We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good size room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Visited last week. Nice room with ample bathroom space.
Bed comfort average...small terrace off room.

Landscaping very tasteful..beautiful bouganveillia trees of varying
colour

We just took breakfast.Plenty of choice, but sometimes dirty plates!
Waiters hustled you out just before ten and food was cleared on the dot!
Could have been more relaxing for guests.

More than enough choice of restaurants outside hotel. Our favourite was the
Egyptian Meze place...Thai also good..

Egypt not my favourite destination...Won`t be returning...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellisowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (814)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 814 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

2nd time there, this time on HB
Great location as usual :)
Staff response speed improved
Food quality is good, food variety is OK.
Room was not that good (old weak AC, old TV, etc...)
As overall, it is a good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raouf82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We live in Egypt and this was our second stay at the Sultan Bey. We have two small children and we love it!!. Hotel is great. We were paying £25 a night including a great buffet breakfast (times are tough, hence the price, but quality and staff remain excellent and upbeat). Gouna and the Sultan Bey are lovely and low key. It is low rise (three floors) arranged in several traditional Arabic looking blocks. The whole hotel is covered in flowering bushes. It is so far removed from the trouble in other areas of Egypt, it feels like a different country. We've been in Egypt two years and this is by far our favourite place and we normally stay in Hiltons and Meridiens.

I encourage you to book if you are looking for a low key, zero hassle, relaxed holiday. There are plenty of restaurants in town (a five minute walk away - the Greek and the Thai restaurants are highlights, but many others are great too). Everyone in Gouna has a vested interest in making your holiday great. Lovely people, lovely place. Help them make a living!

Two provisos;

1. It can be a bit difficult with a stroller/pushchair sometimes, as a lot of the streets are cobbled stone, which makes your child's journey a bit bumpy (but don't let this put you off, everything is very close).

2. If you are staying on a Sunday night, don't stay in block 4, as there is a loud beach party that takes place next door. It seems completely out of character with all the other places in Gouna, but completely avoidable if you avoid block 4.

We love it, did I say that already?

Room Tip: Lagoon view is better, but all rooms are the same. Avoid block 4 if staying on Sundays and you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank I_AM_BOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

One of the best hotels i stayed in ., i stayed there for 4 nights last Apr with my wife., very good location near the Bus station, Shops and Restaurants., rooms are very nice and clean ., helpful staff , i will stay there again soon.

Room Tip: Higher floors will be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mustafa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I stayed there for a 5 nights. Great location, only two minutes walk from downtown area with all the shops and restaurants, good value for money, nice breakfast with sufficient choice. Nice rooms, spacious and clean with balcony, All staff really nice. Enough space by the pool for everyone so no need to rush every morning to get your sun lounges. If I was in El Gouna again would stay there again. The only bad thing was the air condition was not great, more like a fan, so it was quite hot in the room. Also probably not a good choice for people with walking difficulties, loads of steps within hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

What a delightful little hotel! Little being the operative word here. If you are the type that loves a massive resort with loads of restaurants to choose from, 10 different pools and hundreds of bars this hotel isn't for you. However, if you are looking for a peaceful and relaxing holiday this one is most definitely for you.

The hotel is done in the quaint 'Gouna' style and is beautiful with quirky little passageways and greenery all over the shop, which is kept clean and trimmed. The staff are polite and welcoming and even remembered me from my first trip :). There is one restaurant and the food is amazing, best all inclusive i have ever sampled! The main pool bar uses REAL glasses (i know this really bothers some people) and the booze measures are fabulous *slur*. The pool and pool area is small but i visited this hotel twice, both times whilst the kids were on school holidays, and not once did i have an issue with over crowding. You do have access to Zeytouna beach via a little boat ride (which runs to time every 15 minutes) but i don't recommend the beach. Its all a bit man made and the access to the sea is rubbish. This isn't just for this hotel, due to the fact i live in Hurghada and visit Gouna regularly i know for a fact most beaches in Gouna are the same. So essentially if you are a big beach/sea person its probably not the resort for you! Only other grumble i have for this hotel are the beds aren't very comfortable, well for me as i am a squidgy bed sort of person and the beds were very firm. Rooms were BEAUTIFUL though and nicely appointed.

Highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing trip for families, business or couples. I'll definitely be visiting again when i need a couple of peaceful and relaxing days away from the craziness of Hurghada!

Room Tip: Dont get a room which is near 'The Clubhouse' as can be a bit noisy when they have events on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emziebmzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Staff were (mostly) fantastic. Rooms were nice, the complex is beautiful, the food was wonderful. A little away from the centre marina, but with dirt-cheap (50 euro cents a person, anywhere) tuc-tuc transport everywhere, this is a great thing! :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
0.7 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.1 mi away
Dawar El Omda
Dawar El Omda
#7 of 18 in El Gouna
606 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ancient Sands Golf Resort & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
467 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mosaique Hotel
Mosaique Hotel
#3 of 18 in El Gouna
513 reviews
0.4 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultan Bey Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultan Bey Resort

Address: Kafr El Gouna | El Gouna, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#5 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#6 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#7 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range: £48 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sultan Bey Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Bey is a labyrinth of alleyways, courtyards and domes spreading from the shores of the turquoise lagoons to the heart of Downtown Kafr El Gouna. This 4-star hotel prides itself on providing its guests with services of the highest standard in intimate surroundings. Beautifully decorated rooms enjoy balconies or terraces with views of the lagoonor central courtyard.The hotel provides 115 rooms, standard room with garden or Piazza view and superior rooms with lagoon and/or pool view. Several restaurants and bars are spread over the property, one on Zeytouna Beach Island which is easily accessed with a short Shuttle boat ride to enjoy the open sea. Some chairs and umbrellas are also available on the lagoon beach.Swimming pool and some sport activities are organised in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sultan Bey Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sultan Bey El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing