We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“how guests should be treated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Reviewed 17 November 2010

This was our fourth time staying at the sheraton miramar and it gets better and better.
The reception staff are very professional and easily approachable, Hamada is very good and efficient as his colleague mohammed amer.The hotel seems to have this talent of training all staff to work as one big happy family.The room we stayed in was located at the 8000 island and was very big with a king size bed, walk in shower and large balcony with two large comfortable sunbeds, housekeeping was very good and the room was kept spotless by Ali who was always laughing and joking (something you find very rare in most hotels in england).The beaches we spent most of our time on were the relaxation beach which was run by Khalaf who could not do enough for you and spoke english very well and we also spent a lot of time on the 3000 beach where Khaled Abdal Alem (THE BOSS) kept everyone happy with his funny banter, he is also helped by his sidekick Gerges (KING GEORGE) the staff really make your holiday worthwhile at this hotel.
At breakfast you have a choice of every thing you could imagine and very rarely did we need to eat lunch, again i must mention the staff in particular Osama Gamel another funny man who tried to teach me arabic but i failed very poorly.There are two restaurants the orient and the italian named La Piscina we ate at the italian and the food was very good and our waiter Reda was again first class.
To sum the sheraton up is to say that as a hotel they make the guests feel special and welcome something that a lot of hotels have forgotten to do.
EL GOUNA as a resort is a hidden gem a place where once you have been you can not wait to get back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ashleywoodford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,244 - 1,250 of 2,804 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2010

We've just come back from a perfect week at the Sheraton Miramar in El Gouna. We have been to Sharm, Hurghada & Marsa Alam and can honestly say that this is the best hotel and resort we have found in Egypt.

We found all the other reviews about the friendly staff, good, effiecient and friendly service, fantastic grounds etc to be true!

We were in the 4000 block - a little bit out of the way, and the quickest way to reception and the swimming pool wasn't the nicest since it was through the back of the service area & car park, but it had great views of the lagoon, a spacious terrace and was a huge, domed room with a king size bed & walk in shower. We found it very comfortable for our week stay and the room service was quick & efficient - the rooms have tea/coffee making facilities but also offer one complimentary tea/coffee per person per day which was always delivered with a friendly smile soon after ordering.

We stayed by the pool most days; the pool is shallow (chest height at most) so is ideal for children and was very warm. The sunbeds are comfortable with large parasols, towel & waiter service etc. In winter the sun goes down over the buildingsby 4pm so it is worth getting to the pool for 9am when it opens!

We stayed on B&B - The breakfast was varied & one of the best we have found in Egypt - including mugs for morning coffee or tea with real orange juice! We had the evenng buffet twice and it was fine - there are themes every night but there are always other items to choose from. We considered upgrading to half board to take advantage of the El Gouna Dine-Around where you can eat in other hotel restaurants for three nights, but decided to do our own thing...there are numerous good restaurants in Downtown and at the Marina; everyone we spoke to had their own recommendations but we ate a couple of times at Jobos Sports Bar in Downtown. It's got a real friendly atmosphere - my husband had the Rib-eye steaks twice & said it was one of the best he's ever had! The fajitas & burgers were good too! We ate twice at Upstairs, an a-la-carte restaurant also in Downtown. This is a lovely place for a romantic dinner or just with friends with great service and a really good menu at a reasonable price - my husband had the Camel with chocolate sauce...Very nice although a bit chewy!!

What else?? The tuc-tucs are great fun and such a good idea...5LE per person anywhere round El Gouna in a 3 wheeled, open sided car. We used them instead of the shuttle bus since we never had to wait long for one to turn up at the hotel. We also did the one hour lagoon trip for 35LE - highly recommended! We dived with Emperor who are based at the Movenpick, but the Sheraton have TGI which seem just as good.

Overall I would recommend the hotel for anyone wanting a relaxing holiday in an excellent hotel; if you have trouble walking long distances request a room near to the main building since the grounds are huge and some of the rooms are a fair walk from the main entrance, restaurant etc.

We will definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieHSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

We have just returned from the Sheraton Miramar and fully agree will all the great comments. It was absolutely ideal for a week relaxing in the sun. The standard of service we had was second to none - particulary from Khalaf on the Relaxation beach who helped make our holiday so enjoyable, and Mohammed from the beach bar. I would also like to thank Mona in reservations for all the help and advice when we were booking.
Hotel breakfast choice was excellent and we ate out in the evening, when we particulary enjoyed going 'down town' where the Hedra restaurant was superb.
Many thanks - we will come back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JME56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiramarResort, General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2010

Dear JME56, thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Your praise will be forwarded to Mohamed, Khalaf and Mona, they will be delighted!
Please remember that the sun always shines in El Gouna, and we are ready to welcome you again!
Warm regards, Ko van den Hil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

El Gouna as a place is beautiful. Downtown and Abu Tig Marina are within walking distance during the day, however due to poor lighting and the cheapness and reliable shuttle bus would not recommend walking in the evening. The shuttle bus was 20 Egyptian pounds for 1 weeks travel. We stayed Bed and Breakfast and feel this was the right choice. The breakfast buffet was extensive and they were always topping things up. There are lots of restaurants particularly in the marina and we ate in Hedra (primarily fish (downtown)), Tandoor (Indian (Marina)), Captains Table (seafood / steak (Marina)), Abou El Sid (Egyptian (Downtown)), La Scala (Italian (Marina)), Saigon (Vietnamese (Marina)). We also had lunch in the Maritim (Marina) and Tamr Henna (Downtown). The worst experience was the Captains Table and this was due to long delays in receiving the food after ordering and very poor service. Eating out of the hotel is significantly cheaper. We ate in Orient 1001 (hotel restaurant) on our first night and although okay it was the worst meal of our holiday.
Our room was in block 6000 and was lovely with a huge vaulted ceiling. It was really comfortable with a large bathroom, nice walk in shower, with a terrace and 2 sunbeds overlooking the lagoon. The only criticism was that you could hear the evening entertainment although this never kept us awake.
The layout of the hotel makes it feel really spacious even though at breakfast you could tell there was a lot of people staying at the hotel. The relaxation beach is a nice and is a good place to swim.
The pool is like swimming in a warm bath.
We used the gym on 3 occasions and considered the equipment to be adequate to at least undertake a cardio / basic weights workout.
Staff were very friendly and helpful but we experienced problems in trying to arrange a late check out (which they advertised). Initially advised this couldn't be arranged until the evening before our departure. Then advised that keys would need to be reprogrammed on the day of our departure as they would expire at midday. We had this done and the room keys still failed to work - a minor inconvenience.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cdbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Stayed in October 2010. The weather was scortching and so warm at night hotter thn we expected. The hotel was fantastic the check-in was quick and polite. We had requested a quiet room with view, which we got,we stayed in block 8000 a large room well equipped and kept nice and clean, large balcony with 2 loungers which was nice at the end of a day on the beach to relax on and catch a bit of a breeze with a view of a lagoon, The hotel is well spread out to give a quiet, secluded and relaxing feel to it. The beaches are kept clean and the beach boys are great looking after you. take a walk out on the jetty and look at all the amazing fish.The buffet breakfast was ok plenty of choice, we stayed full board and eat some nights in hotel buffet which was not bad but could do with a little more choice and some dishes need to be kept hotter, but that must be my only negative point of the hotel. If you stay full board you can use the dine around offer which we went to Captains Steakhouse and had amazing meal overlooking the marina and was so cheap with the voucher you get from the hotel. The resort of El Gouna is amazing so clean, friendly and secure. Getting around is so easy either my shuttle bus or tuk-tuk which again are so cheap and always about. The outdoor cinema in downtown is a good free yes free night out sat under the stars and moon getting served popcorn and drinks as you relax on the cushions watching a movie fantastic

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jondy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Me and my husband just returned from a weeks holiday in egypt and we stayed last 3 nights in the beautiful property Sheraton Miramar Resort, El Gouna and we fell in love with the place. Starting from air port pickup, to a nice n warm welcome at reception to arranging a day tour to luxor everything was perfect. The staff is really nice and always welcoming.
Also i would like to say the Luxor day tour they arranged with Pro tours which is a very good company and gave us a perfect day tour almost like a personalized tour, one bug van for just 2 of us, hotel staff packed us our bfast and once in luxor our guides joined us in our car and everything was just smooth and hasselfree.
The hotel property is big and have shuttle bus and boat to downtoen for just 5EGP per day. The breakfast and dinner buffet were good but i would have liked less number of items and a litle better taste. Overall it was just a perfect holiday and i will definitely go and stay with them again

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonusiyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiramarResort, General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2010

Dear Sonusiyu, thank you for your review!
The resort has selected its operators for the excurions with care and we are deligted to see that ProTours met your expectations for the Luxor trip.
Our associates are second to none, in terms of friendliness.
Come and stay with us again. We are looking forward.
Warm regards, Ko van den Hil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

The last four nights of a two week holiday to Egypt were spent in the luxurioius surroundings of The Sheraton Miramar Resort, which if you want a relaxing chilled out pampered time in the sun and waters of the Red Sea, then I have no idea where better to stay.

We upgraded to sea view rooms and I have to say that the room we were allocated was one of the nicest we have ever stayed in. Large, spacious (a domed ceiling at least 20ft high) and direct ground floor access onto the private beach. The bathroom had twin basins and one of the biggest showers I've been in. The views out across flowered gardens and palm trees to the waters of the Red Sea were beautiful. The beach has been created as a lagoon, which is calm and safe for bathers. There is a beach bar and verty attentive staff to bring you drinks which you can call by way of a "Service" button wired into each of the fixed beach "sunbrellas".

The whole resort is a series of islands and inland logoons connected by footbridges which criss-cross the site and add to the sense of space and isolation. This is a big hotel, but at no time do you get the sense that there are hoardes of people milling about. The opposite infact, it's only at meal times you really get everyone in one place.

Food is by way of a buffet style restaurant and there are two a la Carte (Italian and Chinese) restaurants as well. we didn't try the Chinese, but the Italian was to be honest a dissapointment - stick to the buffet. The selection is much bigger and better quality.

There is a wonderfull covered outside seating area adjacent to the Restaurant with large comfortable seating and cushions which is perfect to relax in and have an after dinner drink whilst escaping the heat remaining from the day.

The Architecture of the hotel is very interesting and quite beautiful. It takes its theme from many influences but manages to be functional and beautiful at the same time. All areas of the hotel (including the poolside toilets!!) are fully air conditioned.

As you would expect, the staff are very attentive and happy to help with any needs.

There is a shuttle bus and boat service to the "Downtown" area as well as the "Marina" they run every few minutes but make sure you hold on tight!! The Marina has lots of nice restaurants and bars and is very up market with "Sunseeker" and "Fairline" yachts aplenty. Downtown is a bit more disco and casino and is for the hipper younger crowd - especially on an evening.

Definitely worthy of its 5* star rating in all senses - we will be going back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Family_L1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiramarResort, General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2010

Dear Family L1965, thnk you for yourm review. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our Italian restaurant La Piscina is much appreciated by all guests, so we will investigate why you were not impressed. Please come and visit us again and you must try the Orient 1001 restaurant - a treat for your taste buds.
Looking forward seeign you again soon!
Warm regards, Ko van den Hil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Gouna
0.1 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
20.3 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#31 of 222 in Hurghada
2,654 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ancient Sands Golf Resort & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
0.7 mi away
Panorama Bungalows Resort El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna

Address: Red Sea, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
#3 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#4 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#6 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#8 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#9 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range: £87 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna is built on the most magnificent site, spread over 9 Red Sea islands and is designed by the world famous architect, Michael Graves. The award-winning architecture is inspired by ancient Egyptian designs. The unique seafront setting of the resort with the dramatic backdrop of desert mountains, crystalline lagoons, wooden bridges and lush gardens gives you the sensation of being in another world. Perfectly suits family holidays, romantic holidays, Weddings, honeymoons, meetings, seminars and incentives ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Miramar Hotel El Gouna
Sheraton El Gouna
Sheraton Miramar El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing