We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abu El Sid - CLOSED

Abu El Sid
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Description: Telephone: (002) 010 383 9165
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

This restaurant had a nice traditional feeling to it, egyptian music and lovely traditional food, lot of variety as well. I recommend it to any person that goes to El Gouna

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    6
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“it can be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

the atmosphere is great and clean.
the service is good
my husband ordered koshari which was good
but my fatta wasn't so good , the meat was very tough
the prices are a bit higher than other higher quality restaurants

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nihal s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
248 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

We decided early on in our holiday that we would try this restaurant as it was not here when we last came six year previous and it was offering traditional Egyptian cuisine which we love.

The location is good next to the water way and across from the oriental grill. It is only a short walk from the centre of downtown but nice and quiet a good place to sit and enjoy a meal and quite romantic if you want that.
The restaurant is nicely decorated and has an authentic feel to it.
The service was generally quite attentive from the manager/owner(?). However the other staff did not really talk or engage which was a shame.
The menu offered a good selection of Egyptain meze, starters, main courses and deserts.
We had a starter (great) and two rather disappointing main courses which which we found really bland and only luke warm (this was the main reason for our rating). It is very unusual for us to eat arabic food and feel this way.

The price of the food was good value. Out meal of two starters,two mains and two drinks was 250 EGP which seemed fair, the only slight gripe was the cost of a small glass of wine at 40EGP.

At the end of the meal the service slowed considerably even though the restuarant was now almost empty and we waited a long time from finishing our meal to finally being able to pay and leave.

Overall,nothing bad just all a little bit underwhelming and not somewhere we would rush back to.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank docscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Mmmm better last year”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

Great food from a starter perspective but my husbands veal tagine was under cooked and very salty. My koshari was great and plentiful.

the main issue was the waiter who obviously was either having a bad day or had missed the charm school section of training, very rude and abrupt not only to us but to another member of staff...we were going to stay for a shisha but felt a bit uncomfortable and left early...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Why1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
139 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“great food, great environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

the food is a great and it is served in a very authentic and relaxing egyptian environment. the staff is friendly but i wish they were more attentive and more caring about details which they are not. overall, would go again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank basmaberti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abu El Sid also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing