We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Captain's Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Turtle's Inn(El Gouna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ali Pasha Hotel(El Gouna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fanadir Hotel(El Gouna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mosaique Hotel(El Gouna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (657)
Filter reviews
657 results
Traveller rating
365
222
49
11
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
365
222
49
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmoods beachmarina viewperfect locationtig marinarooms are smallfree accessali pasha hotelenjoyed my staynice hotelopen buffetnight liferestaurants and barsmini barbreakfast buffetstandard roomswimming poolsecond home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
395 - 400 of 657 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have just come back from a 10 night stay at the Captains Inn and from the reviews I have read on Trip Advisor I had to wonder if we were talking about the same hotel. I certainly would not call it excellent or even good. The room we had was tiny and we had to move the bed to get into the wardrobe. The safe was a joke - it was portable- we could have picked it up and walked out with it!!! The stairwells and corridors were dark and gloomy and the whole place just looked tired.
The one and only reason I gave this an "average" rating was the breakfast - they were excellent. In fact the best bit about the hotel. The only other redeeming feature was the afternoon waiter who looked after us brilliantly, always warm and welcoming delivering coffee and cold beer with a smile. The reception staff failed to pass on a message about our transfer back to the airport, but were good at calling the taxi that we had to pay for to get to the airport to catch our flight.
Don't get me wrong, if you want budget then this is the place for you but for this to be ranked above the Movenpick........come on! Who are they trying to kid!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillthecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Philippe F, General Manager at The Captain's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Ms. Gill,

I would like to thank you for your comment and apologize if we did not succeed to satisfy you during your stay. I am sorry that we were not successful to make your stay as enjoyable as we succeeded with so many of our dear customers.

I would also like to thank you for your nice comments about the restaurant and the staff of the service.

May you allow me to give you my direct contact to be able to change that negative opinion you have of us and try to make if you wish, a second stay memorable on all levels.

I would hate to see you stay with this idea of us, i truly believe i can make it for you and enjoyable stay and you would find the reason why we are liked by so many of our customers.

my mail is jeanphilippe.ferrini@marina-elgouna.com

Please think about it, and if you decide to give us a second chance, i promise you you won't regret it.

Hoping to hear from you soon.

Thank you

kind regards

Jean-Philippe

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

small hotel with a clean rooms. low price with best value, the location also is perfect in Guna
nice cosy restaurant facing the marina
friendly staff, overall great atmosphere.
Great location + Good hotel + low rate = V.Good value”

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Islam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Small hotel but very good and has a superb location makes you like you own the Marina & you can eat very good dinner by their Greek chief (Costa) & must be ask about (Kareem) he is the Maestro of Restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IBousaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Its not a luxury stay if thats what you are looking for. But its great value, its got the perfect location at the heart of the Marina, right across from PIER 88, its clean and tidy, the rooms are elegant and comfortable, and most importantly the staff is very friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: I payed a little extra for a room with a view of the Marina and it was totally worth it since the view was breathtaking.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahmed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed at The Capitain's Inn in September for 10 days. The best location in El Gouna - Abu Tig Marina with all the nice cosy restaurants just outside of the hotel. .
The rooms are well decorated and feel spacious. If you are facing the marina, it can get a little noisy on one or two days a week when there is a street party, but this was not a problem for us. Courtyard facing rooms are also nice and lack of view over the marina does not really make much of a difference, so I would not be to fussy with the view. The decor is not superfancy or modern but most of the 3 star hotels I have seen in Europe have been substantially worse. More importantly, both the rooms and the common areas are very clean and looked after. I really liked the traditional warm yellow and blue colours which make the rooms quite cosy.
Breakfast is worth a special mention as it offers really good choice of food, both continental and local. You can also order omelettes and fry your own pancake on a hot plate. The only downside is that there is not much fruit, but that applies generally to Egypt where most of the fruits are imported. The restaurant also offers good dinner menu to be enjoyed at a table next to the water.
The hotel does not have its own beach or pool, but gives you cards to access Moody's beach club a hundred meters away and pool at the Three Corners which is also a couple of minutes walk away. Honestly, we never used any, as we went straight to kite beaches.
If you are kiteboarding, Mangroovy beach with 3 kite schools are only 2-3 minutes ride away on a tuc-tuc, which costs 5 Egyptian pounds per person (around 50 eurocents). If you feel like you have explored all the restaurants in the Marina, you can also get a tuc-tuc to Downtown which is about 5-7 minutes drive.
Service was very good, efficient and friendly, the management changed a room for a bigger one without any problem as soon as one became available. Unfortunately, we had a pipe burst in our bathroom, so we had to change the room once again and we now have had a very good taste of different rooms. The management really put a great effort sourcing an Iphone 5 charger which was damaged by water during the leak - they have brought one from Hurghada, which was really appreciated.
Would highly recommend Capitain's Inn if you want good value for money and looking for a decent hotel to spend your nights at, not a resort to spend your whole day at a pool. We came to El Gouna to kite and we really love the hotel and would definitely go back there next time we are in Egypt.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, do not get Marina view, courtyard or back desert view would suit you best.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex_and_Olga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews