We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great vacation at a beautiful cozy hotel”
Review of The Captain's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Captain's Inn
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

It was my first stay in Abou Tig Marina and I'm very glad I chose Captain's Inn, Staff were so friendly made me feel welcome and were so helpful in everything I felt like home, They gave me free access to moods beach and that was reallly amazing. My room was clean and very comfortable and AC works well. Food was good with amazing view over the marina. The fact that hotel is in the heart of Marina is amazing it's near everything and has a beautiful charming views of Abou Tig Marina. It's good value for money and I enjoyed my stay at Captain's Inn and absolutely I would come again.

Room Tip: If you are staying on half board basics take advantage of the dinning around option. Dinning around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nissamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

I can't review the hotel as I haven't stayed there.

However I can review the restaurant as I have eaten there a few times over the years.

The location is probably one of the best in El Gouna. Right at the heart of the marina.
You can sit out nearly at the waters edge if it isn't too busy.

However the food is wonderful. I have tried different foods there but the Hot Plate Steak is to die for.
My favourite Steak.

Great place for a romantic meal.

See you soon

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank LordyBlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed for two nights, it was a great experience. The staff is really helpful and decent. The fact that the hotel gives you free access to Moods beach is really awesome.
I tried their massage and it was an ultimate relaxation. After all, I enjoyed my stay and it was worth it to stay in captain's inn for its great location too.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

For a first timer in EL-Gouna, this was a good experience starter for me, and the recommendation by the friend who organized the trip was right on the spot, as we were a large group, and some wanted the marina view and others didn’t bother for it (the marina view is obviously a little costlier but it is understandable)
Being at the head of the marina, it’s a central place for every where you want to go, and the upside is that it has beach privileges.
The front desk guy was helpful, as soon as we arrived he checked us in, he explained the breakfast timing and gave us the beach towel card and the entrance to the moods beach club card.
It’s a big hotel, although it doesn’t show from outside, so mind to know where your room is, though they are efficient for posting the room numbers direction all over the place so you won’t get lost. The breakfast time is admirably extended as it is from 7 to 11 AM, so you can get an early breakfast if you’re going out early or if you’re a late bloomer you can still catch it.
The breakfast is an open buffet, standard intercontinental and Egyptian, and you can have it either indoor or outside on the marina if you like the sun and having breakfast with a view.
The rooms are clean and spacious, for the money value they are quiet good, with a spacious bed (for the single that I had), and the bathroom comes with a pre-installed hair dryer although the bathtub (not quite a tub!!) is a small one.
The best thing is you can have a late checkout till 6:30 PM (normal check out is at 12:00 PM, but mind that you must tell them in advanced) with a small charge, as it would be considered as a day use, so you can still go to the beach till noon and have lunch before leaving Gouna.
All in all, an excellent hotel for all its value and I would recommend it whether you’re traveling as a couple or a group.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khaled_Kamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Decent hotel with great location.. food is ok, rooms are clean, not luxorious, staff are polite, marina view is great. Lots of resturants around.. 3 min walk from beach no pool but have shared pool with other nearby hotel

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank mohgomaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Nice and cozy hotel situated in an excellent location, bang in the middle of all the restaurants and bars in the Marina area, and a few meters away from the beach; it is also very reasonably priced, and hotel staff are very professional, responsive and fast. I would go back there any day.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

It has a perfect location where u can have breakfast and dinner on the marina.. the staff is very helpful and friendly.. i wish there was a long mirror in the room and the lighting was stornger yet it was very cozy and somehow relaxing

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marinamourad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
0.1 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.2 mi away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
410 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dawar El Omda
Dawar El Omda
#8 of 18 in El Gouna
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mosaique Hotel
Mosaique Hotel
#3 of 18 in El Gouna
481 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#6 of 18 in El Gouna
791 reviews
1.1 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captain's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's Inn

Address: Abu Tig Marina, El Gouna, Hurghada 84513, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in El Gouna
#3 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#4 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#6 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#9 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range: £20 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Captain's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captain’s Inn is a small hotel perfectly situated in the beautiful Abu Tig Marina, the trendiest location in El Gouna on the Red Sea coast of Egypt. Directly overlooking the luxury yachts of the marina’s South Basin, it is in the heart of the action with stylish boutiques, laid-back cafes and lounges, gourmet restaurants, and nightlife hot spots on its doorstep. Hotel guest have access to the swimming pools at at Ali pasha hotel; our sister hotel located two walking minutes away on the Marin strip, and to the Marina Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Captain's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Captain`s Hotel El Gouna
The Captains Hotel
Captains Hotel El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing