We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace, quite and luxury......the Sheraton is the best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peace, quite and luxury......the Sheraton is the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

Our 2nd visit to this hotel and we welcomed back with open arms!! Even though the pool area is under refurbishment we still choose to go back and we were not disapointed. Our room was upgraded to a beachfront sea view and we were also given half board to make up for the lack of the pool. The staff are the most accomadating nicest people you could meet., whether it be the reception staff or the beech staff they are so helpful. You would never know such a major job was going on we heard no noise and the only evidence was that the pool area was screen off. The hotel and El Gouna are very quite at the moment due to the recent troubles but I had no worries in returning to this little piece of heaven. We will be back in September and look forward to trying the new pool, can't wait!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,520
    548
    152
    45
    35
See reviews for
727
960
99
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth,Hampshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

Our 3rd time at the Sheraton.Very quiet while we were there,only Brits going on holiday.
But the staff doing their utmost to make it as normal as possible. Pool down & out of commision,but made our way over to the Movenpick Pool (Tuc-Tuc there & a stroll home( Just because we are pool people )( this arrangement worked fine for us ) Hotel had arranged transport to the Movenpick,did not work as well as it should have,seems we were the only people who wanted the pool, so we made our own way there.
Eating out in the Marina was also very quiet, but we did find Scales & Ales (Downtown)
This is a VERY GOOD fish & chips resturant, so GOOD you need to try it....................! !
We will visit again .!.....................both the SHERATON & CHIP-SHOP

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pompeylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

Whilst writing this review,. I must stress that my thoughts are simply that some places just do not work for everyone, and although we looked forward to arriving at the Sheraton, I knew almost immediatley as we were shown to our room(very hastily by the buggy driver), that it was not up to our standard for a five star hotel.
The worst thing for us was the darkness of the room and balcony. I felt as though I were in a cave. This was a deluxe beachfront room? No point moving rooms, I realised the next day, as we walked to breakfast, every room I saw, except for the two occupied opposite the dilapidated Boat bar, were dark,dark,dark.
Food was fine at breakfast, we spent the day on the beach, as no pool, this is being renovated for 2 months. We were told by other guests to be careful at the waters edge as there were loads of jellyfish, so there goes our cooling off.
Lunch on the beach was, I can only say, not acceptable. We both looked forward to a California salad, well basically I had a sliver of chicken, hard bits of avocado what looked like a quarter of a crab stick and the basic green salad.
Out to dinner, again it was dark in the room getting ready, then to find your way to the hotel restaurant, especially not being familiar with the layout was awful. It was badly lit, full of mossies and deathly quiet.
To cut a long story short, after 2 nights in the bar on our own, we moved to another hotel.
Best move we could have made, it saved our holiday. We loved El Gouna and will return, but sadly not to the Sheraton.
Please note the staff on all levels were lovely, it is just too dark and oppresive.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellygirl1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiramarResort, General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this review, 4 April 2011
Dear YorkshireKellygirl, thank you for your review.
I regret to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your comments related to the quality of your lunch and the welcoming will be investigated and remedied immediately. Sheraton Miramar has a reputation for guest serices and staff friendliness. Good to see you enjoyed your stay in El Gouna, truly a nice place to stay!
Warm regards, Ko van den Hil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

The first time I spoke to an Egyptian who was a Gardner he asked me if I was English when I replied "Yes" he said." We like the English and when you are in our country it is your country" That was 7 visits ago and the attitude of every Egyptian we have met has borne out this sentiment. We have stayed at the Sheraton Miramr 4 times and like it better each time. The food is excellent and if you would like something different Gad the head chef will arrange it. The grounds are exceptional, if you speak to one of the men tending the gardens you will be presented with lovely flowers for your room. We had 5 vases on one visit. It was disappointing to find the pool being repaired but the beaches and there are miles of them ,are lovely. All the staff are friendly and extremely helpful. We were quickly told where everyone was, Khaled was at 300 beach, Khalef was in the games room, Young Ahmed was in the gym,Nebil and Yasser were on holiday. Sami had left but they arrangened for us to meet him downtown. I consider them my extended familtyand keep in contact between visits. On our latest visit my husband was taken to hospital with pneumonia and the management could not have been more helpful. The hospital was excellent. The only problem was with our insurance company AXA on one occasion when the hotel was trying to get hold of them they were kept waiting on the line for approximately 40 mins, very embarassing. There are no rooms in the main building, the rooms are spread out over acres and acres of the most glorious grounds. A terrific hotel I can't wait to go back. Val. A.

Room Tip: Buggy rides are available for those who need them
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank japhetsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiramarResort, General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this review, 4 April 2011
Dear Japhetsun, it was lovely seeing you again for the 4th time at Sheraton Miramar.
Thank you very much for your kind words. We hope to welcome you again soon for the 5th time.
Warm regards, Ko van den Hil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windlesham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

We have just returned from our 14th stay at the Sheraton Miramar in El Gouna. Please do not be put off by the problems some mid-eastern countries are having. Egypt is fine and we had no qualms about returning to El Gouna at this time. Tourism is so important to the Egyptians and they have always been so welcoming. The only effect El Gouna has felt is from the lack of tourists. But everybody you talk to, beach lads or management, is confident that Egypt will be a better country for all. In fact we felt quite proud to be British as a lot of other nationalities are still staying away.
All the staff at the Sheraton Miramar are genuinely friendly and helpful be they the beach lads, waiters or management. From our second visit we have been greeted like old friends, and even if the staff we’ve met before are working in other areas of the hotel, they come and find us to say hello and welcome us back.
El Gouna is a beautiful modern self contained resort on the Red Sea built within its own secure area. It has two elegant marinas and an interesting Downtown area, both of which are a pleasant stroll around the lagoons from the Sheraton Miramar. Or a Tuc Tuc will take you anywhere in El Gouna for just 50p per person! There are plenty of places to shop, without the hassle you experience in other parts of Egypt and also many different restaurants if you can tear yourself away from the excellent food at the Sheraton Miramar.
When we are on holiday we always have a wander around the other hotels and, although they seem fine, we would not stay anywhere else but at the Sheraton Miramar. The situation of the hotel is perfect for us with its beautiful spacious gardens and lovely beach and lagoon fronts. The management will try and accommodate your preferences, be it evening sun or beach front room. We have had the same room every time - a spacious semi detached bungalow just a few steps from a sandy beach, sun beds and the sea.
Although the pool area was under repair while we were there this time it did not affect us at all as we prefer to be by the sea. Even when the hotel has been full there have always been plenty of sun beds, each pair with a sun shade and wind break. They are so spread out that if you wish to chat to the people on the next beds you have to stroll over.
We have so many lovely memories which are added to each time we stay at the Sheraton Miramar; strolling beside the beach or through the lovely gardens to breakfast each day on the terrace overlooking the turquoise sea; paddling at low tide and seeing all the colours of the reef, and a turtle right by our feet.
Can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidWindlesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Mearns, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

This hotel is a good standard - the rooms aren't all marble, etc, but they're clean and well-presented. We had a nice room with a good sea view, convenient distance from restaurant and pool. The buffet restaurant had good selection of food for breakfast and dinner and the Italian al la carte restaurant was also pleasant - reasonable range on the menu. All staff were friendly and helpful. El Gouna also has a marina and 'Downtown', each with a good selection of restaurants & bars at reasonable (UK) prices - we stayed B&B to allow us to try different restaurants, rather than stick with the hotel buffet. Weather in February was hot & sunny - 32' every day. Nice heated pool. It was quiet (affected by the recent problems in northern Egypt), but the staff were great and we had a great, relaxing time.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardTasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiramarResort, General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this review, 17 March 2011
Dear Richard Tasker, thank you for sharing your review. Sheraton Miramar and El Gouna have much to offer and it looks like you discovered most of it. Sheraton Miramar has a fabulous reputation for staff friendliness and we are happy to read your recognition.
Lokign forward seeing you again soon, Warm regards, Ko van den Hil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

We spent 10 days here during Feb 2011. Everything about the trip was great. The hotel is more of a resort meandering between lagoons and landscaped gardens.

The staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble for them and they really made the holiday that bit more special. Went diving with TGI diving who are on site, and they too are excellent and very professional.

El Gouna itself is a great place for a holiday for any age group with great restaurants and bars in the marina and also downtown, it would be a shame to go here all inclusive and not experiance the restaurants etc.

Our youngest memebr of our group loved the tuc-tucs which run you anywhere you want for about 50p per person or you could use the water taxis which operate in the lagoons which run throughout El Gouna.

We looked at some of the other hotels in the area and would say that, although there are many other good quality hotels, the Sheraton has the extra edge I would say. Can't wait to go back sometime!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tkg700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiramarResort, General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this review, 17 March 2011
Dear tkg700, thank you very much for sharing your review. El Gouna has many attractions and the public transportation by tuc-tuc is one of them. Tuc-tucs are easy to find and cheap to use.
We are pleased to see how much you enjoyed your holidays at Sheraton Miramar.
Warm regards, Ko van den Hil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Gouna
0.1 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
1.0 mi away
Steigenberger Golf Resort
19.0 mi away
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna

Property: Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Address: Red Sea, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
#4 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#5 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#5 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#8 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#8 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna is built on the most magnificent site, spread over 9 Red Sea islands and is designed by the world famous architect, Michael Graves. The award-winning architecture is inspired by ancient Egyptian designs. The unique seafront setting of the resort with the dramatic backdrop of desert mountains, crystalline lagoons, wooden bridges and lush gardens gives you the sensation of being in another world. Perfectly suits family holidays, romantic holidays, Weddings, honeymoons, meetings, seminars and incentives ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Miramar Hotel El Gouna
Sheraton El Gouna
Sheraton Miramar El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing