We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Gouna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Gouna”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Best view, location, service, food,...
The best hotel in everything
Not very luxurious but still amazing. Worth value for money
Spent five days from oct 15 th till 20 th and never wanted to leave
Zeytouna island is marvellous too ..
Keep it up Sultan Bey

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Randa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    296
    62
    21
    10
See reviews for
185
338
70
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed at Sultan Bey for 3 nights during October 2013. That was my first time in a budget hotel in El Gouna.
Conclusion: I see no reason to book at the expensive Sheraton or Movenpick if you can get a better quality of service, good room, and the same poor quality of F&B for an affordable price at Sultan Bey.
Pros:
1. Very good service (housekeeping, front desk);
2. Good spacious and clean rooms;
3. Excellent location (just 5 minutes walk from down town El Gouna);
4. Free and frequent water taxi to Zaytona Island;
Cons:
1. Poor buffet ingredients (stay on BB and have other meals in downtown);
2. Outdated rooms and needs some renovations;
3. Attitude issues from pool staff.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with 200 serial (i.e. 201, 203 ...etc). Ask for a lagoon view and far from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Relaxism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Amazing hotel with an amazing location. Friendly staff and atmosphere. Food is okay including lots of varieties. Rooms are spacious and clean with a tidy bathroom The only 2 recommendations I have is to provide a kettle machines in the room and drop ordering ice cubes charges.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaeedJuve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

6th year in El Gouna having previously stayed at the Movenpick. as we knew it would be quiet at the moment, we opted for the smaller, more compact Sultan Bey., instead of rattling around a large hotel complex.The view from our lagoon facing room was fabulous and a perfect place for watching the sun set over the mountains.Our room had just been painted so was nice and clean and a decent size.Bathroom compact and a little tired but functional. Hotel gardens very pretty and regularly treated to prevent mosquitos which works.Staff were helpful and friendly and breakfast chefs and managers very cheerful. Beach boy Ahmed always smiling and eager to please, supplying towels and language lessons!A major plus of this hotel is the proximity to downtown, a short walk which meant no need for tok toks or the bus. Plenty of good value (cheap) but great restaurants catering for every taste in Downtown and the marina if you fancy a change. The twice hourly boat to the hotel's beach (Zeytona) which in previous years we have visited but had to pay for, made a nice change of scene from the pool.The lagoon side bar area must have one of the best views in El Gouna over the junction of the lagoon canals. Overall we loved the location, size and general atmosphere of the hotel and would definitely book again, as also the renovations of the rooms is continuing. We found the whole resort much quieter than previous years but this does not detract from our most favourite of Egyptian locations.

Room Tip: Block 3 or any lagoon facing rooms. No problems with mosqitoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phergic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at the Sultan Bey. So let's start with the cons: 1. We arrived post 3pm, yet our rooms were not ready; 2. Front desk wasn't professional, but rather rude; 3. Bed sheets were dirty upon check on; 4. our rooms (400 block) was right next to the Club House, which meant no sleeping until 3am in case of party; 5. No access to a nice beach; 6. Below average breakfast.

Now to the pros: 1. Nice location as rooms are overlooking lagoon; 2. Low price

Personally, choosing to book there again would be a last resort

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nomadic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The reception was more welcoming than last year, which gave us a better vibe the whole stay. The hotel location is great and the breakfast view was so relaxing. The cats are too friendly but in a cute way!

The beach was emptier than usual, we enjoyed the privacy.

On the negative side, the hotel must buy new furniture, it's time they face it.

Also the waiters at the restaurant need some smiles on their faces and less complaining and fighting together. You guys should be one team, ok??

Would look forward to see a renovated hotel anytime this century, this hotel could be much better.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monzique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Visited last week. Nice room with ample bathroom space.
Bed comfort average...small terrace off room.

Landscaping very tasteful..beautiful bouganveillia trees of varying
colour

We just took breakfast.Plenty of choice, but sometimes dirty plates!
Waiters hustled you out just before ten and food was cleared on the dot!
Could have been more relaxing for guests.

More than enough choice of restaurants outside hotel. Our favourite was the
Egyptian Meze place...Thai also good..

Egypt not my favourite destination...Won`t be returning...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellisowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
0.7 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.1 mi away
Dawar El Omda
Dawar El Omda
#11 of 18 in El Gouna
502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Three Corners Rihana Inn
Three Corners Rihana Inn
#17 of 18 in El Gouna
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
0.4 mi away
Three Corners Rihana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultan Bey Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultan Bey Resort

Property: Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Address: Kafr El Gouna | El Gouna, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#6 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#7 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
#9 Family Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sultan Bey Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Bey is a labyrinth of alleyways, courtyards and domes spreading from the shores of the turquoise lagoons to the heart of Downtown Kafr El Gouna. This 4-star hotel prides itself on providing its guests with services of the highest standard in intimate surroundings. Beautifully decorated rooms enjoy balconies or terraces with views of the lagoonor central courtyard.The hotel provides 115 rooms, standard room with garden or Piazza view and superior rooms with lagoon and/or pool view. Several restaurants and bars are spread over the property, one on Zeytouna Beach Island which is easily accessed with a short Shuttle boat ride to enjoy the open sea. Some chairs and umbrellas are also available on the lagoon beach.Swimming pool and some sport activities are organised in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sultan Bey Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sultan Bey El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing