We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel with great location”
Review of The Captain's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Captain's Inn
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent hotel with great location”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Decent hotel with great location.. food is ok, rooms are clean, not luxorious, staff are polite, marina view is great. Lots of resturants around.. 3 min walk from beach no pool but have shared pool with other nearby hotel

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mohgomaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    182
    38
    11
    7
See reviews for
98
141
60
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Nice and cozy hotel situated in an excellent location, bang in the middle of all the restaurants and bars in the Marina area, and a few meters away from the beach; it is also very reasonably priced, and hotel staff are very professional, responsive and fast. I would go back there any day.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

It has a perfect location where u can have breakfast and dinner on the marina.. the staff is very helpful and friendly.. i wish there was a long mirror in the room and the lighting was stornger yet it was very cozy and somehow relaxing

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marinamourad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antwerp
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

friendly and personnal staff welcomes you upon arrival. don't expect the typical all-in inclusive resorts : captain's inn is a bed and breakfast hotel located at the marina. this part of elgouna is the nicest and breaths a good atmosphere. don't expect luxureous rooms : but for the price you pay, you get very noce rooms which are clean and have all the necessary comfort.

this was our 9th (!!) time at captains' inn !! and we will certainly return !!

Room Tip: rooms with marina view are very nice but risk to have street rumour (although it is very quiet in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fannydebrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bracknell
Level Contributor
109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Had an excellent weeks stay, I have racked my memory to think of something original to say about this place, really its all been said in other reviews, but I do feel a 2nd review is deserved just to reflect our enjoyment.

Breakfasts are still up to standard and the quality and choice well exceeds the Inn's 3 star rating. Everything spick and span everything working and everything comfortable.

Whilst we were there there were some very minor maintenance work going on, but nothing that would disturb. The room paintwork has all been re-done since last year - one of the windows in our room wouldn't open due to the paint sticking, which is how I knew it had all been done, but hardly the end of the world as other windows opened and the terrace doors (front and back) were fine. I find it rather encouraging that given the lack of European tourism to Egypt in general that Captain's are obviously taking pride and making investment in keeping the maintenance up to date.
Having mentioned the lack of tourism I would say that during our stay the Captain's seemed pretty busy with a good proportion of local tourists which makes for a nice mix and I think also confirms the Captain's general quality and value for money.

Room Tip: The Captain's suite has the best view in the resort and probably the biggest terrace as well, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Located in the best location in El Gouna overlooking the beautiful marina. Make sure to book a marina view room to enjoy the view. The hotel doesn't have a beach or pool but they give you a free pass to TTC Ocean View swimming pool, Du Port Pool Club and Ali Pasha Hotel swimming pool. You also get a free pass to Moods Restaurant & Beach Club. Breakfast was average since it was the same food for the 4 days I stayed there. The area around the hotel has a lot of restaurants but they are expensive if you are on a tight budget. Overall a beautiful clean hotel that I would recommend to anyone visiting El Gouna.

Room Tip: Room 122 gives you the best view of the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foudaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurghada, Egypt
Level Contributor
24 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

this is the most inspiring & delightful view yszxou can ever have, great food and service as well. the room is very good and comfortable, the moods beach is great yet expensive and the room needs beter amenities ( tea, coffe self service in room only present forst night, no shampoo or conditioner, etc yet only soap. also the room decoration needs to be more taken care of, example the curtains are not suitable neither in shape nor in usage, no side table in room, no hairdryer or shampoo in toilet, not always the toilet mat is replaced daily.

Room Tip: rooms 122, 124, 126, 128 are the ebst as they are big with wide terrace overlooking the beaitiful se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
0.1 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.2 mi away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
372 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dawar El Omda
Dawar El Omda
#10 of 18 in El Gouna
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mosaique Hotel
Mosaique Hotel
#3 of 18 in El Gouna
458 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
758 reviews
1.1 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captain's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's Inn

Property: The Captain's Inn
Address: Abu Tig Marina, El Gouna, Hurghada 84513, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#9 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
#12 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Captain's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captain’s Inn is a small hotel perfectly situated in the beautiful Abu Tig Marina, the trendiest location in El Gouna on the Red Sea coast of Egypt. Directly overlooking the luxury yachts of the marina’s South Basin, it is in the heart of the action with stylish boutiques, laid-back cafes and lounges, gourmet restaurants, and nightlife hotspots on its doorstep. The lively Marina Street Festival with live music and shows is held weekly throughout the summer right in front of the hotel. Hotel guest have access to the swimming pools at at Ali pasha hotel; our sister hotel located two walking minutes away on the Marin strip, and to the Marina Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Captain's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Captain`s Hotel El Gouna
The Captains Hotel
Captains Hotel El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing