We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and comfortable”
Review of The Captain's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Captain's Inn
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

perfect location in the middle of all attractions, cozy, clean, and comfortable, very polite, friendly and proactive staff, rooms with marina view are spectacular, give you free access to moods beach which is very nice with very active and polite staff, nice music, tasty food, and relaxation atmosphere as almost all places in El Gouna.
for sure we will back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marwa_Azab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

a cosy hotel, very practical location, helpful staff, excellent value for money.
accessible to the restaurant, marina, kitesurf beach.
very calm, the room was big and with a nice balcony, the food on breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MOny888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

It's our second stay in captain's inn we just love it. Great great location, value for money and very cozy rooms. Gives you free access to the moods beach, the best beach located in marina. Quick check in service. Breakfast and hotel restaurant on the marina shores which allows you to enjoy the sunny morning breakfast and the fresh breeze at night. Gouna is the place to be.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 832Mariam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Right on the marina this restaurant does some great food. fajitas were really good as was the steak on a stone. goods value. Good views. lovely place to sit. really enjoyed our meal.. didn't stay there but it all looked clean

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonksMeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights in Captain's Inn; we chose the hotel because we wanted a Marina hotel. The hotel location is in the middle of everything! You have restaurants, a supermarket, the beach (you get free access to Moods beach which was very pleasant) and the Pool (you either use Three Corners Ocean View or Ali Pasha's pools) all around you.

Check in was fast, we booked a room with the back view. The room had a nice balcony overlooking the small backyard. We checked a Marina View room and a Suite, if you are booking a Marina View, ask for one with a Balcony because the ones with windows didn't make sense because you need to open them in order to see the Marina. The suite had a huge terrace that overlooked the Marina; also it accommodates 3 people (one double bed and one single bed). The only fault with the suite was that it had the same bathroom size as the rest of the rooms which is pretty small.

Our room was small, everything was compact but we didn't mind because we were not planning on spending much time in it anyway. The breakfast was surprisingly good, there was an omelet station and a pancake maker. You can either sit inside or outside right on the Marina with all the lovely views.

Overall it was a nice hotel in the middle of everything and I am sure we will stay there again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have just come back from a 10 night stay at the Captains Inn and from the reviews I have read on Trip Advisor I had to wonder if we were talking about the same hotel. I certainly would not call it excellent or even good. The room we had was tiny and we had to move the bed to get into the wardrobe. The safe was a joke - it was portable- we could have picked it up and walked out with it!!! The stairwells and corridors were dark and gloomy and the whole place just looked tired.
The one and only reason I gave this an "average" rating was the breakfast - they were excellent. In fact the best bit about the hotel. The only other redeeming feature was the afternoon waiter who looked after us brilliantly, always warm and welcoming delivering coffee and cold beer with a smile. The reception staff failed to pass on a message about our transfer back to the airport, but were good at calling the taxi that we had to pay for to get to the airport to catch our flight.
Don't get me wrong, if you want budget then this is the place for you but for this to be ranked above the Movenpick........come on! Who are they trying to kid!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillthecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Philippe F, General Manager at The Captain's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Ms. Gill,

I would like to thank you for your comment and apologize if we did not succeed to satisfy you during your stay. I am sorry that we were not successful to make your stay as enjoyable as we succeeded with so many of our dear customers.

I would also like to thank you for your nice comments about the restaurant and the staff of the service.

May you allow me to give you my direct contact to be able to change that negative opinion you have of us and try to make if you wish, a second stay memorable on all levels.

I would hate to see you stay with this idea of us, i truly believe i can make it for you and enjoyable stay and you would find the reason why we are liked by so many of our customers.

my mail is jeanphilippe.ferrini@marina-elgouna.com

Please think about it, and if you decide to give us a second chance, i promise you you won't regret it.

Hoping to hear from you soon.

Thank you

kind regards

Jean-Philippe

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

small hotel with a clean rooms. low price with best value, the location also is perfect in Guna
nice cosy restaurant facing the marina
friendly staff, overall great atmosphere.
Great location + Good hotel + low rate = V.Good value”

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Islam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
0.1 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.2 mi away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
467 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dawar El Omda
Dawar El Omda
#7 of 18 in El Gouna
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ancient Sands Golf Resort & Residences
0.3 mi away
Mosaique Hotel
Mosaique Hotel
#3 of 18 in El Gouna
513 reviews
1 mi away
Panorama Bungalows Resort El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captain's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's Inn

Address: Abu Tig Marina, El Gouna, Hurghada 84513, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#4 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#6 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#9 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range: £29 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Captain's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captain’s Inn is a small hotel perfectly situated in the beautiful Abu Tig Marina, the trendiest location in El Gouna on the Red Sea coast of Egypt. Directly overlooking the luxury yachts of the marina’s South Basin, it is in the heart of the action with stylish boutiques, laid-back cafes and lounges, gourmet restaurants, and nightlife hot spots on its doorstep. Hotel guest have access to the swimming pools at at Ali pasha hotel; our sister hotel located two walking minutes away on the Marin strip, and to the Marina Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Captain's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Captain`s Hotel El Gouna
The Captains Hotel
Captains Hotel El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing