We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel for Relaxing Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
UK
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel for Relaxing Holiday”
Reviewed 8 December 2008

Our first time in Egypt and we chose El Gouna following the reviews on Trip Advisor as we wanted a chill-out holiday with minimal hassle and lots of places to eat out at night. We booked B&B at the Sheraton.

We booked through a travel agent with Classic Collections and their Travco rep who met us at the airport, sorted our visas and travelled with us to the hotel was very good. On the advice of a Trip Advisor member we had pre-registered as a Starwood Preferred Guest and had emailed the hotel before arrival requesting a "nice" room. Upon arrival we were allocated an upgraded Dome room in the 2000 block which was very spacious and clean. Housekeeping was excellent.

We thought the breakfast was superb - everything you could want (except porridge...but we weren't in icy Britain so it didn't matter!).

The main things we liked about the hotel were:-

1) The friendliness & helpfulness of the staff. Every member of staff we passed said hello. We also felt that there were plenty of staff, especially at breakfast.

2) Really enjoyed a couple of meals at the Oriental 1001 restaurant. Fantastic homemade breads.

3) Due to the sprawling size of the resort it felt really peaceful and quiet. The "gardens" were lovely to walk through. The hotel was apparently full when we were there but it certainly didn't feel like it.

4) The shuttle bus facility to the Marina and Downtown although you could easily walk it.

Would recommend the Sheraton for a relaxing holiday.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — The hotel shops
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DottyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,755
    588
    165
    50
    38
See reviews for
821
1,094
111
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hoogland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2008

This was our first visit to Egypt and choose El Gouna thru our traval agent. Didn't know what to expect from this stay.
All was more than expected. Personell and Staff are more than friendly, they are super friendly and very competent.
In fact it was so good we decided to come back next year.
The fact that the TGI dive center is located at this hotel helps a lot. Best place for Dive and water fun.

  • Liked — The friendly Staff and Personell
  • Disliked — There was no sun on our balcony
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Smeets162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2008

We have just returned from El Gouna staying at the Sheraton.
What an amazing place sited on loads of island surounded by a lagoon. A perfectly peaceful setting. The staff could not do enough to help. Rooms were really comfy and well appointed.
This is the first time we have been to Egypt it will not be the last

  • Liked — Attentive Staff, Cleanliness, location,
  • Disliked — The cost of imported wine!!!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2008

It is simply one of the best stays i have ever had in a hotel. The staff is extreemly helpfull and nice and very profeccional.
teh hotel is extreemly nice and calm and very classy. teh rooms are wonderfull and very clean and confortable. teh resort is very beautifull and has a good food selection.
I highly recomend it to anyone who is concidering going to hurghada and i wouldn't recomend any other place.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank TogoBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2008

I would recomment the Sheraton Miramar as a superb hotel, helpful friendly staff and wonderful space and relaxation. We had rooms overlooking the relaxation beach and I would certainly recommend these (9000+). From the room cleaner (Hamdy), relaxation beach towel man (Khalif) to the beach bar staff (Amir - sorry cant remember the name of the guy with glasses) - they all made you feel special and could not do enough for you.
The rooms were modern, comfortable and clean and the whole resort is spacious and well laid out, once you have found your way round!
Our major criticism was the poor quality and lack of taste of the food in the Miramar evening buffet. Our recommendation is that you go bed and breakfast and eat out in the evening at the Marina and the Sheraton's Oriental 1001 restaurant, which was excellent with good entertainment nights. In the Marina we found the Mamounia Moroccan restaurant to be really good and the Thomas? pizza etc. restaurant also very good. The other restaurants in the Marina looked good and prices reasonable.

If you have the misfortunate of coming down with a tummy bug just phone reception and they will put you through to a pharmicist who goes through your symptons and then will deliver to the hotel any medication - good service. Or just go into the pharmacy in the Marina.

Suggest if you want a day out snorkelling/swimming/seeing dolphins take the Galateria sailing boat (although it doesn't sail!). The day comprised of 2 snorkelling dives on different reefs, a hot meal on board which was excellent, chance to swim and we saw dolphins. All in all a great day out.

  • Liked — the spacious feel of the hotel, room with sea view, hellpful staff
  • Disliked — the food in the Miramar restaurant evening buffet
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank parkerjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2008

Having stayed in El Gouna 15 times we decided to change our hotel of choice from the Movenpick to the Sheraton, we had always been happy with the Movenpick.
The change was an excellent choice, I had not realised how tired the Movenpick had become ove the years. From the reception area to the rooms all were a vast improvement over the Movenpick. I dont want to knock them to much but the Sheraton is a true 5 star.
As it was our anniverary a few days before we arrived I asked for some sparkling wine in our room for our friends and us, not only wine but a cake was waiting when we arrived. A great start to our holiday.

As we were diving we did not get to use many of the daytime facilities until the last day. This lead to our only problem. We arrived at the pool and found a coule of beds empty except a couple of wet towls. We took over the beds assuming them to be free. some time later a couple arrived back with the pool boy demanding we move from their beds and the umbrella.The pool bot insisted we move so to avoid a scene we moved. They eastern European couple then proceeded to sit in the sun not wanting the shade at all.

As for the rest of the hotel, no problems at all, the breakfast was great, the bar area with the outside seating overlooking the logoon and sea was nice.
TGI on site was great, no bus pickups just a short stroll to the jetty.

Check out was very simple and fast so none of the usual hassel or delays and the bill was correct.

  • Liked — The new sleeper beds
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian8849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2008

Arrived back from El Gouna just after Ramadan had finished. What an experience!
We visited El Gouna for the first time in 2006, staying at the Movenpick. This time we thought we would try the Sheraton after reading the reviews.
On arrival at the Sheraton we received a free upgrade to half board as compensation for the building work taking place in rooms overlooking the pool. This was very generous, the work only continued for a couple of days.
The buffet food was of a high standard and we enjoyed the food in the hotel. We used the Italian and that was great. The hotel also offer a ‘dine around’ and we visited a couple of the restaurants available outside the hotel but can only really recommend Blue Blue in the marina.
The rooms we had were fine, clean, room safe (free), flat screen TV, tea/coffee making facility and shower room. We had a few ants but did not consider this a serious problem.
Finding sunbeds by the pool was fine for most of the holiday………… As Ramadan finished the hotel certainly got busier. Large groups/families arrived and took over the poolside areas. It was a little chaotic; sunbeds were being carried from far and wide so that these families could all group together. We left our beds to go for a lunchtime snack, when we returned the beds had been taken and our clothes put into storage with the excuse offered by the pool attendant that they thought the garments had been left on the beds in error. This confusion is not helped by the fact that there is no towel desk/card system, you are asked to leave the towels on the bed and the attendants collect them at the end of the day.
The gardens are clean and tidy but there is no areas as green as the Movenpick.
Big advantages the Sheraton has over the Movenpick are the hotel bar (The service in the bar was excellent and you could drink until late!) and the location between the Marina and Downtown you never wait long for the buses.
We enjoyed our holiday but, on reflection, if we return to El Gouna it will be back to the Movenpick.

  • Liked — Location between Marina and Downtown
  • Disliked — Busy pool. Too many small children in the main pool, infant pool was empty & never used
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank slakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Gouna
0.2 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
19.3 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#42 of 222 in Hurghada
2,261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#7 of 18 in El Gouna
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dawar El Omda
Dawar El Omda
#8 of 18 in El Gouna
510 reviews
0.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
1.0 mi away
Steigenberger Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna

Property: Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Address: Red Sea, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
#4 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#5 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#5 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#8 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#10 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna is built on the most magnificent site, spread over 9 Red Sea islands and is designed by the world famous architect, Michael Graves. The award-winning architecture is inspired by ancient Egyptian designs. The unique seafront setting of the resort with the dramatic backdrop of desert mountains, crystalline lagoons, wooden bridges and lush gardens gives you the sensation of being in another world. Perfectly suits family holidays, romantic holidays, Weddings, honeymoons, meetings, seminars and incentives ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Miramar Hotel El Gouna
Sheraton El Gouna
Sheraton Miramar El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing