We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal Winter Break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
London, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ideal Winter Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2009

We stayed for a week from 2nd January. The weather was lovely and warm in the daytime and very cold at night so take a jacket out of season. The hotel is beautifully presented with clean spacious rooms, bright attractive architecture and pretty gardens with waterways. Jopin SPG to make room improvement requests for free. There are various beaches with comfortable loungers with service. The breakfast buffet is second to none, especially if you sit outside. There are a fair number of restaurants to choose from. I recommend sitting outside at Cedars for Lebanese flavour and a great view with people watching. Hotel spa was nice, with sauna and steam which we used after a night time swim in the heated pool next door. I would highly recommed this resort for a relaxing winter break. Real Egypt it may not be, but relaxing and comfortable it certainly is!

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank Shlumptyknees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,524
    549
    152
    45
    35
See reviews for
729
961
101
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2009

This was our second time at the Sheraton, we went by ourselves last May for 1 week, and then again between the 16th-23rd January this year, this time taking our 2 teenage sons, I had emailed the hotel prior to arriving to ask for a room in the same block as our last visit, and when we arrived they had given us the same exact room and our sons the room next door, excellent, we were alos invited to the cocktail party on the Sunday night as returning guests, where we met the manager of the hotle and also the quality assurance person. As we found on our first visit, the service was superb, we were there for B&B only, as we prefer to dine in different places, but the breakfast was filling, and we found that we did not often have to eat till very late in the afternoon, the nice thing was that a lot of the staff recognised our faces, and welcomed us back. There is nothing I can fault the hotel on, we were told that they are planning a games room for older kids and teenagers, we were aware before hand that it is not ideal for older teenagers, but we did find plenty of things for them to do, and our main purpose was to go to relax, take in a bit of Winter sun, and eat some lovely food, we did all this and had a great holiday, we have in fact already booked to go back for 2 weeks in September, by ourselves again, and can't wait.

  • Liked — Excellent Service, Friendly staff,
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jammypics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2009

Went with my boyfriend on a week long holiday last June and it was the most amazing holiday ive ever had. The hotel is breathtaking. The food is lavish. The staff are friendly (a little less so for women but you will get that all over Egypt). The prices were reasonable. The beach was beautiful - waiters to your sun lounger to deliver anything you want. the pool was not crowded- quite the opposite actually and as soon as you go to get a lounger there are staff on hand to find you one , provide you with towles, get you a drink from the bar if you need it etc. Beautiful views from the room balcony. Ive never contemplated returning to the same hotel as in this world there id just too much to see, but for this hotel i am making an exception. planning my next trip back.

Word of warning: if you are travelling between resorts e.g. luxor and el gouna on your trip insist you go on a big bus. there are mini vans if there are only two or so poeple and these are death traps. the drivers race eachother on the 4 hour stretch and its terrifying. I was in tears and shaking after the journey. it was awful. the way back we had a big coach and it was fine. please take this advice for your own safety.

  • Liked — Access to down town
  • Disliked — 4 hours from airport
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tippitchyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2009

I simply had a nice and wonderfull time. U can say u got everything u want in the Hotel From A to Z. Its a very large hotel and hence full of facilities.

The view there is one of the best views. Rooms are very nice and large and neat. I had a sea view so it was incredible.

Staff are very proffesional, polite and friendly. There is a lot of privacy there so u can realy enjoy your time.

I would definately reccomend Sheraton Miramar to anyone i know and i will ofcourse visit it again. Enjoy your stay there.

  • Liked — Its location
  • Disliked — Night life
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ForresterDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe Lancashire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2009

My wife and I spent one week in December (12th-19th) prior to Xmas at this wonderful hotel. I had spent 10 years trying to get her to Egypt but until some close friends convinced her to try the Red Sea resorts I had no joy. NOW we can't wait to go back. The hotel with the fantastic sized rooms (block 7000) wonderful courteous staff, in a perfect location and more than adequate breakfast (we took the advice of many of the reviews and went b&b) was a memorable experience.
The pool attendants were particularly attentive, nothing appearing to be too much trouble, but all the staff were in the same same ilk.

Despite the value of the Egyptian pound having fallen the cost of eating out was reasonable and the range of restaurants was excellent. We liked Bleu Bleu but this was a bit more expensive, however all the eateries gave 10%-15% discounts courtesy of a book of vouchers supplied by the hotel.

Getting around was also easy the shuttle bus ran to the Marina or Downtown every 15 mins and only cost 20 Egyptian pounds for the week. The Tuc Tucs cost 10 to anywhere in the resort for 2 persons.

We are returning in June this year for 2 weeks and can't wait.

On small tip. Don't purchase your currency in the U.K. prior to travelling. We got 7.1 to the pound from Thomas Cook and this was the best rate available. The rates in the banks in the resort were giving 8.8 when we arrived. This is significant. And my credit card statement indicates a range of 8.4-9.1 for purchases.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandhentwisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agoura Hills, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2009

We spent 3 nights there and it was perfect. It was cold and windy so we couldn't take full advantage of the beach facilities. The staff was helpful, friendly and courteous. The hotel is an amazing resort with gardens, streams and lagoons. The rooms were comfortable with excellent furnishings. We will definitely go back but will make sure it is warmer.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meyyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. louis
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2009

I used sheraton points to reserve 3 rooms for 3 nights. The price of the hotel/ number of points required per night was so low for a 5 star hotel, I was a bit apprehensive. But the hotel exceeded every expectation. The hotel is a huge resort hotel; I felt that I could have easily been in Cancun. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly and after a day, much of the staff could greet me by name. The rooms were beautiful, although we were a 10 minute walk from the lobby. Most of the guests were from europe, many from germany. Since I booked with points, no meals were included. We were given two options, breakfast for 15 euro/person/day or breakfast and dinner for 35 euro/person/day. we weren't sure so we started with one breakfast, then added dinner, then added breakfast and dinner for the next two days, and then changed our mind and stopped the meals. The staff took all of these changes with aplomb, adding and substracting with little trouble, time or complaints. I was impressed. Meals were excellent, both breakfast and dinner. A shuttle bus can be taken into the town. Viewing sunset from one of the outdoor restaurants in town is a must. We couldn't have been happier on our stay. The location was terrific and the accomodations first rate. We came after 5 days of intense sightseeing in aswan, luxor and cairo for a short beach respite. It was perfect, if not a bubble from the real world outside.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank midwestern_guy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Gouna
0.1 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
1.0 mi away
Steigenberger Golf Resort
19.0 mi away
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna

Property: Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Address: Red Sea, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
#4 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#5 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#5 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#8 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#8 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna is built on the most magnificent site, spread over 9 Red Sea islands and is designed by the world famous architect, Michael Graves. The award-winning architecture is inspired by ancient Egyptian designs. The unique seafront setting of the resort with the dramatic backdrop of desert mountains, crystalline lagoons, wooden bridges and lush gardens gives you the sensation of being in another world. Perfectly suits family holidays, romantic holidays, Weddings, honeymoons, meetings, seminars and incentives ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and LoveHolidays so you can book your Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Miramar Hotel El Gouna
Sheraton El Gouna
Sheraton Miramar El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing