We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what s happening”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“what s happening”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2006

i have been there for around 8 times since year 2001 , the hotel is the best in elgouna , my last visit has fallen below my expectations . the hotel staff has become lazy and lost interest to satisfy customer , the pool area was not well maintained and food selection over the pool was poor with bad quality , rooms are excellent , housekeeping is good and beach was gr8 .

but something was wrong with every other aspect

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walidhassoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,575
    564
    153
    47
    35
See reviews for
748
1,001
104
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2006

I have now stayed at the Sheraton Miramar twice - first in March 2005 and latterly in May 2006.

You cannot go far wrong with the Sheraton Miramar if you want an idyllic, relaxing holiday. The staff are friendly, they won't pester you (and I should know because I have always been in groups with girls) and they value their jobs. The food in the hotel is also excellent - the breakfast is up there with the best I have ever had and the various restaurants dotted around the hotel are excellent, particularly the Italian restaurant which does a great sea bass.
The gardens in the hotel are extensive and well maintained - you could literally get lost in them! The pool area is also very nice, although it does get a bit busy in school holiday season. That said, you will always get a sun bed.

As to the rooms, they are spotlessly clean and well proportioned, but a little tired as several other reviewers have noted. They were probably once of 5 star standard, but are now more of a 4 star standard. However, I was lucky enough to be given a sea view which was beautiful and more than made up for the slightly tired décor.
One Trip Advisor reviewer complained about the quality of his/her club sandwich. The thing is, although these hotels are very international, why would you order a club sandwich in Egypt? Also, of course the alcohol will be expensive, because it is a Muslim country and it is taxed so heavily. However, there are a number of really nice Egyptian wines and a nice local beer to sample if you don't want huge alcohol bills. I actually bought a bottle of my own gin with me, and bought tonics to accompany it from the various bars, which kept the cost down.

If you want to go out for food, head to the marina which is attractive and full of huge yachts. There is some first class food served here, and a great little Italian restaurant that everyone flocks to.
My only complaint about the hotel would be the music you are forced to listen to every morning whilst people do exercise classes in the pool and surrounding area. Not everyone wants to be roused by thumping music and I wish the hotel would stop this practice, since there are not many guests who attend the classes anyway.

Finally, on both visits to the Miramar, I have never had an upset stomach and neither did any of my friends. That should recommend the place if nothing else does!

  • Liked — The beautiful grounds.
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
21 Thank Rosielab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m/cr
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2006

Recently returned from our second visit to the Miramar and had an amazing two weeks of relaxation, sun and good food in the most beautiful hotel... the Miramar is a special place... and El Gouna a special resort.

Went as Starwood Preferred Guests this year and was definately worth it... upgraded sea view room with a plunge pool in the bathroom... birthday cake and cards delivered to our room... newspapers and water bottles each day and just generally being made to feel special for the whole two weeks.

Again, the full body aromatherapy massages were just what we needed to relax... we had six in total... all as good as last year!
The food is great, both in the hotel and resort in general and the hotel service is excellent, the rooms kept clean and anytime things weren't as perfect as they should have been... it was dealt with and sorted promptly. The gym improvements were better this year and I understand the spa will be improved further.

Bleu Bleu is still the best restaurant in El Gouna... we loved it!

Went with Longwood Holidays and again this year they were great... going with a small Egypt specialist operator definately has its advantages... the main one being that you don't feel like a package tourist among 100's of others!

Did two trips... the day trip to Cairo by plane is worth every penny and an amazing and chaotic experience after the calm of El Gouna... the pyramids are a MUST, as is the Cairo museum and mosque... the contrasts, bustle and noise of Cairo add to the appeal... a long day but such a special experience.

Our second trip was the semi-submersible submarine to the corals just off Hurghada (a complete mess of a resort... not for us in any way)... the trip was great and interesting, but quite expensive... next year I want to do it for real and learn to dive.

If we had to be picky... yes the Miramar needs to update some of its furnishings and redecorate some areas, but that is happening and yes they need to sort out the music played by the pool and restaurant areas... we want to chill, relax and hear variety... not repetitive aerobics tracks and outdated easy listening. Tina Dico would be perfect!
The jetty walkway out to sea from Zeytouna beach was closed this year, which was very disappointing, but hopefully will be sorted and open again soon, as it is a perfect afternoon walk and offers the best access into deep sea water for a good swim.

What is so so special about this hotel is that you can be there when it is peak season and full and always find that quiet place to really relax... the gardens are amazing to wonder around and you can often feel that you are the only ones staying there... a rare treat nowadays.

One final note... as mentioned the food is great and of a high standard everywhere. However, my partner was ill after eating lamb at Kiki's restaurant, Downtown... we don't know why, as we had eaten there the evening before, but if this does unfortunately happen... go straight to the Pharmacy Downtown and buy the local remedies... sorted within a few days. As for Kiki's, we didn't go back during our stay.

Some reviewers rate the Miramar as a good 4-star, not quite as good as they say... I disagree... for us it is an excellent 5-star and offers the perfect sunshine escape and we do intend to return again very soon. I have never stayed in a hotel which relaxes me like the Miramar does!

We had an amazing and special two week holiday and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. Go... but don't tell too many people... keep it special!

  • Liked — Location and relaxation
  • Disliked — Not really anything
  • Tips/Secrets — Starwood Preferred Guest
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
20 Thank dcrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, Essex
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2006

What a fabulous hotel this is! I have travelled extensively round the world and I can honestly say that this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in and I am quite hard to please.
We arrived after dark and were driven through the gardens to our room. The gardens are so vast we thought we would never be able to find our way back to the main building again but once you can see where you are going it is fairly easy. We tried different routes just to explore the beautiful gardens and lagoons which were extremely well cared for.
The hotel is built on nine islands surrounded by lagoons and all the rooms are in two or three storey semi detached individually styled buildings. The rooms are very large and well furnished with large bathrooms with a walk in shower. The balconies and terraces are also large and each has two sun loungers and a table. Our particular room was just steps away from one of the beaches so it was out of our french doors and onto our sun loungers on the beach.
The staff are are all very friendly and extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was very good in the main Miramar Restaurant at breakfast time. There was an extensive choice but I must admit that I did miss bacon. We were bed and breakfast so we only had a couple of meals in the Miramar Restaurant in the evening but what we had was very good. We didn't visit either of the other restaurants so I cannot comment on them.
Whilst we were there my husband had a birthday so we ordered a room service breakfast on our terrace. This was excellent and very well presented. The hotel also sent us a very delicious birthday cake
We spent a few evenings on the terrace of the Miramar Bar. It was a very pleasant place to sit and have a drink and Shisha and most evenings the entertainment was very good.
This is a beautiful, well run hotel and we will certainly be returning next year.

  • Liked — The gardens and lagoons
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Try and get a sea or lagoon view room
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Patbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2006

This November 06 will be our fourth stay at this hotel. I always said "why go to the same place twice even if it's fantastic as their are so many places in the world to visit".
Well its going to be our fourth time this November and it's because it's so relaxing. Most of the reviews I have read are spot on and I don't need to embelish with more tales. Do go and snorkel if you are fit and able to do it (it is quite hard swimming at the reefs). The breakfast at the hotel is excellent and to be honest if you fill your boots you can last till the evening. Say no to the locals if you do not want something or to do something, they don't harrass and soon get the picture (although being 6'6" tall and 19 stone may help). Try a basic bit of arabic and it will get you a long way. The hotel is immense and at first a bit bewildering but you soon get your bearings. Downtown is a bit grubby and basic but the Marina is more chic and better suited to eating out. We had to pester a bit some days to get the room cleaned which was a bit frustrating.

  • Stayed November 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank rowingman2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterlooville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2006

Have returned from a two week stay with the sheraton miramar and what can we say but brill. Hotel staff and pool staff very friendly and brilliant with the kids. Rooms were bright airy and very comfortable we had interconnecting rooms and our room had a domed ceiling and a queen size bed which was comfortable.

Breakfast was a buffet style with everything you could possible want and more. Regards to eating out we ate out mostly Downtown and in Dunes which was brilliant very good value for money. Also Kikis was nice but it llacked a certain something (maybe because it was above the casino) and you were not sitting outside. Shopkeepers Downtown again friendly but did not hassle you. Marina - souless nothing much there as far as we were concerned. So we avoided it.

You must ride in a Tok Tok and a shuttle bus - great fun.

Our rep Karinna in the hotel was great and very helpful if you had a problem.

I would recommend to anyone who is seeking a somethng a little different. It was a culture shock to us all because everywhere you went you were served by egyptians and not by people from other countries.

The resort is still developing but it is unobtrusive in and around the hotel.

We are looking forward to going back in 2008

  • Liked — It was spread over many lagoons and didnt feel like you were in a hotel
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — go on the trip organised by Coral Tours for the day to see the dolphins
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
14 Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castelnau-le-Lez, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2006

What you have here, Ladies and Gentlemen, is five star infrastructure and a three star package holiday resort.

We booked this hotel (having had many happy experiences with Sheraton hotels around the world) as a short-haul alternative to the Caribbean or the Far East. Our experience was less than impressive.

The resort has been beautifully designed; the gardens are exquisite, and each accommodation is unique - small developments built on lagoons linked by little wooden bridges.

It should be fabulous, but sadly, it isn't. You very much get the impression that it was built on the "If we build it, they will come" premise. So they did - and "they" didn't.

Our suite was spacious, with a lovely sea view..........BUT, that's where the good stuff ends. The furnishings are truly terrible - Matisse sea prints I can live with, but mauve curtains, Santa Fe earth-colour rugs, dog-blanket bed linen and orange pine furniture - no. I've sat on more comfortable bus seats.

We arrived at the resort quite late, so decided to order room service. My yardstick is always the club-sandwich (the best way to gauge a restaurants credentials). I've never had one with real clubs before.

That said, the buffet restaurant for breakfast was good (flat breads to be highly recommended), but the "themed" evenings were just not our thing.

There is one terrific restaurant on the complex, serving authentic Lebanese cuisine. We ate there when we weren't out exploring the restaurants in the marina. Bleu Bleu and Deauville are great.

By day, I would recommend seeking out one of the more isolated beaches - unless you have little ones (as most of the other guests seemed to do!). The pool area is very noisy, despite there being three pool options, and I have to question their choice of gangsta rap as appropriate pool-side listening.

As in all Egypt, drinks are VERY expensive, so stock up before you go, if that's your thing. There's a delightful little floating bar, but be prepared to pay west-end prices.

In short, not our destination of choice for a romantic, escapist, luxurious resort. Perfect if you have a bunch of kids and are looking for a fun holiday. But not an exclusive destination.

  • Liked — Beautiful Grounds
  • Disliked — Horrid furnishings
  • Tips/Secrets — The Lebanese restaurant is worth seeking out
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank suzylovett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Gouna
0.2 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
1.0 mi away
Steigenberger Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna

Property: Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Address: Red Sea, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
#4 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#5 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#5 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#9 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#10 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna is built on the most magnificent site, spread over 9 Red Sea islands and is designed by the world famous architect, Michael Graves. The award-winning architecture is inspired by ancient Egyptian designs. The unique seafront setting of the resort with the dramatic backdrop of desert mountains, crystalline lagoons, wooden bridges and lush gardens gives you the sensation of being in another world. Perfectly suits family holidays, romantic holidays, Weddings, honeymoons, meetings, seminars and incentives ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Miramar Hotel El Gouna
Sheraton El Gouna
Sheraton Miramar El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing