We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to spend your leisure time !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
“Very nice place to spend your leisure time !”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This is the first time i would like to share my expeirience with a Hotel becasue this hotel i stayed in really placed me a very good impression.

It has very convinient room arrangement, as we are family, the hotel arranged two adjacent rooms. and the inside the room there is kattle for us to make hot water for baby to drink milk, there are plenti of power plug to charge all kinds of mobile phones, computer and ipad. there is a long table befind the bed, we can make milk, prepare some food. bery convinient.
every employee is very sincere and with hospitality.
the entertainment show was really nice.
the swimming pool is very nice.
the children play yard is very convinient, and it even with a light on during the night ! very thoughtful arrangement.
and Hotel pick up service is also nice.

Room Tip: choose the rooms along the beach and with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrystalCairo_Egypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice review, we are happy to know your stay has left you with such good impressions and that the rooms, facilities and the friendliness of our employees were all up to your expectations.
We hope to be able to welcome you back for a further visit to the Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna. With best regards, Amanda Soundy, Executive Office Secretary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,002
    866
    253
    106
    65
See reviews for
1,119
1,247
166
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toyama, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

El gouna is not a city but a town located before hurgada. The hotel was so good but not the best ever. Loved every thing yet snorkeling was not as I expected. Ideal for honeymooners, kite surfers and family.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hebaemam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPHotelEgypt, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 25 April 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers here on this platform. We are happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you left the hotel with a positive impression. We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon for another visit.
Your Moevenpick Resort El Gouna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week in April. Very clean, nice rooms. I enjoyed the food. Good variety. All staff very friendly. Main reason for going was for kitesurfing. Fantastic location, beautiful lagoons. The kitesurf set up is the best I've seen and the lads setting up your kit were fantastic - their attitude was that you were there to enjoy yourself and they were there to work. To get a five star the hotel would just need to improve the evening entertainment. This was just a token gesture. Would definitely go back as long as the kite school is there.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TAOS077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a short (four day) holiday, as part of our annual visit from the UK to Egypt. We were a family of 4. The flight from Cairo to Hurgada & the transport from the airport to the hotel were perfect.
The real trouble started 30 mins after we arrived, when we decided to hit the pool.
Unfortunately, the hotel that exists in Egypt, which has a population of vast mojority muslims, refused to let me & my sister to use the pool as were wearing full body swimming suits (actually they were scuba diving suits that I bought from Britain)!
The manager argument was: these are the rules of using the pool, you have to be in a "normal" swimming suit, unless you'ra a child who gets sun burnt easily, where you would be allowed to use a lycra top.
Despite all my arguments with the manager, quoting my rights, my personal freedom, the fact that the hotel's website (which we checked before we booked our holiday) never mentioned anything about those silly rules, which constitutes false advertising, she was adamant that we were not going to be aloowed to use the pool!
she used the same argument with a newly wed couple from Indonesia, coming for their honeymoon, where the bride again was not allowed to swim!

I go to Alton towers in the UK & I go to indoors swimming pools with my son & I am alowed to wear my ful bode swimming suit, yet this is not the case in that hotel, in El-Gouna.

We will never book a holiday there again & this is the stance of all my family & friends her ein the UK as well.
Businesses look after customers not after prejudices.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ingi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit, although we regret it was not up to your expectations. The Hotel swimming pool rules are clearly communicated on our website and advertised with every direct booking request in order to give proper information in advance. We thank you for your understanding.
With best regards, Amanda Soundy, Executive Office Secretary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We are a family of four (kids aged 7 and 5) and stayed here for 9 days in April 2013 – booked with holiday-designers.com. Rooms are lovely – spacious and comfortable, the resort itself is spacious too. The service throughout the hotel was excellent. All the staff were friendly and helpful - nothing is too much trouble – they can’t do enough to make sure you have a fabulous holiday. There is something for everyone here – activities if you want them, quiet areas if you don’t. Celine who runs the kids club (age 5+) was great – the kids love her, she is fantastic with the kids, organising some lovely activities and doesn’t take her eyes off them for a second, giving parents peace of mind !

We stayed half board with buffet breakfast and dinner in the main restaurant. Breakfast was great, with all the choices you would expect in a hotel of this quality including different varieties of hot, freshly baked breads. The evenings are themed on a fortnightly cycle – the chocolate night was a big hit with the children !! Overall, the food was very good. If I had any criticism I’d say the choice for vegetarians at dinner wasn’t great nor the variety of fish and some things could be better labelled. Having said that there was always plenty of salads and the dessert buffet was in a league of its own ! Lunch by the pool was reasonable and the Movenpick ice-cream popular !

Whatever ‘trouble’ there might be in Egypt there is none around here. All the staff work so hard to make sure you have a relaxing and enjoyable holiday – I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this hotel and hope to go back sometime !

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HertfordshireMumof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your excellent review. We are delighted to know you had an enjoyable stay in our Hotel and that room, services and facilities were up to your expectations. We are happy that you liked the food, especially the different varieties of freshly baked bread and that the Chocolate night was a success with the children. We appreciate your comments regarding the Vegetarian and Fish dishes and will take the appropriate action necessary to correct this.
Thank you for recommending our Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon for another visit at the Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna. Best regards, Amanda Soundy, Executive Office Secretary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I enjoyed staying in the hotel with great variety of activities, all staff are professional, smiling & helpful all the time, the room was marvelous and so clean, i was staying in a garden view room although i could easily see the lagoon and the sea, the brakfast was with great variety specially the diet section so i had no problem at all not gaining weight. i also enjoyed the hotel spa & specially the massage as i was luck enough to experiance the massage with a professional massager female, private beach made a big difference and overall the hotel is much perfect for someone needs to relax without annoyement. i do highly recomend this hotel & if i visited El Gouna again i will go to Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna

Room Tip: Claster 6 with garden view on the right row can easily see the sea too!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LamiaaAtef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive review. We are happy to know you had a lovely relaxing holiday enjoying the Spa and the great variety of activities offered inside our resort and that the room and views, the professional staff and the food was all up to your expectations.
Thank you for recommending our Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna. Best regards, Amanda Soundy, Executive Office Secretary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel for me was fabulous. The landscaped gardens are stunning, the pools are big, not crowded and clean. The beach, beautifully maintained. Staff, friendly but not in your face. Food - good. It saddens me to read other reviews where the experience wasn't as good, it's such a shame because our holiday was wonderful.

We stayed in cluster 5 in ground floor rooms. They were quiet and well appointed. My mother travelled with us and had recently had knee surgery. The ground floor rooms, close to the restaurants no lobby were requested and we wee not disappointed. Rooms were large, well maintained and clean. Housekeeping was prompt and friendly.

Breakfast was good, coffee hot and lots of choice. For you divers amongst us, some breakfast was available for you early birds wishing to catch the dive boats. Shops were good for the old english paper daily( if you really can't live without the mail).

Shuttle into town was very welcome or lots of choice for tuk tuks if you can't wait. ( there was a cost if I remember).

Kids loved the shady beach play area and the movenpick ice cream never let's me down! Yum

Great holiday, loved the hotel, loved El Gouna, highly recommend.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsTrippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your excellent review, we are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay and that the room you had requested in advance by email was according to your satisfaction. We are happy to know you enjoyed the food as well as the landscape gardens, the pools and beaches and the friendliness of our staff.
Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back for another visit to the Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna. Best regards, Amanda Soundy, Executive Office Secretary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Gouna
1.0 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
763 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#43 of 222 in Hurghada
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Golf Resort
0.8 mi away
Three Corners Rihana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna

Property: Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Address: Main Street | PO Box 72, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#3 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#3 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#6 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#6 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
#6 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mövenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna is nestled on a peninsula, with its own exclusive beachfront. It offers spectacular views of the Red Sea, the tranquil lagoons and the lush gardens. The ideal surroundings combined with the resort's extensive facilities all make for a perfect stay. The charming center of El Gouna with its picturesque architecture and numerous attractions is only a few minutes away and Hurghada International Airport can be reached in 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna Hotel El Gouna
Moevenpick Resort And Spa El Gouna
mövenpick El Gouna
Moevenpick Hotel El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing