We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing week” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steigenberger Golf Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Steigenberger Golf Resort
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence
Penrith
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing week”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

Had a great time in El Gouna which is Egypt without the hassle, haggling and poverty. Its like living in a bubble away from the real world so you can really relax. The hotel was good though we were probably the only Brits everyone else was German and spent all day playing golf which left the rest of the hotel's facilities for us. The breakfast buffet was very good and the whole place was clean with lovely gardens. The beach was a disaster as its now surrounded by building work for a new hotel but the lagoon beaches and the pools were good.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PremierPenrith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    368
    135
    54
    45
See reviews for
321
536
113
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

My husband and I stayed in it on our honey moon for four days in a junior suite with a pool view. We were able to see the golf area behind the pool. The view was splendid actually and the suite was wonderful. The staff there was very nice, helpful and cheerful. The restaurant was excellent and everything tasted very good. The only thing that i didn't like was that the beach was far away from the hotel but there were buses to take us to it and there weren't a lot of activities to do at it. We really enjoyed our stay there and we'd love to repeat it again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoulyEgypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egypt
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

I travelled alone for business to this hotel and stayed for three nights.

Working for the sister resort, Taba Heights, its was a lovely change to come away.

The service, food and accommodation was all wonderful, I cannot fault it, only that I was there for business and not pleasure, the only downside.

I stayed in one of the newly refurbished lagoon rooms, with a beautiful river running past my balcony, amazing place for a book and a cup of tea to watch the sunrise! Stunning.

I ate in the French restaurant on my first night with some guests from England, excellent! You must climb to the top of the tower for the beautiful views and a great overview of El Gouna.

On my last morning (yesterday), I was on my balcony with said book and cup of tea and was presented with a flower from the gardener... nice touch!

Excellent and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. I will definitely come back, but would rather be there for pleasure!

El Gouna is a fantastic resort and there is something there for everyone!

10/10 - thank you!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrenziedAilurophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2009

I stayed at Steigenberger El Gouna this summer for 5 days, actually that was my first time to visit el gouna.
The staff there are very helpful and cheerful, they almost do their best to make your stay a nice and enjoyable one, I say "almost" because I had two bad situations which annoyed me but I still believe that the hotel staff are mentioned above.
The rooms are clean and cosy, not of that luxury you may find at steigenberger hurghada for example but they are fine, lagoon is fantastic and the hotel amenities are great, however I didnt like the variety of food at the breakfast especially if compared to other hotels in Egypt.
The golf course is an excellent one combining the lagoon view with its 18 hole course.
To summarize I'd say that staying at steigenberger is a very good value for money and I recommend it for families and solo travellers.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kareem-shalaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biel
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2009

Every thing was very good. The buffet is specially good. The service and the people are really nice. The only thing is that the hotel beach is a bit fare away. You have to take the free shuttle from the hotel to go there, which is a nice change. They have a spa which is also good. The gym is ok, but the machines could be updated.
There is no free wirless internet and that should not be allowed in 2009;-)
It's also really a safe place.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tube175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

We stay at Steigenberger Golf Resort El Gouna and thought we booked a five stars hotel to find that the hotel matches a motel in the USA. Very bad quality in everything, very hard mattress and pillows, broken fridge, poor lighting, dirty carpet and floor. My husband and I travelled to many locations in the world but never booked a 5 stars hotel to find such horrible quality. The hotel quality is so poor that makes it look like 40 years old.
The staff was friendly even though the check-in took 3 hours. They put us in a 2nd level floor without elevators even though they knew we had 2 infants with us.
The beaches are very bad and seems faced a recent earthquake; full of dust and not developed. We had to walk in the water like 15 minutes to be able to reach a decent level to swim. It seems in general the standard in this area is very low. We stayed in Cairo, Sharm and Almaza in Marsa Matrouh with very pleasant hotel experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
1.2 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mosaique Hotel
Mosaique Hotel
#3 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Golf Resort

Property: Steigenberger Golf Resort
Address: Golf Island, El Gouna, Hurghada 84513, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#6 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#10 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
#10 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#10 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at one of El Gouna's lagoons, in the middle of an 18-hole golf course, the luxurious Steigenberger Golf Resort expresses a mixture of modern architecture with a reflection of regional tradition. The hotel grounds overlook the championship golf course, lagoons, pool and lush gardens. Offering the finest cuisine and excellent service, the hotel caters to the sophisticated golfer and vacationer. Its close distance to the down town and marina of El Gouna invites to have a walk and discover El Gouna's facilities, restaurants, sports and water excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Steigenberger Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Golf Hotel El Gouna
Steigenberger Hotel El Gouna
Steigenberger Resort El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing