We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
wigan lancs
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fabulous Again”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Home from home; 8th visit to this outstanding hotel.
As always the room was superb, staff always friendly and willing to help in any way they can - particular thanks to Samir and all the staff at the Waves/La Piscina Restaurant; also the staff at the Miramar Bar.
Cant wait for our 9th visit next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john-n-mand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamdyKhalaf, Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear john-n-mand,

Thank you for writing about us on TripAdvisor.com, and it was our pleasure to have you with us for the 8th time.

Your comments will shared with all hotel associates and we are all looking forward for the 9th visit.
Best Regards,

Hamdy Khalaf
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,665
    576
    161
    48
    35
See reviews for
779
1,055
105
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Kids enjoy it ....No matter how many times we visit you .... they are still exited.

Thank you for the wonderful vacation.

Some areas of the hotel need renovation espeically rooms AC

Some more staff is need at the pool area

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOrashad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islam M, Deputy General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear MOrashad,

Thank you very much for your feedback and comments. it gives me great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay.

We do have an ongoing maintainance programm for the rooms and outlet, in addition we are in the process of have more efforts in this directions.

Thanks for your remarks and we are working on them.

See you soon

Regards
Islam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Only 2 real resorts in Elgouna and Hurghada (more in Suma Bay) Sheraton and Moevenpick.
After trying 2 Moevenpick and not being able to sleep for two nights I escaped to this place, safe heaven at last.
Nice place, 5 star service, very reasonable prices.
Very good value would not hesitate in booking here again.
Missing few things though, concierge desk, vault parking. I think the guests can use those. Pool closes at sunset, no place to soak in water by the bar, I wish they keep pool open till late if not 24 like Orlando or Keys.
Also a professional chef and some good equipment will help their buffet.
Only thing that bothered me was the Lumpy pillow that bangs my head, it was changed when I asked but it shouldn't be there in the first place.
It will also be nice if they can do the bed with 2 bed sheets and a comforter instead of only one with a comforter.
I gotta thank them for maintaining such a nice place.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mankarios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islam M, Deputy General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Mankarios,

Thank you very much for your feedback and comments. I am very happy to learn that you had a memorable overall stay with us.

I will share the ares of improvements raised in your comments with the concerned in order to recover and improve.

Once again Many thanks and hope to see you again in Sheraton Miramar Resort.

Regards
Islam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Overall
Certainly not 5 star, but worth your money if you get it right

Good
Free water, sub beds, towel service, no hassle and best of all - NO RUSSIANS

Bad
The 'sand' on the 'beaches' is really rubble. Under the water surface its just plain unpleasent greasy silt making your bathing experience a bit odd
Pillows too hard (management: consider pillow menu)
Breakfast selection sub standard, and waiters either not there or too talkative
(Management: in Sharm Hotels the waiters serve you coffee AND fresh juice the second your cup/glass is empty)
Cleaning was sub standard. We did tell the reception, and corrective action was taken.

Ugly
The mosquitos will eat you alive in your room
No free wifi in the rooms - really so-last-century (Management: why this cheap approach?)
The italian lunch restaurant, expensive and bad food. (Management: consider much more options for guests wanting lunch)

Recommendations
If you prefer peace and quite, you definately want a room at the south end of the hotel. The north end, by the marina is very noisy at evenings.
Do not buy the all-inclusive. El Gouna features lots of good restaurants, easily accessible by the cheap tuk-tuk service in El Gouna. The buffet is a joke.
Do not buy half board for lunching convenience, the italian restaurant will disappoint you, and its your only option

Note to manager: please refrain from giving me the standard comment you give all the other reviewers, its very unflattering for you

Room Tip: ask for a room in the 3000 or 8000 series if you like peace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelAndTell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islam M, Deputy General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear WizOfOzCph,

Many thanks for your review and comments. Please let me seize this oppotrunity to extend my apology for not meeting your expectation during your recent stay.

Please rest assured that our day to day goal is the satisfaction of our guests. I will share your comments with the comcerned in order to even do better and improve. The feedback of our guests is one of our main pillars to perform even better.

We do take the comments of our guest serious in order to provide better service and improve our performance.

It would have a been a pleasure to meet you during your stay to show you that we can do better.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards
Islam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have just got back from what can only be described as a ‘perfect ‘holiday at the Sheraton Miramar. The hotel, resort, beach and friendly staff are the particular high points. The hotel itself is set in stunning surroundings with lagoons connected together by several bridges. El Gouna resort has a classy feel, much more so that Sharm, so we will definitely not be heading back there in a hurry.
The downside was the food…the buffet was very busy with rude, greedy guests hogging the food, which tasted pretty non-descript. Thankfully we had the option to eat at the Italian, which was ok, the Oriental restaurant was sadly closed; the rest of the time we used the dine around option in the marina. This option does not apply to all the restaurants, but a handful of semi-good ones.
If the food was to be improved the hotel itself would be an even better experience.
From talking to other guests this hotel is one of the best in Hurgarda, we would certainly recommend to other people thinking about booking this hotel. It’s more 4 star plus than the 5 star title, but still extremely lovely. You will be guaranteed a relaxing hotel in tranquil surroundings…pure relaxation.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a beach front room, it's well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hargreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islam M, Deputy General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Hargreb,

Thank you very much for your review. I am very happy to know that you enjoyed your overall stay. I will share you comments about the food with our Kitchen leaders in order to further check and improve.

Once again Many Thanks and looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards
Islam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I booked this week direct with the hotel and was offered a very good rate. I looked at the movenpick as well but they just offered the standard rack rate. We booked half board as we were just looking for a week of sunshine and relaxation without even having to think about where to eat.

Although the hotel was designed by an award winning architect, we were distinctly underwhelmed by the design. The colour scheme of terracotta with strong blue/green painted door and window frames was not appealing. The check in was efficient and friendly although we were given a twin room when I had booked a double. I didn't argue though as we were just too tired. The room was a bit of a disappointment - functional I think is a fair description and certainly not 5*. I have stayed in far better 4* hotels in London although I recognise that standards are not universal. We also had a bit of trouble with the door - on one occasion it wouldn't lock then on three separate occasions the key card wouldn't let us in. Fortunately, there are telephones linking to the main reception around the grounds and it was sorted quickly although we never found out why it was flashing red. It was nice having a balcony with sunbeds and overlooking the lagoon.
I not sure why, but we both didn't sleep particularly well (the pillows were not very comfortable). The air conditioning didn't help as it was quite noisy.

The guest relations were not very helpful. We picked up a leaflet about an opera that was being screened live in el gouna and combining it with the dine around programme but the gentleman behind the counter seemed clueless about it. In the event we were told the wrong time for the opera and missed half of it.


I had asked for a quiet room but we were a bit horrified at the length of time it took to get to it by luggage cart, however, there was a cut through and we timed it as a 6 minute walk from the room to the miramir restaurant which was great. Although it looks like a warren, you are never too far from the main hub.

Breakfast and dinner although not fine dining, were acceptable for a buffet and we both found something different we enjoyed each night. We used the dine around to eat at the movenpick one evening to check it out and while I preferred the food at the movenpick, my husband preferred the sheraton!

It is a shame that there is not a sunny area to sit out and have a drink in the afternoon by the restaurant, it was quite shady and we were bothered by flies. The beach area overlooking the lagoon however, was pleasant and although the sand wasn't very good quality (some stones mixed in), each pair of sun beds had a whicker screen and parasol and a station where clean towels were bought to you. There was also a small bar on the beach were you could get lunch and drinks.

We used TGI diving twice for snorkelling trips out to the reef. It was quite cheap - £10 for two hours but both times the trip fell somewhat short of the time we were meant to be out. We saw dolphins the first time we were out and the second time (not the first...) we had a short tour of the reef which was so much better than just being left to get on with it.

Overall, we feel that what we paid for the holiday was about right. I thought we were getting a fantastic bargain initially but the old adage "you get what you pay for" probably applies here. The hotel was very quiet and seemed to be frequent more by Egyptians rather than Europeans; the opposite of the movenpick in fact which had lots more children and a very lively atmosphere - Something to bear in mind when booking the hotel.

Overall, we got what we wanted: a relaxing time, sun and a bit of snorkelling.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lagoon have a lovely outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navybluebiplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islam M, Deputy General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Navybluebiplane,

Thank you very much for your feedback and comments. I am very happy to understand the money of value was met. I thank you for bringing some areas of improvement to our attention. Please ensure that they will be shared with the head of department concerned in order to tak eth eneeded recovery actions.

Meanwhile I remain available for any other comments. Looking forward to welcoming you again to show you that we can do better.

Regards
Islam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed here for a week in February. We were booked into Fanadir hotel but saw what we thought was a great deal on Booking.com for a Sheraton hotel. El Gouna is just beautiful and the gardens at the Sheraton are lovely we had a room with a big balcony overlooking the Lagoon and Red Sea.

Check In - The staff were great. Very friendly and efficient no problems here.

Room- Nice enough room but by no means 5 star. We have previously stayed at Sheratons in America and I know that Egyptian 5* is different but I would class the room as a 3 star. The balcony and view were fantastic and yes the room was clean but def not 5 star.

Food - We ate dinner here on our first night in the A la Carte (Italian) The food was pretty unappealing and quite expensive compared to other places. Minestrone soup was luke warm, Pasta tasteless and pizza like cardboard. Waiters here vere very friendly. Breakfast had the usual cold meats, cheese, omlette station. However the staff here really let the place down. Surly, not pleasant and at times very rude. Not helpfull at all.

The day we were leaving my Husband dropped 2 £50GBP notes we think at the cash changing machine or at reception which was not handed in, Im not saying a member of staff took it, it could be another guest but it did put a dampner on the stay.

All in all please visit El Gouna it is beautiful but stay at one of the other hotels, Ocean View, Fanadir look nice. And eat at some of the many restaurants, The Captains Table, Puddleducks and The Turkish place are all excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shona&terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islam M, Deputy General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear shona&terry,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your overall stay and thankfull for your observations about the ares of improvement highlighted in your review.

I will communicate the shortfalls to the Heads of Departments concerned in order to take the needed recovery actions.

Meanwhile I remain available for any other comments.

Regards and hope to see you again to show you that we can do better.

Islam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Gouna
0.2 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
757 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dawar El Omda
Dawar El Omda
#9 of 18 in El Gouna
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
1.0 mi away
Steigenberger Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna

Property: Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Address: Red Sea, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
#4 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#5 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#5 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#8 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#9 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna is built on the most magnificent site, spread over 9 Red Sea islands and is designed by the world famous architect, Michael Graves. The award-winning architecture is inspired by ancient Egyptian designs. The unique seafront setting of the resort with the dramatic backdrop of desert mountains, crystalline lagoons, wooden bridges and lush gardens gives you the sensation of being in another world. Perfectly suits family holidays, romantic holidays, Weddings, honeymoons, meetings, seminars and incentives ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Miramar Hotel El Gouna
Sheraton El Gouna
Sheraton Miramar El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing