We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth time back in paradise !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fourth time back in paradise !!!”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This was our fourth visit to the Movenpick and it was like going home. All the staff were as usual fantastic and very happy and pleasant, nothing was too much trouble, it was nice to be welcomed back by them all. Our room was in Cluster 7 and right on the lagoon it was absolutely beautiful. Cannot find fault with the hotel in any department, fabulous attention to detail and everything was done to make our stay relaxing and wonderful. We once again stayed on a B&B basis and the breakfast was great. We had some fantastic meals in the marina. I must mention The Maritime, it is well worth a visit to see Sam, Ayman and Gameel who provide a wonderful service and the food is out of this world, the Sea Bass was the best I've ever tasted. We also had a fantastic meal at Pier 88 so please give this a try, Moods Bar also served us some wonderful fish and steak. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and we will be back as soon as we can. So if you are thinking of visiting the Movenpick in El Gouna do not hesitate, it is absolutely beautiful so go ahead and book!!!! The weather is amazing and the place is just pure heaven. Well done and thank you to all the staff we will be back to see you all again as soon as we can.

Room Tip: We have stayed in various Clusters, the modernised rooms are beautiful but I would recommend Cluster...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank annetteCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,019
    868
    253
    106
    65
See reviews for
1,127
1,249
166
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This hotel i fantastic except that It's too big. You have to like to walk and walk and walk to get to the reception and restaurant. We used about 7 minutes with fast walking each way. And we were eating in downtown every evening. We walked a lot. It's easy to walk the wrong way, not too many signs. Try to get a room in a cluster closer to the reception. Still you can be close to the beach. We stayed in cluster 7. The area is beautiful and you feel it's very few people there, even it's many. The rooms are fantastic. The big drawback in El Gouna is that it's no reef were we can snorkel from the beach. We have to go on a boat trip for a day to snorkel. A very good thing at this hotel is that it's so quiet. No music.
If you like snorkeling, go to Marsa Alam. That's the very best to snorkel in Egypt!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Helpful?
2 Thank Tabitha56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Booked a 2 week stay at the Moevenpick Resort El Gouna and really enjoyed our time! I had never been to Egypt before and was curious at the difference between their 5* resorts, in comparison with 5* resorts in the Caribbean that I'm familiar with. The Resort was beautiful - the gardens, the buildings, the restaurants were all lovely. We had the all-inclusive package and being there for 2 weeks we thought it was well worth the extra $, since we could eat/drink all day if we wanted to, with Movenpick ice cream included!! The food selection at the resort was great - the breakfast buffet had lots of selection as well as a different themed buffet dinner every night, with lots of great options. The Italian restaurant was also delicious, and enjoyed daily lunches at the restaurant by the pool. My favourite was the Thai restaurant! I couldn't believe all of this was all included!
Our room was in Cluster 3 in the renovated section and was beautiful with a big comfy bed and large bathroom. I also visited the spa on my last day and wished that I had gone there more often during my holiday! It is a beautiful spa with lots of different options and great service!
We went during the last 2 weeks of February, and it was quite chilly. It was very windy, which was great because we are kitesurfers. The fact that this Hotel has a kitesurfing centre right on the beach was great, we didn't have to go very far to kitesurf and could store all of our stuff right at the centre!
During this time of year, it is their low season so unfortunately there wasn't much going on in the town, we visited the town of El Gouna a couple of times but it was dead, and also a little too chilly to do anything at night anyways.
All in all, I really enjoyed the Movenpick El Gouna and would definitely go back! I think this hotel is great for a Kitesurfing Holiday, the hotel is beautiful and the food is great, we met lots of great people and had a really good time!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AdrienneRommel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPHotelEgypt, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Dear Adrienne
Thank you for your visit and your positive review. We are delighted to know, that you have enjoyed your first visit to Egypt in our hotel and that our facilities and services could bear comparison with 5* resorts in the Carribbean. We are pleased, that you have liked our All-Inclusive package. We do include 3 different poolside a la carte restaurants for lunch and for dinner the Thai and the Mediterranean restaurant aside the dinner buffet and last but not least – the famous and all favourite Moevenpick Ice Cream!
We thank you for your recommendation and hope to be able to welcome you back soon for another kiting & relaxation holiday in El Gouna.
Best regards, Brigitte Gobran, Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Great hotel in every aspect: rooms are spacious, gorgeous and very clean, hotel staff is very friendly and offer great service, the food is excellent and there is a lot to do, such as tennis, kitesurfing, biking, windsurfing and diving (a kite school and a diving school is located on the resort's beach). The resort is very well-kept with beautiful gardens and the private beaches are very nice. Even though it's a big resort, it all feels very personal and not as massive as some of the other (all-inclusive) resorts. I would definitely go back to this hotel and I would recommend it to everyone who is planning a holiday to El Gouna.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chantalboogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Against my better judgment, I ignored all the negative comments on TripAdvisor, and reserved in this hotel, hoping that the service would have changed by now. The spa rooms are nice rooms if u come to ignore the following:
- Dusty tables, furniture
- Very bad/old TV
- I am a 156 cm long person and found the bed too short
- Toilet are very old and very badly maintained
- Don’t even think about sleeping with the AC on, coz its
- The housekeeping conveniently forgets to clean the bedroom and bathroom floors
- The pillows are so high and mattress uncomfortable that on top of the neck ache, you get a very bad back ache. You wake up exhausted and end up not enjoying the holiday activities.
- When making your way to the breakfast area, you are greeted with the daily smell of sewage pumped in the resort.
- When you actually arrive to the breakfast and find the will to eat something, don’t go near the vegetable and bread. The green salads are actually not clean and the tomatoes and cucumber have gone bad. The bread is just flat out dry and stale.
- To top it all, the service is just plain simple bad.

Room Tip: Go for the expensive and renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank emahhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPHotelEgypt, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear Guest.
We thank you for your visit and regret to know, that we could not meet up to your expectations. We will look into your comments and take the necessary steps of improvement, wherever required. We thank you for your constructive criticism and hope to be able to welcome you back for another occasion. With best regards, Brigitte Gobran, Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Booked in advance with another couple to go spend 3 nights. We emailed them and got the honeymoon package, this included 3 nights dinner, cake, etc...
We arrived and the room was not what we asked for, we specifically asked for a sea view room and even paid extra for that, we go into the room and find only a partial view. We went back to the reception and after a looooong wait we finally get the room.
The service there is very bad, most of the staff are really unfriendly, and the food tasted bad and not fresh.
The service at the main restaurant was very slow, it took forever for the plates to be removed and the buffet had limited variety
We couldnt find the guest relation manager throughout our stay and finally the last night we found the manager and he apologized and said that we were supposed to have been given vouchers for our dinners. We asked for the cake and they said we had to ask for it a night before as its made by order, luckily we had one more night and asked for it then.
The last night we asked for the food to be brought to our rooms, the manager kindly agreed. The food was missing and when we called to ask for the missing item they told us the kitchen was closed.
Overall, I am glad this was not part of our real honeymoon, we would never stay there again as its not worth the money.
However, the facility itself is nice, they have 3 swimming pools, lagoons, etc..

Room Tip: The facility is very big, so if you have trouble walking long distance then stay closer to the recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPHotelEgypt, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Guest. We thank you for your visit and regret to know, that our services were not up to your expectations. Please accept our sinceres apologies for the inconveniences caused. We have taken note of your feedback and will take all the necessary steps to correct the shortcomings immediately. At the same time, we are pleased to know, that you have enjoyed our facilities, the pools and the location of the place.
With best regards, Brigitte Gobran, Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Thomas Cooks economy rooms are Cluster 8, with numbers begining 85. They seem to have been originaly villas with 4 rooms, two at the front and two at the back. The front door is communial, you enter and find yourself in an open space with four separate doors numbered 8520, 8521, 8522 and 8523. This is for the villa we were allocated, there are many more all with a communial outside area facing a lagoon, with steps down to it and a pedalo and canoe to use in the lagoon, should you fancy it, providing the other 3 families in your " villa" didnt get in them first this also applies to the two sunbeds and a couple of chairs on the shared terrace. As you can tell, I was very apprehensive as to who we would be sharing this space with but we ended up extreamly lucky and were moved after the first night as the hotel said it was overbooked. While we were there, for two weeks, it seemed there was work going on in the villas, they do need renovation but were clean if tired. We loved the Movenpick Resort, it took quite a few days to find our way around but it was a pleasure exploring the grounds which are very well kept and landscaped, should we return we would book a standard room. All the reviews written previous are true, its a lovely place. Enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bikerbabe0346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPHotelEgypt, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Guest. Thank you for your visit. We are delighted to know, that you have spend a lovely stay with us and we thank you for your detailed review. It is correct that the rooms in the Lagoon villas are not renovated and therefore sold at reduced price as ‘Economy rooms’. Although the resort grounds are extensive, every area has its pool, beach access, restaurant etc. Rooms in Cluster 8 have the pleasant Spa pool, beach, il limone restaurant as well as Angsana Spa in nearest vicinity. We hope to be able to welcome you back for another occasion. Yours sincerely, Brigitte Gobran, Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Gouna
1.0 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
18.5 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#42 of 222 in Hurghada
2,236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Golf Resort
0.8 mi away
Three Corners Rihana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna

Property: Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Address: Main Street | PO Box 72, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#3 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#3 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#6 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#6 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
#6 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mövenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna is nestled on a peninsula, with its own exclusive beachfront. It offers spectacular views of the Red Sea, the tranquil lagoons and the lush gardens. The ideal surroundings combined with the resort's extensive facilities all make for a perfect stay. The charming center of El Gouna with its picturesque architecture and numerous attractions is only a few minutes away and Hurghada International Airport can be reached in 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna Hotel El Gouna
Moevenpick Resort And Spa El Gouna
mövenpick El Gouna
Moevenpick Hotel El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing