We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“used to be an excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Steigenberger Golf Resort
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“used to be an excellent choice”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I spent in May 2014 a week at the Steigenberg Golf Resort after an absence of 3 years and was somewhat disappointed. While the Staff is courteous, the rooms generous and clean, the food was with the exception of the dessert buffet pretty disappointing. Besides it would be good to keep the birds away from the buffet.
The main Swimming Pool while not big became rather less attractive when local women fully dressed started taking a bath and small children not able to swim without swimming aids were let in the big pool without the attendant objecting in spite of the posted rules to the contrary. I called the attention of the pool attendant who was quite helpless taking any action.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumi97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenouda S, Manager at Steigenberger Golf Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback and comments. Please accept our sincere apology for not meeting all of your expectations during your recent stay with us. We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your time with us.

Your comments are shared with the head of departments to take the needed actions.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Steigenberger Golf Resort.

Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    395
    139
    58
    47
See reviews for
338
579
126
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria , Egypt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel in general is great. Its very quiet, the pools are great, the rooms are clean and spacious.
Some rooms are really far from the restaurant. Some golf cars are available but u can't find them all the time.
The breakfast is good - no all inclusive concept available.
There is a shuttle bus that can takes you to the beach every hour - but you wont enjoy that beach at all.
There are no activities to be made at the hotel at night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfredNagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenouda S, Manager at Steigenberger Golf Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to tell you that, we have started offering a new All Inclusive concept, and the hotel beach was moved to one of the most beautiful beaches in El Gouna. Our guests can enjoy the way to the beach as the transportation is offered by a shuttle boat.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon to enjoy our evening shows, and the new hotel facilities.

Brest Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Booked 2 family rooms and was upgraded to 2 massive apartments. The whole family enjoyed it especially the kids. Don't expect to find the room amenities of a high end hotel, but the rooms are comfortable and spacious.

Pros:
Cleanliness, Quietness, Views. Perfect place to get away from the stresses of life and work.
Food was very good, except one time when we went to the Rotisserie restaurant which was a very bad experience.

Cons:
Staff are very helpful and prompt, but you don't see any smiles. I think this was due to the fact that the hotel was fully booked. Seems the place was a bit understaffed.
Room Service is not up to to the level. It took them 4 phone calls and 2 visits to the reception over a period of 8 hours to get us a baby cot.
No wireless internet in the rooms, only in the lobby and it is very overpriced.
The restaurant has no a/c in the evening.
Nothing much to do in the evening, you need to go out of the hotel to downtown or Marina.

Room Tip: Building number 1 is close to the lobby, restaurant, swimming pool and lagoon beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazem E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenouda S, Manager at Steigenberger Golf Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your feedback, as it helps us to ensure that we continually deliver the service Steigenberger Golf Resort is renowned for and exceed your expectations for future visits.

We are delighted to know that you had a great stay with us, and hope to welcome you back soon to enjoy our new facilities.

Best regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

the hotel in general was good, the staff are friendly and the rooms are spacious and clean BUTthe restaurant was unblievable: 1. no a.c, 2. food quality was below average, 3. no food variety on dinner, 4. My mum got sick from the food and she stayed at her room all the trip

Room Tip: Lagoun view in an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Totymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

All year long this is the right place to go ...... Steignberger Golf Resort , El Gouna, EGYPT adds to your enjoyment welcoming personnel spacious rooms , marvelous view ... all room amenities are available.. the variety of food of the breakfast open buffet is super ... 2 pools ... beaches are so relaxing ... don't miss the shuttle boat tours to enjoy the marvelous scenes of EL GONNA .... you'll just love your stay

Room Tip: Go for block 5 or block 6 .... ground floor if you have kids ...top floor if you want to enjoy a bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emanatallah51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteigenbergerGolf, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Golf Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive feed back.We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us.. We hope for the opportunity to serve you again.

Kindest Regards,
Steigenberger Golf Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed in a double twin bed room. It was very spacious and clean. At first we had some trouble with the AC and electricity in general but we moved to another room. The staff is polite and kind. Food was very tasty, delicious and varied.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scerrys0089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurghada, Al Bahr al Ahmar, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

1 The reception is not air conditioned
2.Room keys are old fashioned as the keys are just keys and no electronic cards.Moreover you take just one copy of your room keys
3.The T.V is very old and the remote control isn't working. In addition there is a limited no. of channels.
4.The fridges are old , not cooling the stuff inside and no drinks available inside.
5.The A.C isn't working perfectly some rooms are very hot and others are very hot.
6.the bed mattresses are very old
Generally the hotel need to be re innovated.The best thing in the hotel is the restaurant and the good hospitality and politeness.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Rafie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
1.2 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mosaique Hotel
Mosaique Hotel
#3 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Golf Resort

Property: Steigenberger Golf Resort
Address: Golf Island, El Gouna, Hurghada 84513, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#6 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#10 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#10 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
#12 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at one of El Gouna's lagoons, in the middle of an 18-hole golf course, the luxurious Steigenberger Golf Resort expresses a mixture of modern architecture with a reflection of regional tradition. The hotel grounds overlook the championship golf course, lagoons, pool and lush gardens. Offering the finest cuisine and excellent service, the hotel caters to the sophisticated golfer and vacationer. Its close distance to the down town and marina of El Gouna invites to have a walk and discover El Gouna's facilities, restaurants, sports and water excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TravelUp, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Golf Hotel El Gouna
Steigenberger Hotel El Gouna
Steigenberger Resort El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing