We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Captains Inn is a great value.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Captain's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Captain's Inn
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Captains Inn is a great value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Captain's Inn is a great value. The location in Abu Tig Marina is convenient to everything in El Gouna. The complimentary access to Moods Beach was a huge plus. The breakfast buffet had just enough variety and was more substantial than the typical continental breakfast. Though after several days I did wish that they would change it up a little. The staff was great. Not only friendly but upbeat and never too busy for a quick jest. The restaurant was good for a reasonably priced dinner as well. And I arrived sick my first day and found the room service a great comfort when I didn't care to leave my room. My only complaint is that the shower in our room was tiny and the curtain would blow up against me and stick to me while I was showering. Really my only complaint. And both my lady and I got our hair cut by Abu Kareem in the in-house Salon. Abu Kareem's skills could fit in in any high end salon.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKleiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    169
    36
    11
    6
See reviews for
93
127
56
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

The staff was very friendly helping us with choosing the right activities. The rooms were noticeably clean and cosy. We had breakfast everyday viewing the marina and it was just perfect. Value for money and it wasn't expensive at all.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Radwa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I always like their hospitality and helpful spirit. The room is convenient and I cannot ask for more area cause I know how much I paid ;)
May be best money value for a room rate in El Gouna. It gives you the luxury of staying in the Marina and getting respect service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esso1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Where do I begin? This excellent little hotel is hands down the best 3 star hotel I have ever stayed at.
It's perfectly located in Abou el tig marina, walking distance from all the best night spots and best restaurants in town. The rooms a very very clean, very cozy and have an excellent view should you get a Marina room view. The staff at the hotel are excellent, efficiant and friendly, the resident manager runs a very tight ship and this succeeds in making the guests feel at home.
The hotel also offers the most incredible breakfast buffet, with tasty fresh food and fruits that cater to all tastes and nationalities.
Overall, The Captain's inn is the place to stay at if you're travelling to Gouna.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karmaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

A great and perfect place that will for sure guarantee you an excellent vacation. Strategically located in the Abu Tig marina..walking distance from all your needs, either a supermarket or a high end dining restaurant.Rooms are cozy and very clean for a 3 stars hotel that feels like a 5 stars. The Captain's warm and true egyptian hospitality will leave you wanting for more. Very friendly, efficient and warm hearted staff. I highly recommend this little piece of heaven in Gouna. I forgot to mention PERFECT BREAKFAST EVERY SINGLE MORNING :) Thnx captain.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigpapa89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

My second stay and there will be more!!!!
I love it not bec its a luxurious hotel but bec its comfortable and relaxing by all means.
Stuff r helpful as u need and expect.
Food are clean tasty simple but u just dont need more.
Rooms are simply clean and cozy.
The whole ambiance there is relaxing zone.
Location is a walking distance from everywhere.
Best steak dinner with a candle lights around directlt on the marina view....
What do u need more?

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank yelawady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I really liked this hotel location and stuff. I planned to stay 6 night but I extended it because I loved it. I really recommend it for other people. everything was great from value for money, stuff and location. the breakfast was nice.

What I didn't like are 1- the shower room curtain; really annoying. 2- No swimming pool in this hotel. 3- No dedicated beach for it. you should use Moods beach with it's high prices for drinks.

In total: you will never regret spending time in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kareem18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
0.2 mi away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.3 mi away
Mosaique Hotel
Mosaique Hotel
#3 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turtle's Inn
Turtle's Inn
#16 of 18 in El Gouna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.1 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captain's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's Inn

Property: The Captain's Inn
Address: Abu Tig Marina, El Gouna, Hurghada 84513, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#9 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
#11 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Captain's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captain’s Inn is a small hotel perfectly situated in the beautiful Abu Tig Marina, the trendiest location in El Gouna on the Red Sea coast of Egypt. Directly overlooking the luxury yachts of the marina’s South Basin, it is in the heart of the action with stylish boutiques, laid-back cafes and lounges, gourmet restaurants, and nightlife hotspots on its doorstep. The lively Marina Street Festival with live music and shows is held weekly throughout the summer right in front of the hotel. Hotel guest have access to the swimming pools at at Ali pasha hotel; our sister hotel located two walking minutes away on the Marin strip, and to the Marina Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Agoda so you can book your The Captain's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Captain`s Hotel El Gouna
The Captains Hotel
Captains Hotel El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing