We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt home again...but ..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Bruges
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Felt home again...but ..”
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We came back on 22 april. This was our third stay. Food was VERY good. VERY friendly staff, all of them. Everything was very clean. Although I must say that the whole complex needs a fresher look. It's becoming old. That's a pitty that nothing is done about that.
Last year we got a cake when we arrived. The following days there was an egyptian newspaper hanging at our door. Little attentions but very nice to receive. This year, nothing...Even the fruit basket, slippers, water (that we got from Pegase) weren't in the room. After a phone call they brought is but they forgot the water and brought one pair of slippers even we were with 2 people. I must say we got a phone call and they asked if it was ok, but we were tired of our long flight and said that it was ok.
One time we didn't have electricity in the room and after a phone call it was solved very quickly!
We were on halfboard and ate one evening in the Oriental restaurant. It was VERY good. Only was there too much personnel and we only got one menu to look at and it is really dark there, so it's difficult to see what's written at the menu. Food was served very quickly , each course immediatly after the other. The seafood barbecue was also VERY good! One evening we went to the Steinberger to la Rotisserie. Very romantic and VERY good!
Its a pitty that there are so few shops in downtown and that there is no much to do at the Marina. It's good for a short vacation, it gives you new energy and you are away from our busy lives. If I would stay there for 10 days it would become boring because there is not much to do. Nice to walk in the lagoons!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cargry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,568
    561
    153
    45
    35
See reviews for
744
995
104
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
_Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Defintitely my preferred hotel out of ther two 5 star ones in El Gouna. The staff are very friendly and always happy to help. I stayed in the Palace rooms with a sea view that are very comfortable and the setting is stunning. The restaurant choices were great. The grounds of the hotel are pretty to walk around (filled with flowers and trees). Its perfect for all types of travellers (from solo to romantic to family get-away)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dina_AbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2010

Just return from Sheraton Miramar, where we have been with the child 2 years old.
The hotel itself is very stylish. Food is very good - during 1 week there were not repetition during dinner and we always could find something to eat for our daughter, which is not always easy with the small children. It is possible to upgrade to all inclusive, it costs 35 euro per person, but in my opinion there is no need. We spend less money having half board. Elgouna itself is nothing special, we prefer to spent time at the hotel. Service is fantastic. The only minor point was the weather. During first 2 days was very windy and we could not swim in the sea. I definitely recommend this hotel to everyone who needs relaxing quiet vacation.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrinaN38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2010

The hotel is wonderfull, very beautifull. All workers smile and recognize you. The food is great. Special thanks to the Reception and Guest relations for their help and understanding during the volcanic crisis. There is only one minus I found: the sea. It's not so beautiful like in Sharm-el-Sheikh

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frocia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Disappointed that floors were not cleaner. When we arrived a segment of orange had been sqashed on the marble floor at the top of stairs from pool to series 5000 rooms. When we left 4 days later the mess had still not ben cleaned up. Also on day two I found remains of crisps on our brdroom floor - we had not eaten crisps. They had been removed a day later. Disappointed that two nights we wanted to eat at the Orient restaurant it was booked up. Should not be the case in a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longhousewarminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiramarResort, General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this review, 21 April 2010
Dear Longhousewarminster,
Thank you for your review. Your comments related to cleanliness have been forwarded to our Housekeeping department for immediate remedial action.
Our Oriental restaurant is very popular, but I do regret that you were unable to experience the charm of the restaurant. Many hotel guests book the outlet early. Once again, our apologies.
We hope to welcome you again.
Best regards, Ko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

What a lovely hotel! From being collected from the airport (13 euro per room each way ) to being taken back, everything was well organised and well done. The staff were so helpful, in particular Rageb, who cleaned our bomb-site rooms every day and sorted out my sons uncomfortable put me up bed without being asked.
The site is very big and you can get lost however it is big enough to have a 2k jogging track which is reasonably well sign posted .
We only had bed and breakfast and the breakfast was excellent and fully satisfied 3 teenagers ! (and their parents) although there was so much choice you left the table groaningly full!
We also ate at the buffet twice in the evening which was reasonably good but expensive. We were surprised to be greeted by a dress code at dinner and had not prepared for it . In addition it was applied irregularly. My 17 year old son was initially refused entry wearing long, smart shorts and a smart t shirt while other people followed the stated dress code with track suit bottoms and a football shirt. He was actually asked to change into his own tracksuit bottoms to comply. We complained and were let off for one evening but did not return to the hotel for dinner.
We liked the beaches although they were windy and liked walking over to the little island which had a 'hipper ' feel to it. There is a long pontoon to walk along and you can snorkel off the end . There is kite surfing on the island. We also used the dive centre for divin g and snorkelling. The diving was some of the best organised we have been on , and safest, but it can take a long, sick inducing ride to get there. The reefs are obviously not in good condition which is a great shame and a symptomatic of explosion of tourism in the Red Sea.
We also went on the jeep ride into the desert and felt very uncomfortable when at the Bedouin camp where we felt we were viewing people at a zoo rather than a lifestyle . Our questions about how they lived and how they benefitted from the 20 odd jeeps which arrived and the 30 odd quad bikes parked on their land were expertly parried.
We ate well at the Marina and had anexcellent meal down town. The prices were European tho and we struggled to find any Egyptian food and frankly thought the best food we ate was on the dive boat and in the Bedouin camp.
El Gouna is a lovely town but don't go here looking for Egyptian colour. There is non. If you want a nice resort holiday and are not concerned about where you are or what you pay, this is the place for you. If you are looking for 'colour' this is not.
We did like the hotel and we would recommend it however it was possibly not for us.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welshgirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

Ten years ago me and my wife stayed for the first time in the Sheraton Miramar Resort. We had a great experience then and promised ourselves to return with (future) kids. This year we went back and again had a wonderfull time. The staff is very vriendly and helpfull, also with the children. The lavish gardens are a joy to walk around in. Breakfast as well as dinner are good for this size of hotel. For a la carte dining we went to La Piscina and to the Orient 1001 restaurants which give you just a little more. After a necessary paint job the hotel will be well worth it's five stars.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Efer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiramarResort, General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this review, 21 April 2010
Dears, happy to hear we exceeded your expectations. In January the Red Sea area was hit by a rare rain storm which left its marks on the resort. All damages are being repaired over the summer to restore the resort's old glory!!
Come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Gouna
0.2 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
721 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
1.0 mi away
Steigenberger Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna

Property: Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Address: Red Sea, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
#4 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#5 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#5 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#9 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#9 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna is built on the most magnificent site, spread over 9 Red Sea islands and is designed by the world famous architect, Michael Graves. The award-winning architecture is inspired by ancient Egyptian designs. The unique seafront setting of the resort with the dramatic backdrop of desert mountains, crystalline lagoons, wooden bridges and lush gardens gives you the sensation of being in another world. Perfectly suits family holidays, romantic holidays, Weddings, honeymoons, meetings, seminars and incentives ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Miramar Hotel El Gouna
Sheraton El Gouna
Sheraton Miramar El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing