We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,544)
Filter reviews
1,544 results
Traveller rating
890
470
112
41
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
890
470
112
41
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset barthree cornerslagoon beachpeanuts barsunny restaurantanimation teameasy diversaqua parkgreat holidayevery hourthe hotel managerchez pascalwater polotuk tukper personcleaned dailymain pool
Filter
Updating list...
688 - 693 of 1,544 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2009

The hotel and area were lovely. We had a nice room with good daily cleaning. The food was nicely laid out but very repetative. They had a German, Belgium, French Egyptian nights but no British.
10 days would have been enough for us. The granchildren enjoyed it until some German and French children arrived and started picking on the British children, spitting and pushing in. They don;t like to wait for their turn, Games in the Sunset lounge were all foreign. no English except cards. Khalede the barman was fantastic with the children.

Paintballing and paragliding were fantastic. Don't bother with the marina dinner and show. You get the same food at the hotel and can get a tuk tuk to the marina and see the show for free.

Thomason holidays really looked after us when we were delayed by one day. We were put up in a beautiful hotel south of Hurghada.

El Gouna was clean, there was no begging and you were no hassled in the streets.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whisysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

travelled with my 2 daughters (Divorced you see) on a thomas cook package holiday for 7 days to this hotel.
everything went smooth at the airport and the fights were on time - the in flight movies really do shorten the flight but the old 757s thomas cook are running seem to have my parents old VHS player from the early 80s on board as the picture/sound quality was poor.
once at the resort the staff were very friendly and helpfull and on being shown to the room we sorted ourselves out.
here the bit that my title hints at:-
i wouldn't not recommend this place as it does not have anything really bad about it - but (and maybe i'm being too fussy) the room only had one room plus a bathroom - (i was travelling with my 2 daughters (aged 10 & 15) and they need some privacy when changing) i was expecting a seperate bedroom. and the furniture /decor was in my opinion only a little bit plusher than the self catering holiday we went on last year to Menorca (Cala n Forcat) so i was a tad dissappointed. the other decidedly average part of theis hotel is the food in the buffet resaurants - i told the thomas cook rep it reminded me of school dinners - at all edible and very contintal europe in its offerings (but as the place is owned by a Belgian and most of the guests are Dutch/Belgian/german etc its not surprising.
so while i say i wouldn't not recommend the place - i would not be in a rush to go back because of its ordinariness (is that a word?)
however none of that detracted from the holiday

we did 2 trips thro Blue Sky tours - a half day trip to the red sea mountains and a Bedouin camp and a 2 day trip to luxor on a coach - both of these trips i would recommend. the 2 day luxor trip has a busy itinery but you do get to see/do alot and is probably more relaxed than the 1 day trip they also offer. From El Gouna it is a 5 hour coach drive and i did not fancy doing that twice in one day (and I am sure my 10 yr old would not have wanted too either) - a definate plus point was our hotel for the eve in Luxor - we stayed at the maritim Jolly Ville on Crocodile Island and the food there was just fantastic (a buffet again)- leagues better than Rihanna offered.

they dont have clouds in Egypt so it gets very hot during the day and after a bit of t'internet research i decded to get some reimann P20 suntan lotion - i can't recommend this stuff enough - put it on first thing and forget about it for the rest of the day - even my youngest, who is very pale, did not burn having used this stuff. it slows the tanning process but that is no bad thing in temps of high 30s to high 40s.

we did not suffer from any skeeters either but i did get 2 bites but that was all between the 3 of us.

there was alot more we could have done during the week and left there feeling that 10 days would have been a good length of time there and it was a balance between relaxing and sightseeing. i think we had a good mix of the 2.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 68Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We booked this hotel on the internet so we did not no what to expect. When we arrived we were put into the Rhinna INN which is not very nice rooms, the grounds and pool in the Inn are lovely but the room as small, dark and badly air conditioned. We complained and got moved straight away to the rhinna resort the main part of the hotel where everything happens. our rooms was lovely and spacious and ideal location right by the main pool so we could pop in and out all the time. The food was great freshly made pancakes, crepes and omlettes in the morning!!!

But what really made our holiday was the animation Team. They were fantastic with activites everyday for all to join in on and a different type of entertainment every night. They put on the best entertainment we have seen in any other hotel before. they are very friendly, down to earth and fun for every age. IIyes the chief animator really puts in 100% and is so enuthiastic. Chiko and azzez where alot of fun and everyone seemes to love them too. They were all a great laugh and really made our holiday alot of fun!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBEAR_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Hotel
Modern with spacious bedrooms at the "resort" but heard that the bedrooms at the "Inn" were very small. The eating areas were slightly cafeteria type, but no real problems in this respect - just the ambiance.
The grounds, swimming pools and facilities are excellent and the animation team were above average.
There were no problems with the reserving of sunbeds - I think because there was a lack of the usual suspects.
I would say that 40% of the guests were Egyptian; 40% Flemish speaking Belgian, and the other 20% were a mix of Dutch, French, British etc. I must say that it did not seem fair to us that some of the female guests wore burquas and full body swimsuits, whereas the husbands wore ordinary swimming shorts.....but who am I to criticise a local culture - just didn't seem fair.

Surrounding area
The local lagoon was nice....with beautiful villas on the shore, and great for a morning stroll. The sea beach is well worth a visit - very shallow and then coral reefs with beautiful fish.
Abu Tig Marina is just a £1 Tuk Tuk ride away, and is fantastic.....beautiful boats, street parties, shops, restaurants, pubs, and prices a fraction of Sharm.

Food
The food at the hotel was really very good at all meals - something for everyone, hot, varied, large selection and tasty. The local beer and red wine were very good and The two "pay extra" restaurants on site were excellent and reasonable. Best fillet steak I ever had.
Drink at the Abu Tig Marina was about the same as the UK and a main course was about £8 to £12. The wine was however overpriced

Weather
Everyone quotes the temperature in the shade. This was about 38c every day, but in the full sun, it was 51c to 57c every day....great if you like it. It was not oppressive, with a light breeze. There is no rain out here, so it's a year round place.

Overall
I'll be back. We all loved it. If you want a snorkling trip, go with the on site "Easy Dive" - half price of the other advertised boat trips.

Gripes
None really....just my own opinion that parents who take balling babies and very young infants to this type of heat should reconsider.....yes, I'm being polite.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whiskersgalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

What a fantastic find, this resort is run extremely proffesionally in terms of service,cleansiness and organisation,the food we found was of a high standard in the main buffet restaurant and gorgeous in the dol cha vita restaurant who make your reservation and meal very special in terms of your welcome,presentation and high quality of food special thanks must go to Amor(dol cha vita restaurant manager).the pools+lagoons are lovelt and extremely clean,the drinksare gorgeous and i never had to wait in any of the bars.El gouna is a safe and interesting town just 5mins away and very freindly.We found the Rhianna resort offers a personnal feel+this is down to the freindly staff+ in particular the hotel general manager, a lovely ladl namely Madam Cecile who as often seen around the resort offering her time for a nice chat+intrducing fellow guests,you are then offered to join her for a nice cocktail drink, a truly nice+ proffesional lady,we would by far prefer elGouna to sharm although this only our personaljudgement.WE WOULD HIGHLY RECOMEND THIS HOLIDAY DESTINATION TO OUR FREINDS+FAMILY.So thank you the Rhinna resort hotel,el Gouna,Amor from the dol cha vita and especially a big thank you to Madam Cecile for a fantastic two weeks..Carol+Gary 9th to 23rd june2009.. see you again soon..

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chillybeanWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews