We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For high class service, relaxation, diving & snorkling this is the place to go”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Ipswich, England
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For high class service, relaxation, diving & snorkling this is the place to go”
Reviewed 25 August 2009

A perfect place for a relaxing stay. I stayed with my two teenage daughters at the end of a mammoth tour of egypt. This is not the place to stay to see the sights but if you want a sunny break in beautiful surroundings with good food and fabulous service this is definitely the place to go. Deserves every one of its 5 stars, the room was amazing. Went on a snorkling / diving trip with the diving club on the resort which was brilliant. Drinks from the well stocked mini - bar not overly expensive and food purchased for lunch was well priced. The food itself was varied and of a high standard. I have to say that during our stay in Egypt we ate EVERYTHING and did not get ill at all. The sun is your worst enemy & dehydration. Drink plenty, be sensible, choose your accommodation wisely and you will be fine. We did not even venture out of the complex to the town although regular shuttle was available. After a long tour we just chilled. If I had any slight criticism it would be that the pool was a little on the small side. We were in low season - Aug & therefore the hotel was fairly empty - no problem getting sunbeds. However, I wonder whether it would be a different experience in high season.
I spoke to several others staying in Hurgarda and their experience was fairly negative - one being the Hilton. So I definitely recommend this hotel - top notch.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigerIpswich_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,626
    570
    158
    47
    35
See reviews for
763
1,029
105
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We had previously stayed at the Cairo Marriott and Mara's Place in Luxor, I gave each of these full marks, however the Sheraton get 4/5 from me. The reason for this is because I have stayed at many beach resorts and compare them to this, which may not be fair. However the Sheraton is the best in the Hurghada and El Gouna area.

The food at the hotel is not over priced, but we did get ill, 50% of tourists do in Egypt! We stayed ina suite which was great with a nice view. The amenities were nice, however we are not sit on a beach people and maybe this why it gets 4/5.

This is a great location even though most of the Coral is dead, you need to go far out to see some decent stuff!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bexin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading Berkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

First the hotel is part of a custom designed resort complex set amongst lagoons open to the sea. If you are looking for culture this is not the place to come to - go to Luxor! This is for relaxation, beaches, pools, scuba, snorkelling and indulgence.

TIP: Check out which room block suits you the most beforehand and email your preferred options to the hotel in advance - the front desk will do its best to meet them but remember their ability to fulfil your request depends on availability so be understanding of that or pay extra to guarantee a specific room type/location. I indicated our preferences 2 days before leaving and the front desk did a great job putting us in a room that fully met our preferred criteria. We had a Sheraton Preferred Guest Room #1104. It was large with a huge king sized bed, shower and flat screen TV (about 37 inch or so). Really close to the hotel, pool and beach but quiet. But to help anyone about to go I have photograped the hotel complex map so you can make your own 'informed' choice.
HINT: during the hot months you may want to minimise walking distances.

Breakfast included a broad choice of fruit, cereals (no weetabix or shredded wheat), eggs of any kind with a chef to fry eggs (1, 2 or 3), make omelettes with your choice of mushroom, onion, cheese, peppers etc.
HINT #1: Hot chocolate milk is available on request
HINT #2: One breakfast room has table cloths and is quieter ideal for the longer breakfast.

We brought our own snorkels and masks and made the effort to go to the long jetty at Zeytouna Beach and snorkel along the coral reef. Nothing like scuba diving but a reasonable number of parrot fish and the odd small barracuda (if you are lucky).

MONEY SAVING TIP. Buy the weekly bus ticket... It comes every 15 to 20 minutes and takes you round to the Marina or Downtown. The tuk tuks are fun for a one off experience but cost is 5 egyptian pounds per person (not per ride).

You are highly likely to suffer from a stomach upset due to bacterial infection. This is commonly caught by handling the money. Sometimes by accidental hygiene transgression in the kitchens of restaurants.
TIP: Use antiseptic hand cleanser regularly and avoid putting your hands near your face/mouth reduces the risk of bacterial transfer.
TIP: Either catch the bus to the Marina (using your weekly ticket) or ask the Front desk to order the drugs you want and have them delivered for 4 egytian pounds. Many drugs do not require a doctors prescription and you can buy Flagyl (Metronidazole) 500mg an intestinal antiseptic tablet medicine and Antinal (Nifuroxazide) 200mg to sort out mild stomach problems. If you need to hit a bad stomach upset on the head fast go for Ciprobay 500 (Ciproflaxacin) a broad spectrum antibiotic 1 every 12 hrs for 5 days. Should start to kick in within 8 hours but ALWAYS finish the 5 day course or residual bacteria will remain and the sypmtoms can recur.
MONEY SAVING TIP: If you travel a lot talk to the pharmacist and stock up on antibiotics, eye/ear infection, diarrhea prevention, constipation prevention drugs and avoid costly doctor's appointments/prescriptions.

Eating. We went for bed and breakfast. This gives one the freedom to eat out. To be honest we were disappointed by all our meals out. We had two dinners at Chez Pascal. But choose carefully. My Lobster Thermidor was a disappointment - if ordering lobster again I would go for it being boiled/grilled so I had straight lobster 'meat' to eat - that way I also get to eat every last bit of lobster 'meat'. The filet steak and chips was excellent cooked as requested with plenty of fries so you will not go hungry. The flambed banana was a coupe de grace (if only they did 2 bananas rather than 1 given that they are the smaller African bananas) cooked in brown sugar sauce and flambed with whisky!

Assuming you have opted for a bus pass then a trip to Bestway Supermarket at the Marina at the earliest opportunty is a smart move (it's down a side street so you have to ask to be pointed in the right direction (only 20-30 yards from the bus drop off).
MONEY SAVING TIP: Buy water, fruit juice, chocolate etc. here and bring it back to your room and store it in your minibar. You can also get small packets of chocolate Nesquik to mix in milk - if you like that.

The sun is strong and the sky is clear almost every day. The last time it really rained was in 1997. So if you are a milk bottle white then factor 50 sunscreen is a must for your face and shoulders for the first couple of days and then go to 20 and take it from there. We stayed in the sun too long one day (after chatting in the pool for a couple of hours) and despite factor 50 and 20 on shoulders suffered dreadful sunburn.

Summary. Excellent service from the staff, pool attendants, room cleaning service. They could not be more helpful. Choice of swimming in freshwater pools or sea. All the watersports, quad biking, tours etc. you could want. This is not a cultural hotspot like Luxor it is an indulgent resort!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RykPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kridi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

the list of excellent will take over 3 pages to write so I'll start with the downfalls which are really minor but would help if they can get it from good to excellent.
- The 2 resturants don't offer any free starters, you get what you pay for and that is it... some bread and butter will not harm any one
- The beach is stony, rough, and the sea is not clear, this is a big time fix. if you are not planning to use the pool or go diving then this is a show stopper

Now the good stuff
- Kids Club - free service to care for your kids while you enjoy your day diving... snorkling... or just enjoying the sun pool/beach
- Open buffet - go for the half board it is worth the money and you can dine at one of the 2 resturants with a set menu for a change
- Rooms - waw.... that is all I can say to quality. Get a room with a sea view you can watch the sun rise in the morning and the moon reflections on the sea at night...
- summing pool, family beach and activities... the kids would not leave the pool unless we are going to the family beach or going to a boat... but you can do much much more
- the sun ... the sand... the wind... the hospitality .... the list gose on and on and on

will come back again for sure

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kridi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

My boyfriend and I (aged 24 / 30) went on a 10 day B&B holiday to this hotel in July. Hotel is amazing and resort is beautiful. I've put together a few key things below about El Gouna and the Sheraton:

El Gouna
- not like any other Egyptian resort, owned by one and therefore very clean and beautiful
- no high rise buildings
- fantastic marina with very nice restaurants
- No night life if that is what you are going for, a few bars but nothing like Sharm
- Man made beaches but never the less very nice
- Beautiful restaurants

Sheraton
- I'd advise going B&B as there are so many restaurants to choose from in the Marina and Downtown. You can eat beautiful food for very little.
- Food in hotel is very good though, we ate a massive breakfast (all you can eat) and were full up till dinner time
- Beaches are lovely, no need to bring beach towels as they supply them
- Buzzers on your lounger so you can order food / drinks
- Sea is boiling hot!
- We didn't pay for a Seaview but have a beautiful room overlooking a lagoon
- Never went to the pool but mainly as that's where all the little kids were and hence a bit noisy
- Huge rooms
- No noise
- Entertainment is generally a singer, nice to have a drink and listen to in the evenings
- WOMEN - take a headband - it's very windy on the beach!
- All staff very helpful and we felt no pressure to tip

All in all this is a wonderful resort, I'd say perfect for a romantic holiday or a relaxation break. I'd never consider going back to the same place twice but I'd not hesitate to book up for next year.

Sheraton also has the best air conditioning which is very much needed!

Happy Holidays xxx

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2009

From the moment we walked in the door, we knew we were home.
We'd just gotten the bus from Cairo, and were tired and needed looking after.
The concierge brought us on a tour of the beautiful resort in a cart, and everyone looked after us.

It's a beautifully designed resort, and the proximity to the hotel restaurants, bars, beaches, and El Gouna bus made it all so relaxing. There is also a diving school in the resort, and we went snorkelling, which is a total MUST for anyone going!

Room service was prompt and delicious. All the staff were friendly, and greeted you everywhere you went. Housekeeping were happy to clean even at later stages in the day, with the smiling answer being 'at your service'. One night, the electricity in the room went, and within a few minutes, an engineer was at the door and fixed the problem.

The main restaurant was a buffet service, but with a huge selection and chefs waiting to freshly cook many dishes in front of you, it was great fun. We also ate in the italian restaurant by the pool, which was nothing special. The main hotel bar was great too.

Whilst not a party venue, there is light entertainment available. I would recommend it for couples seeking quiet time to just relax in the sun.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mercuryfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

My son and I stayed for one week in this wonderful hotel. we enjoyed our stay immensely. The hotel is beautiful but what we enjoyed the most is the service, everybody is very helpful and very nice. What we liked most is this is the only hotel we stayed in, in Egypt or The United States or Europe that cared for people with food allergies. My son is 13 years old and have severe food allergies and we always had trouble in finding something he could eat in any restaurant except for french fries. Sheraton Miramar in Elgouna was the only place he could dine and choose from a variety of foods without anything happening to him because the chefs were very accurate about the ingredients of the things they put in every dish. So, luckily my son could eat and was very happy for the first time in eating outside.
I would like to thank everybody working at this hotel from the general manager, chefs, customer service to everybody else who always met us with a smile.
Omneya Kishar

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Takou95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Gouna
0.2 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
1.0 mi away
Steigenberger Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna

Property: Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Address: Red Sea, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
#4 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#5 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#5 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#9 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#9 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna is built on the most magnificent site, spread over 9 Red Sea islands and is designed by the world famous architect, Michael Graves. The award-winning architecture is inspired by ancient Egyptian designs. The unique seafront setting of the resort with the dramatic backdrop of desert mountains, crystalline lagoons, wooden bridges and lush gardens gives you the sensation of being in another world. Perfectly suits family holidays, romantic holidays, Weddings, honeymoons, meetings, seminars and incentives ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Miramar Hotel El Gouna
Sheraton El Gouna
Sheraton Miramar El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing