We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would do it again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Steigenberger Golf Resort
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence
Biel
1 review
“I would do it again”
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Every thing was very good. The buffet is specially good. The service and the people are really nice. The only thing is that the hotel beach is a bit fare away. You have to take the free shuttle from the hotel to go there, which is a nice change. They have a spa which is also good. The gym is ok, but the machines could be updated.
There is no free wirless internet and that should not be allowed in 2009;-)
It's also really a safe place.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tube175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    381
    136
    57
    47
See reviews for
332
554
118
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We stay at Steigenberger Golf Resort El Gouna and thought we booked a five stars hotel to find that the hotel matches a motel in the USA. Very bad quality in everything, very hard mattress and pillows, broken fridge, poor lighting, dirty carpet and floor. My husband and I travelled to many locations in the world but never booked a 5 stars hotel to find such horrible quality. The hotel quality is so poor that makes it look like 40 years old.
The staff was friendly even though the check-in took 3 hours. They put us in a 2nd level floor without elevators even though they knew we had 2 infants with us.
The beaches are very bad and seems faced a recent earthquake; full of dust and not developed. We had to walk in the water like 15 minutes to be able to reach a decent level to swim. It seems in general the standard in this area is very low. We stayed in Cairo, Sharm and Almaza in Marsa Matrouh with very pleasant hotel experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2009

The hotel was wonderful, the location lovely and all local attraction close by, either by bus or Tok Tok. Food was wonderful no problems with illness. We were at the quieter side on the hotel and had the quieter pool which was wonderful. A little spoilt by many German hogging the sunbeds!!!! I would recommend hiring the Pedalo and going round the lagoon. The Golf and spa were really wonderful too. The only downside and it's not the hotel's fault at all, but i think the country. Young women get stared at everywhere they go. Which i found rather uncomfortable, and we did have on incident that one of the members of security staff got fair to friendly with myself when my boyfriend was walking with me, the gentleman decided he was going to kiss me even though i made it clear that i was not happy with his advances. But as i say it's not the hotels fault at all. I would recommend this hotel to anyone but just be a little careful with the locals.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireGBritain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2009

My Boyfriend and I stayed at the Steienberger for 2 weeks. We stayed in a room which felt like it was a villa, very private, and alot of room, our patio looked onto the small river running along side the land, it was a perfect location. The Bathroom was huge! a walk in shower, large mirror.
The bedroom its self was big, alot of wardrobe space, the bed was Queen size. Yet we still had plenty of room to get ready even excersise!.
The food was fantasic. The breakfast buffett could feed you all day, ive never seen so much choice and quality food. The evening meal was also fantatic, chefs cook infront of you, the italian nights were especially nice.
The staff were very helpfull, very polite, yet not intrusive. They wait on you hand and foot.
A really fantastic hotel. El Gouna has 2 main towns, which the hotel staff will tell you about. Both 5-7mins in a(cheap) taxi. The docks are just stunning, yots and ferraris every where. Queit and romantic, very nice choice of bars and resturants, still busy yet relaxing atmosphere. The other town is also nice, more "euroepean" with resturants as in any euroepean country, busier, family friendly, entertainment in the square, although if you go over a little bridge there are some nice bars, with cushoins on the floor facing the water, a real eygytion feel with lanterns and friut pipes avaliable, which although i dont smoke enjoyed very much!!!
A lovely destintation for a romantic break, group holiday, family.

  • Liked — The room/location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IsabellaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2008

Just returned from a week at Steigenberger Hotel. The main reason for our trip was Golf. The course was in superb condition the service from the staff was first class. The hotel was excellent, staff very helpful, room spotless and contrary to some reports we found plenty of variety in the food on offer. The private beach was a 10 minute bus ride (free) the beach loungers and towels were also free. The Lagoon at the hotel also had free loungers and towels and while perfect for adult swimming it would not be suitable for children. It was our first time in Egypt and would highly recommend this 5 star resort

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — All O.K
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Neilgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2008

great hotel with big room great pool, over looking the lake, good food and drink, the only draw back that the sea shore is far away, you have to take a golf cart or a car.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank yehiaelalaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
1.2 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
722 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mosaique Hotel
Mosaique Hotel
#3 of 18 in El Gouna
433 reviews
0.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Golf Resort

Property: Steigenberger Golf Resort
Address: Golf Island, El Gouna, Hurghada 84513, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#6 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#10 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
#10 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#11 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at one of El Gouna's lagoons, in the middle of an 18-hole golf course, the luxurious Steigenberger Golf Resort expresses a mixture of modern architecture with a reflection of regional tradition. The hotel grounds overlook the championship golf course, lagoons, pool and lush gardens. Offering the finest cuisine and excellent service, the hotel caters to the sophisticated golfer and vacationer. Its close distance to the down town and marina of El Gouna invites to have a walk and discover El Gouna's facilities, restaurants, sports and water excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Golf Hotel El Gouna
Steigenberger Hotel El Gouna
Steigenberger Resort El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing