We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't deserve 5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Steigenberger Golf Resort
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I went to this hotel because of the reputation of steigenberger but this one is terrible. First the room was unclean with dirt on the glass, the toilet paper was used, safe deposit box was broken, towel shelf broken, mosquito repellant device was dirty and the shower drain was clogged, electric sockets are not working. When I called the operator to complain, he wasn't friendly. We spoke to the deputy manager and he promised he'll fix things and only the towel shelf was done and that's it. This is not the same level of experience in other Steigenberger hotels

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
6  Thank Ahmed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,356)
There are newer reviews for Steigenberger Golf Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed 25th March-8th April, our 8th time to Egypt, but our first to El Gouna. A lovely hotel, in a beautiful setting among the lagoons of El Gouna, rooms are very well appointed, spacious with separate bath and walk in shower, clean and well maintained. Our standard room, no sea or lagoon view, but lovely view over the superbly maintained gardens, anyway, rooms are only for sleeping!!

The food was excellent, a different theme every evening, a good choice of starters and mains, and far too much choice of deserts......! Also the option of eating over at the rotisserie restaurant, with the set menu included in the A/I package was superb. Excellent waiter service, excellent food, lovely location and ambiance, we ate there four times and thoroughly enjoyed it.

All the staff are really friendly and helpful and go out of their way to make your stay a pleasure. Also, it was good to see and be able to speak to senior management of the hotel, including the general manager, with whom I had several conversations.

There is a charge for wi-fi connection, £36 per week! a bit steep. But, for the average holiday maker, who hasn't gone there to work, there are two PC's near reception you can access free of charge for thirty minutes a day, to catch up on emails and all the sports results etc., and this service fitted the bill quite adequately.

El Gouna is quite safe for visitors to walk around freely, on my daily walks from the hotel, to Down Town, the Square, which takes approximately fifteen minutes, or the Marina a further fifteen minutes, there are numerous cafes and bars to enjoy a coffee or a cool drink, and if you don't wish to walk back a "tuc tuc" costs 50 pence per person, or a taxi just £1.50 per trip anywhere in El Gouna, really good value.

The golf course attached to the Hotel looks superb, just walking through the course, the greens and fairways look immaculate. But fortunately or unfortunately, I didn't take my clubs, I was still tempted, but it was far too hot to play!!

We travelled with SAGA, our tour Rep was Raef, he was superb, very helpful, extremely attentive, and made sure everything we required was provided for, well done Raef for helping to make our holiday so successful.

The only negative about this Hotel is its location! Set back about half a mile from the Red Sea, it is not possible to walk into the sea to snorkel among the coral as it is at our usual hotel in Makadi Bay, and there is little sea breeze to keep you cool. It is possible to go snorkeling, but it requires taking a boat out to sea.

All in all, a very enjoyable stay at a lovely Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very beautiful to look at and the rooms are a good size with nice decor but it definitely lacks that 5* quality. The food is standard hotel food and the facilities are ok. We enjoyed the pool. We might of had a stroke of bad luck but the water from one of the bathroom taps was really dirty. The shower was also blocked so we couldn't have showers longer than 2 mins without the whole place being flooded. The room was really warm too the ac was rubbish! We even came back to our hotel room left open by the cleaning staff!! Luckily we had all valuables with us. On our last day my husband found a lump of plastic in his sausage during breakfast. The front of house staff are nice but the restaurant staff offer standard service. Not sure if we will be back or not :/

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Great stay, very helpful and efficient staff. We enjoyed the Egyptian hospitality throughout our stay. Very warm welcome from the front desk staff, special thanks to Mario.
Breakfast was excellent in terms of quality, quantity, and variety. Rooms were tastefully decorated with large balconies.
We also loved the cultural show which had dances and songs from all over Egypt. The evening atmosphere was lovely every night whether with live music or dance shows.
The beach is 10 minute ride by complementary bus which leaves every hour from the hotel.
Some negatives and things to work on: the spa was uninviting, dark and unkept. Definitely more maintenance required there. Massages were overpriced. The room service lunch was horrible.
Overall we found Gouna to be a lovely and safe place with a bit for everyone. Relaxation, great restaurants, beach, sun, golf, take your pick.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esperanza-wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is my second time in this hotel, and it never failed me. Very relaxing, clean and luxurious room, breakfast and dinner in the main restaurant were excellent, we tried the french restaurant "La rotisserie" by the golf area and food was very delicious.

The downside was the lack of beach area, only the lagoon area is available and we took the shuttle bus to the beach, it was a very long ride and the beach wasn't that good after all.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larefaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I spent last weekend at this hotel and this was my best vacation i ever had in the last sixth years, room is specious, breakfast collection is great, stuff has real meaning of hospitality, location & view is wonderful, very quite, you will enjoy all facility, SPA girl was perfect i spent best 2 hours there in massage session
rate is very suitable
defintely will be back

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanaa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The place is well maintained, the rooms are very good the golf playground view with the lagoons is fascinating, the breakfast food is good but the lunch and dinner are not that good. My overall rating is verygood

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohamed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
1.2 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
1.8 mi away
Ancient Sands Golf Resort & Residences
0.4 mi away
Dawar El Omda
Dawar El Omda
#7 of 18 in El Gouna
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
785 reviews
0.7 mi away
Three Corners Rihana Inn
Three Corners Rihana Inn
#18 of 18 in El Gouna
256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Golf Resort

Address: Golf Island, El Gouna, Hurghada 84513, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#7 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#8 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#10 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#10 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range: £58 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at one of El Gouna's lagoons, in the middle of an 18-hole golf course, the luxurious Steigenberger Golf Resort expresses a mixture of modern architecture with a reflection of regional tradition. The hotel grounds overlook the championship golf course, lagoons, pool and lush gardens. Offering the finest cuisine and excellent service, the hotel caters to the sophisticated golfer and vacationer. Its close distance to the down town and marina of El Gouna invites to have a walk and discover El Gouna's facilities, restaurants, sports and water excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Steigenberger Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Golf Hotel El Gouna
Steigenberger Hotel El Gouna
Steigenberger Resort El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing