We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Place for Vacation / Dolphine House Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Captain's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Captain's Inn
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Place for Vacation / Dolphine House Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

It was unique vacation, staff are really nice, breakfast is excellent & the veiw from the sea view room is amazing, the beach is super clean & I recommend all who are staying there to do the dolphine hiuse trip with Captain's Inn agency, they are really good

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AhmadHaikal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    169
    36
    11
    6
See reviews for
94
127
56
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Their Great accommodation makes you want to go their every holiday. I've enjoyed this vacation very much and i'm actually planing to go there again.the rooms are clean ,the breakfast is good and the location is the best compared to other hotels in the same area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmed O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We just returned from a week's stay at Captain's Inn. We are a family with 2 teenagers and reserved 2 marina view rooms (122+124) with balconies which were great - lots of fun to watch what was happening outside and the view is beautiful morning and night.
All the staff at the hotel were WONDERFUL - every single person was extremely friendly and helpful to us with every request! This was really appreciated - thank you!!
The hotel itself is nice and in a great location - close to everything you need.
Breakfasts were incredible and the restaurant offers a great menu. (the steaks were to die for!)
We enjoyed coming back to our rooms to find on our beds towels shaped as swans, scarves as flowers, etc. This personal touch was nice and the creative cleaner was a happy, friendly face to see every day.
The only negative thing was the NOISE, although it was not the hotel's fault. New Year's week is a major Egyptian holiday period so El Gouna was packed with Egyptians. While it was nice to feel we were not in a totally "artificial" resort, the outdoor terrace of the nightclub just across the water from the hotel partied HARD EVERY NIGHT from 12-3 AM! The music was so loud that the windows of our rooms vibrated and needless to say made it difficult to sleep.
However, after explaining to reception they offered to switch one of our rooms to a garden view asap (we chose to keep the other room), a solution with which we were satisfied. They explained that most guests at the hotel are returning Egyptians and know what goes along with Marina View Rooms during this time... I would suggest that the hotel warns "other"customers when bookings are made for these rooms during this busy party period.
On a smaller detail, the shower in the garden view room (109) was very small!
Outside of this, I would definitely recommend this hotel.
Thank you for a wonderful stay!!

Room Tip: Marina View Rooms with balcony are definitely worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

The best time we had again this year for Christmas great breakfast and great way to spend the holidays we will be doing this again real soon cant wait till next year . Sue is one of the best people working there

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOANNE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Captain's Inn is a great value. The location in Abu Tig Marina is convenient to everything in El Gouna. The complimentary access to Moods Beach was a huge plus. The breakfast buffet had just enough variety and was more substantial than the typical continental breakfast. Though after several days I did wish that they would change it up a little. The staff was great. Not only friendly but upbeat and never too busy for a quick jest. The restaurant was good for a reasonably priced dinner as well. And I arrived sick my first day and found the room service a great comfort when I didn't care to leave my room. My only complaint is that the shower in our room was tiny and the curtain would blow up against me and stick to me while I was showering. Really my only complaint. And both my lady and I got our hair cut by Abu Kareem in the in-house Salon. Abu Kareem's skills could fit in in any high end salon.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKleiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

The staff was very friendly helping us with choosing the right activities. The rooms were noticeably clean and cosy. We had breakfast everyday viewing the marina and it was just perfect. Value for money and it wasn't expensive at all.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Radwa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I always like their hospitality and helpful spirit. The room is convenient and I cannot ask for more area cause I know how much I paid ;)
May be best money value for a room rate in El Gouna. It gives you the luxury of staying in the Marina and getting respect service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esso1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
0.2 mi away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.3 mi away
Mosaique Hotel
Mosaique Hotel
#3 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turtle's Inn
Turtle's Inn
#16 of 18 in El Gouna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.1 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captain's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's Inn

Property: The Captain's Inn
Address: Abu Tig Marina, El Gouna, Hurghada 84513, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#9 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
#11 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Captain's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captain’s Inn is a small hotel perfectly situated in the beautiful Abu Tig Marina, the trendiest location in El Gouna on the Red Sea coast of Egypt. Directly overlooking the luxury yachts of the marina’s South Basin, it is in the heart of the action with stylish boutiques, laid-back cafes and lounges, gourmet restaurants, and nightlife hotspots on its doorstep. The lively Marina Street Festival with live music and shows is held weekly throughout the summer right in front of the hotel. Hotel guest have access to the swimming pools at at Ali pasha hotel; our sister hotel located two walking minutes away on the Marin strip, and to the Marina Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Ebookers so you can book your The Captain's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Captain`s Hotel El Gouna
The Captains Hotel
Captains Hotel El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing