We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel Ive ever stayed in” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steigenberger Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Steigenberger Golf Resort
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Ive ever stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2009

My Boyfriend and I stayed at the Steienberger for 2 weeks. We stayed in a room which felt like it was a villa, very private, and alot of room, our patio looked onto the small river running along side the land, it was a perfect location. The Bathroom was huge! a walk in shower, large mirror.
The bedroom its self was big, alot of wardrobe space, the bed was Queen size. Yet we still had plenty of room to get ready even excersise!.
The food was fantasic. The breakfast buffett could feed you all day, ive never seen so much choice and quality food. The evening meal was also fantatic, chefs cook infront of you, the italian nights were especially nice.
The staff were very helpfull, very polite, yet not intrusive. They wait on you hand and foot.
A really fantastic hotel. El Gouna has 2 main towns, which the hotel staff will tell you about. Both 5-7mins in a(cheap) taxi. The docks are just stunning, yots and ferraris every where. Queit and romantic, very nice choice of bars and resturants, still busy yet relaxing atmosphere. The other town is also nice, more "euroepean" with resturants as in any euroepean country, busier, family friendly, entertainment in the square, although if you go over a little bridge there are some nice bars, with cushoins on the floor facing the water, a real eygytion feel with lanterns and friut pipes avaliable, which although i dont smoke enjoyed very much!!!
A lovely destintation for a romantic break, group holiday, family.

  • Liked — The room/location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IsabellaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    366
    135
    54
    45
See reviews for
321
534
112
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2008

Just returned from a week at Steigenberger Hotel. The main reason for our trip was Golf. The course was in superb condition the service from the staff was first class. The hotel was excellent, staff very helpful, room spotless and contrary to some reports we found plenty of variety in the food on offer. The private beach was a 10 minute bus ride (free) the beach loungers and towels were also free. The Lagoon at the hotel also had free loungers and towels and while perfect for adult swimming it would not be suitable for children. It was our first time in Egypt and would highly recommend this 5 star resort

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — All O.K
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Neilgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2008

great hotel with big room great pool, over looking the lake, good food and drink, the only draw back that the sea shore is far away, you have to take a golf cart or a car.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank yehiaelalaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2008

I am writing as Group Leader of 55 persons who stayed there for 4 nights. Although this is a golfer's paradise NONE of us played golf. The hotel rooms are spacious and very nicely appointed. The pool area is splendid, the local beach is on the lagoon and not on the Red Sea itself (this is not clearly stated on their web site), yet a free hotel bus (10-minute ride) can take you to a private beach on the Red Sea each half hour. The beach is very shallow for at least 150 meters and then you can dive. Plenty of Red Sea excursions from the hotel. The comments of all 55 people: "we wish we had a longer stay", or "we will be coming back here". The breakfast buffet is amazing and so is the dinner buffet.

Upon leaving, we requested to meet the Hotel Manager to let him know how we appreciated the standards he has imposed at this hotel.

  • Liked — The rooms, the pool, the food
  • Disliked — Not being directly on the Red Sea
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelGalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aveley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2008

the hotel is not a 5 star so don't pay the 5 star price's find somewhere else. 2 adults and 2 kids a 9 year old and a 19 month old. the hotel reception is nice looking till they have trouble understanding you that is not a problem as they always get someone how can they will inform you long trouser are to be worn at the buffet and like me you will probably be the only one ha ha, the buffet is not worth the money you can get a lovely meal at the arena or downtown for cheaper even with the kids eating free (meal out £25 all in) they do a free shuttle to mangroovy beach between 9-5 every 30 mins on average that beach is very shallow for about 100 foot so good for toddlers free sunbeds and towels.the hotel has 3 pools of which 1 is a children's pool and a man made lagoon which is always empty. the room i was in was a family room nice and roomy with a fridge (with an mini bar do not use much cheaper to use the supermarket downtown) not to sure about having a glass coffee table which brings me onto el gouna hospital they were fantastic after the little one toppled over the fine chairs they have 14 stitches and an overnight stay in the hospital so no worries there. the local taxi's are 1.50le anyway in el gouna but you can walk to downtown through the golf course nice walk at night and as for the spa fantastic sauna, gym, steam room, hot baths are all free and the massage was very relaxing which was £18 plus tip.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nookiebear73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2008

Well, where to start. This hotel was a huge dissapointment. We arrived very late in the day and were shown to our room. We asked for a family room and actually e-mailed the hotel approx. 2 months ago wishing for a quiet location which they did resopnd to. What we were intially given was a family room overlooking the main pool and building work. There was no bed made up for my daughter and as it was 11:30 at night they seemed really put out to find her a bed. We couldnt even get a drink of water form the mini bar.. there was no bar by the time my partner had arrived with water form the bar it was getting on to near 1:00 before my daughter had a bed to stay in and a drink.
New day new room. Nice view but the cleanliness was dreadful. The coffee table had various bit of grunge and fluff grained in. This room (not saying all rooms were the same as the shower room we were given for an hour at the end of the holiday was spotless) was very far from being a 5 star. The hotel was 100% full, so maybe this could be a factor in some of the bad service we experienced. Food was OK, but I will not be recommending this hotel to anyone. Oh and my daughter slept on the sofa and we used a beach towel as under bedding for her to sleep on for the two weeks as a base sheet was not forthcoming! We didnt complain at the time to reception as they just seemed to be not interested and we didnt want to be labelled as whingers. I really hope that some one from the reputable steigenberger chain reads this.

  • Disliked — There is more that one item
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie_oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newton-le-willows
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2008

The hotel was very nice but very quiet at this time of year. Very lacking in entertainment both day and night. The weather was sizzling hot. We were all inclusive and had a nice room in block 4, close to all the amenities and very quiet. We had a problem with the air con not working twice but did get it fixed, had to spend two nights without it though which was awful as the temperatures were around 40 degrees. The food was very good and we used the dine around facility which allowed us to have an evening meal at the marina and also at the Sheraton. The hotel grounds are beautiful, the golf course and the lagoons are really nice. The AI package does not apply at the beach bar, so be prepared to pay for food and drinks. Regular shuttle bus runs to the beach and downtown. Most of the staff are very friendly and helpful especially Siad the room cleaner and Alaa the restaurant manager. The only complaint I have was the last day. We asked to keep our room until 4pm and were told we couldn't as new guests would be arriving. As the hotel was half empty I found this difficult to understand. We were promised a room to shower in and get changed. When we arrived at reception to get a key to this room we were kept waiting for 45 minutes, by the time we did get the key and found the room it only left us 20 minutes for both of us to shower and get ready. The room they gave us had the electricity turned off so there was no lights or air con working and I couldn't use the hair dryer. What a sad end to a lovely week.

  • Liked — Nice room with nice views/surroundings
  • Disliked — Lack of entertainment
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lesleystravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
1.2 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mosaique Hotel
Mosaique Hotel
#3 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Golf Resort

Property: Steigenberger Golf Resort
Address: Golf Island, El Gouna, Hurghada 84513, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#6 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#9 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#9 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#10 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at one of El Gouna's lagoons, in the middle of an 18-hole golf course, the luxurious Steigenberger Golf Resort expresses a mixture of modern architecture with a reflection of regional tradition. The hotel grounds overlook the championship golf course, lagoons, pool and lush gardens. Offering the finest cuisine and excellent service, the hotel caters to the sophisticated golfer and vacationer. Its close distance to the down town and marina of El Gouna invites to have a walk and discover El Gouna's facilities, restaurants, sports and water excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Steigenberger Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Golf Hotel El Gouna
Steigenberger Hotel El Gouna
Steigenberger Resort El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing