We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our First stay, not our last” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Keighley
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our First stay, not our last”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2008

Having stayed in El Gouna 15 times we decided to change our hotel of choice from the Movenpick to the Sheraton, we had always been happy with the Movenpick.
The change was an excellent choice, I had not realised how tired the Movenpick had become ove the years. From the reception area to the rooms all were a vast improvement over the Movenpick. I dont want to knock them to much but the Sheraton is a true 5 star.
As it was our anniverary a few days before we arrived I asked for some sparkling wine in our room for our friends and us, not only wine but a cake was waiting when we arrived. A great start to our holiday.

As we were diving we did not get to use many of the daytime facilities until the last day. This lead to our only problem. We arrived at the pool and found a coule of beds empty except a couple of wet towls. We took over the beds assuming them to be free. some time later a couple arrived back with the pool boy demanding we move from their beds and the umbrella.The pool bot insisted we move so to avoid a scene we moved. They eastern European couple then proceeded to sit in the sun not wanting the shade at all.

As for the rest of the hotel, no problems at all, the breakfast was great, the bar area with the outside seating overlooking the logoon and sea was nice.
TGI on site was great, no bus pickups just a short stroll to the jetty.

Check out was very simple and fast so none of the usual hassel or delays and the bill was correct.

  • Liked — The new sleeper beds
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian8849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,519
    548
    152
    45
    35
See reviews for
727
959
99
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2008

Arrived back from El Gouna just after Ramadan had finished. What an experience!
We visited El Gouna for the first time in 2006, staying at the Movenpick. This time we thought we would try the Sheraton after reading the reviews.
On arrival at the Sheraton we received a free upgrade to half board as compensation for the building work taking place in rooms overlooking the pool. This was very generous, the work only continued for a couple of days.
The buffet food was of a high standard and we enjoyed the food in the hotel. We used the Italian and that was great. The hotel also offer a ‘dine around’ and we visited a couple of the restaurants available outside the hotel but can only really recommend Blue Blue in the marina.
The rooms we had were fine, clean, room safe (free), flat screen TV, tea/coffee making facility and shower room. We had a few ants but did not consider this a serious problem.
Finding sunbeds by the pool was fine for most of the holiday………… As Ramadan finished the hotel certainly got busier. Large groups/families arrived and took over the poolside areas. It was a little chaotic; sunbeds were being carried from far and wide so that these families could all group together. We left our beds to go for a lunchtime snack, when we returned the beds had been taken and our clothes put into storage with the excuse offered by the pool attendant that they thought the garments had been left on the beds in error. This confusion is not helped by the fact that there is no towel desk/card system, you are asked to leave the towels on the bed and the attendants collect them at the end of the day.
The gardens are clean and tidy but there is no areas as green as the Movenpick.
Big advantages the Sheraton has over the Movenpick are the hotel bar (The service in the bar was excellent and you could drink until late!) and the location between the Marina and Downtown you never wait long for the buses.
We enjoyed our holiday but, on reflection, if we return to El Gouna it will be back to the Movenpick.

  • Liked — Location between Marina and Downtown
  • Disliked — Busy pool. Too many small children in the main pool, infant pool was empty & never used
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank slakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2008

Me and my boyfirend returned from here on the 3 October 2008, I really didnt want to come home even though he did (he is work obsessed!!!) We stayed here on a halfboard basis and i booked the hotel through OT Beach.co.uk. The hotel allowed you to eat in an Italian retaurant and an Oriental restuarant most nights for your dinner, you book a table at the reservation desk so you didnt have to have buffet food that was served in the main restaurant everynight. I always get ill on holiday (due to contracting Salmonella in Dom Rep a few years ago) and i wasnt ill from the food served in this hotel only when we ate out in Cairo. The hotel is very spacious and the grounds are immaculate. Our room was one up from the basic room and it was spacious, had a memory foam matress, plasma tv and the bathroom was spacious and refurbished to a high standard. The balcony was HUGE and so pretty, it had two wooden sun loungers and flowers growing up the sides.
The staff at the hotel are very polite and they are very attentive to all your needs. I found the hotel very tranquil and relaxing and i would definately go back and I have never said that about a hotel before!

  • Liked — CLEANESS OF IT
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Alexa34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2008

This is the sixth time that we have stayed at the Sheraton Miramar and we are never disapointed. It is our our favourite hotel in El Gouna (and we have been to most of the others). The hotel is beautiful and really peaceful, there is no hassel to 'join in' and try aquaerobics, beach volleyball etc.
The large private beach is for swimming, walking and snorkelling (no kite surfers to worry about). The sunbeds are spread out and there is no feeling of being on top of each other.
There is a house reef that is shallow and easy to snorkel on.
Most of the rooms have recently been refurbished and are large, well fitted out and the beds are so comfortable. The hotel is mainly single story (bungalow type), accomodation of a high standard.
El Gouna is a fairly quiet resort and unlike most of Egypt, there is no hassel in the shops. It has many shops, bars and resturants. The marina also has lots of bars and resturants.
If it's a peaceful break away from the rat-race, with guaranteed sun, then this is the holiday for you!
Top class hotel.

  • Liked — Beds are so comfortable
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1Pompey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2008

We are very satisfied with our stay in the Sheraton Miramar Resort in El Gouna.
The high value points of this resort are without any doubt
• the friendliness + proactivity of all employee’s of the hotel which lifts the hotel to a higher level
• The fantastic location
• The good very good catering

Some smaller technical problems occured during our stay, but were solved almost immediatly by the hotel staff and didn't prevent us from having a good time in El Gouna

  • Liked — magnificient views
  • Disliked — Technical maintenance of the facilities
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank airco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2008

Not all activities/facilities offered exist. Good room with sea view and large terrace (in 2000 block) but some communal features look tired. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Do not consider half board option unless you like indifferent quality buffet food in an aircraft hangar like restaurant. Dine around option is very poor value.

This is only a 3* hotel due to dining facilities and overall appearance.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Restaurants / Dining
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilkleytravelsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2008

This was our first time to Egypt so we looked in detail on numerous sites to see what and where we were going to as well as also having spoken to family and friends that had gone to Egypt previously.

This helped us to make up our mind in choosing more a tourist destination for chilling out, rather than be burnt to a cinder in average temperatures at this time of year of 38-40 Centigrade (although good humidity - not close) visiting the pyramids and other sites, its even 25-30 Centigrade at night time.

Some reviews stated that the Egyptians were rude and very leary, having gone to India on numerous occasions where they stare a lot I was prepared for the worse. We took our teenage son and 16 year old daughter with us and told our daughter to dress sensibly (not showing to much skin) when outside of the hotel. Whilst she gained several admiring looks at no time did we feel uncomfortable and as El Gouna is a pretty small place any harrassment was non-existent.

We did venture out to Hurghadda to the Hard Rock Cafe (worth a visit) and viewed the local shops, everyone tries to get you in but all conversations are in good taste and more if you're up for it, a great laugh. These people do not get offended if you buy or not, but if you do want something be prepared to haggle and pay no more than 25-50% of the initial asking price.

Well El Gouna great chilled out place particularly if you stay at the Sheraton 5 Star hotel and deserves its rating. From the moment you get to reception you are made to feel very special and soon whisked of to your room with your luggage via a small electric buggy. The rooms are very well decorated with I believe nearly all of them having some views of the surrounding lagoons.

All the staff are more than helpful and cannot do enough to make you feel welcome. On visiting the pool each day, generally to a vast choice of comfortable matressed spare sun beds with shades you are escorted to the bed and the pool lads put a towel on for you. You can order drinks etc as you relax and the never ending array of ice buckets help keep your drinks cool.

Whilst the hotel is 5 star the prices are pretty reasonable, albeit spirits and wine throughout Egypt are more expensive due to a 450% tax imposed by the government.

Back to the hotel, quality.... quality.... quality, great staff, great location, great service. The Egyptians expect to receive tips on top of the regulatory service charges and government imposed taxes which are added to each bill. We were more than happy to give tips freely as 10 Egyptian pounds equates to 1 English pound which was well received, although we gave a lot more than this on our departure to several well deserved recipients.

If you want to be spoilt this is the place to go....

Marina good choice of non-expensive restaurants although slightly dearer than downtown. We booked as Bed and Breakfast and nearly upgraded to all-inclusive, so glad we didn't as so cheap to eat and drink out and more choice. The all-inclusive does not include spirits or Al a carte so not worth it.

Great holiday for relaxation, although my teenage son wished it was not so warm so we could do more activities. We braved a 5 hour quad bike trip across the desert, sound worse than it was. An hour and half there and back by taxi, a 45 minute quad bike ride to a desert settlement, camel ride, shown around the village and given a barbeque. They had a small amphibian hut which we paid extra to see £3.50 each, great fun my son freaked out a bit when the Iguana started walking across his head, some great stories told worth every penny of it. I am sure me and my son wont forget it, particularly dressed up in our headscarfs... Looked good and very neccesary with all the sand blowing around, not to hot as we went in the afternoon, definitely reccommend it.

Reef snorkelling great but not close to the hotel, we booked at the hotel, unfortunately got teamed up with some very ignorant Germans who thought that the seats were only for them and there towels, even after being asked to give us some room they moved very little. If you are German and reading this have some manners, if my family and I were in the same position you wouldn't have had to ask us to move, we would of automatically done it.

All in all a great holiday, I certainly will be looking to book at another Sheraton (Starwood) hotel in the future.

  • Liked — Excellent 5 Star Service
  • Disliked — Giant ants getting in the room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Stevmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Gouna
0.1 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
1.0 mi away
Steigenberger Golf Resort
19.0 mi away
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna

Property: Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Address: Red Sea, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
#4 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#5 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#5 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#8 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#8 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna is built on the most magnificent site, spread over 9 Red Sea islands and is designed by the world famous architect, Michael Graves. The award-winning architecture is inspired by ancient Egyptian designs. The unique seafront setting of the resort with the dramatic backdrop of desert mountains, crystalline lagoons, wooden bridges and lush gardens gives you the sensation of being in another world. Perfectly suits family holidays, romantic holidays, Weddings, honeymoons, meetings, seminars and incentives ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and LoveHolidays so you can book your Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Miramar Hotel El Gouna
Sheraton El Gouna
Sheraton Miramar El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing