't hesitate, give it a try!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank FTMCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosaique1, Manager at Fanadir Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear FTMCambridge,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback and complemtnts. I will certainly share your comments with the team.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you and your friends back for a longer stay in El Gouna and Fanadir Hotel next time.

Best regards,

Nicolas Tabet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
0.4 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.1 mi away
Mosaique Hotel
Mosaique Hotel
#2 of 18 in El Gouna
480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Captain's Inn
The Captain's Inn
#7 of 18 in El Gouna
546 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dawar El Omda
Dawar El Omda
#8 of 18 in El Gouna
550 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ancient Sands Golf Resort & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fanadir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fanadir Hotel

Address: Abu Tig Marina North Basin | El Gouna, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Price Range: £23 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fanadir Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fanadir Hotel offers modern comfort and blissful quietude in El Gouna on the Red Sea coast. Opened in 2010 as part of Abu Tig Marina's latest development, it overlooks the North Basin and its luxury yachts. Ideal to escape the crowds, this serene setting is merely a few steps away from the main attractions of the marina's South Basin, including cafes and restaurants, bars and nightclubs, and a wide array of boutiques and souvenir shops. The Fanadir Hotel's ideal location, combined with Egypt's mild climate, makes it a perfect choice for holidaymakers seeking active seaside vacations, and in particular for kitesurfers. Within walking distance, Mangroovy Beach has shallow waters and consistent winds; it is home to three kitesurfing stations offering beginner classes, private tuition, and supervised freeriding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fanadir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing