We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow,Ten days not long enough.Egypts best kept secret.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow,Ten days not long enough.Egypts best kept secret.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Just got back on 6/7/13.Prior to travelling we contacted hotel and requested a ground floor room with a view and that's exactly what we got in Cluster 4 overlooking the gorgeous lagoon. The room was fantastic, spacious and clean and the shower room was luxurious with dressing gowns and toiletries supplied. We were a few minutes walk away from the reception and main buffet dining room and a couple of minutes away from the lagoon pool bar and beach ,perfect. Previous reviews moaned about the walk between locations within the hotel but really this is an absolute pleasure when its all on one level, the grounds and gardens are a delight and all the staff speak and wish you a good day. The dining options are very good and we especially liked the Thai restaurant. Not wearing an all inclusive wrist band meant we signed for each meal and drink but this was easy and anything written in green ink we found was not included on the all inclusive option.This was not a problem as the local beer was in cans and very good likewise the spirits. Even better the mixers were all well known brands such as Coca Cola and Schwepps. I could go into great detail about all the other great things about the hotel but the main reason for this review is for us to pay the ultimate compliment to the staff who made this holiday the best experience ever. Mr Tony Lockett, the manager of the food and beverage is from my area of the UK, and he definitely did us proud. He made his presence known at each restaurant and bar throughout the day and created a tremendous atmosphere with all of the staff who it was very apparent, respected him and liked him very much .As a result I have never known hotel staff be so competent and happy in their work. Special thanks to Tareks team, Michael, Magdy, Aymen, Nageh and Peter at the Lagoon bar for the endless supply of cocktails and superb lunches.They really did make our holiday a happy one. All the staff at the Thai restaurant but in particular Jack, Romany and Dani, their smiles and service certainly matched the excellent food. Last but not least Michel the manager in the buffet dining room and young Isaac who always made visiting the buffet a most enjoyable experience. It was due to the service we received that we felt no need to enjoy the dine around El Gouna options.We enjoyed visiting Downtown and the Marina and using the Tuk Tuk transport. It was very quiet but enough to see and do and there is at least one venue each night where there is live entertainment such as Jobos sports bar. We went on the dolphin and snorkelling trip booked from the hotel reception which cost 30 euros each for a full 8 hour day with food and drink and would strongly recommend it .The two resident camels providing rides for guests are brilliant fun. El Gouna is a truly wonderful resort and only matched by the staff of the Movenpick. I hope that the owners of the Movenpick realise what an excellent job Mr Lockett and his staff are doing and its the staff that made our time there so memorable. Many thanks and we look forward to staying with you all very soon.

Room Tip: Cluster 4 and 7 near to lagoon pool and bar, refurbished rooms. Cluster 3 near to oasis pool ideal f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nigel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,873
    816
    237
    98
    62
See reviews for
1,052
1,168
149
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

we stayed at this hotel between the 27th May till 3rd June 2013. The resort is absolutely fantastic. The staff are all very welcoming and helpful. The food and drink were all first class, my only slight moans are that we, along with other Brits, were on an 'All inclusive' break whereas most other guests were either half board or B&B, as a consequence we had to sign a cheque after every meal, most of the time we simply left the table, forgetting to sign and often heard the poor waiter chasing after us. It would be so much easier to give 'all inclusive' residents a wrist band. Also, there are numerous signs around the resort informing guests that there is a dress code at meal times, men must wear smart trousers, collared shirts and shoes. Having dressed accordingly every night, it really is annoying when you see vast numbers of guests dressed in T-shirts, beech shorts and 'flip flops', whether staff do not wish confrontation, I do not know, but my view is, rules are rules that should be implemented and offending guests should be turned away from the restaurants and asked to return when dressed as required.
Maybe that's me being a bit picky, and it in no way spoilt our stay and we will certainly be returning in the not to distant future, however it would be nice to see the restaurant staff be a little more assertive when it comes to dress codes.

Room Tip: rooms nearer to the main reception and restaurant are better located. Some rooms on the outskirts of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevethorogood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
We were delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay at our resort and hoping for a soon return. We have noted your comment about the implementation of the dress code policy and we, too are concerned by the attitude of quite a few of our guests, who simply ignore our polite requests. We are reviewing how we can implement in a proper way in the future.
All our team is looking forward to welcome you again and until then we are sending
Sunny greetings
Linda Osman
Public Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

I asked for this hotel and AI after on check in to Moevenpick in Hurghada it turned out it was overbooked - I never felt more lucky during check in :) As tour operator had no options my request was granted - thanks !! :)

Really not a lot to add on any positive review there already is on this hotel... very good stuff, GREAT and really - GREAT food, nice surroundings, beach is not Mediterranean but good enough, rooms are big, just a little bit outdated but nothing to spend words about. Could not comment if AI is worth the money as I got it as compensation but You will not get bored - there is "dine around" concept - you can change places where you it and have discount - for me it worked great.

You can not go wrong with this one and for sure I'll be back on next occasion.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VladaBgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comment, we were as well glad to welcome you at our resort and we are looking forward to your next visit here at our resort.
Sunny greetings
Linda Osman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medway
Level Contributor
252 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Mohamed Shihata would probably say he's got a job, and he's happy doing it.
While house "maid" may not be the key job at the hotel, without him there would be a lot of dissatisfied customers. Yet it is men (and a few women) like him that contribute to the overall image of the hotel on the banks of the Red Sea a few miles north of Hurghada. It is an excellent resort with swimming pools, leisure spas, sea lagoons, and - despite the intensity of the operation - plenty of peace and quiet within the grounds.
Mohamed takes a great pride in knowing his rooms are appreciated by the guests. Most chambers have been modernised since I last visited, The beds face the windows looking out on to the beaches. Balconies and terraces provide secluded areas for the guests.
The shower suite is massive. When our friends - staying for three weeks - had a problem Mohamed turned on the full Movenpick repair operation. The retaining marble at the foot of the glass screen had come loose. They left a note for the room to be cleaned - and could someone look at the marble panel. Then they went to breakfast.
When they returned an hour later, Mohamed was waiting to finish preparing the room while a glazier had ridden his bike across to the room to carry out the repair watched by the senior housekeeper. An hour after reporting the problem, it was rectified.
It was typical of the entire team at the hotel.
At breakfast the waiters have clearly defined tasks ranging from table setting to clearing away, ensuring cups of tea or coffee are always topped up, and any rubbish is picked up and removed immediately.
Youssef, Mahmoud and 'the studious tea boy' (a trainee on the chain's three year training programme) kept customers from a dozen different nations happy as they munched through cereals, breads, cakes, cooked dishes, salads, yoghurts, fruits, juices, milkshakes..... the list is endless, but they were happy to joke, entertain and ensure the guests had the holiday they paid for.
All had their own uniforms. Gardeners in the colourful grounds wore green, housekeeping staff red and gold, poolside attendants sported blue, and the waiters black and white.
Just one cautionary word: some of the staff drive electric carts to collect customers and to deliver luggage, and several of them give the impression they would aspire to the F1 circuits.

Room Tip: If you have a disability, advise the hotel: they will ensure you have an easy access room. Clusters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gl8246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Thank you very much for this very nice comment, the compliments were forwarded to the staff and we are looking forward to welcome you in the near future again.
Sunny greetings
Linda Osman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

First two week holiday in a number of years and we were a little wary of spending so much time in one place, however the experience was memorably good. Great food options, usual good to bland buffet (excellent staff) and very good breakfast (unless you need bacon and eggs), interesting Thai food restaurant, tasty seafood with a fabulous setting, plus an Italian, and a couple of lighter food options by the various swimming pools. The hotel is set on a vast complex and was only lightly populated during our stay, but was generally in good condition. Our room was on one fringe (cluster 8) and was not one of the renovated ones and showed some signs of age however the bed was big and comfortable, the bathroom functional and clean with a good shower, the A/C worked well and was not very loud and we had access from our patio window directly to the beach and sea.
Good health centre which offered excellent massage treatments, plus my wife used the beauty spa for similar and found that to be 5* also.
All in all hard to fault and would recommend to anyone (except those seeking major nightlife action, but they shouldn't go to el Gouna anyway)

Room Tip: We were in Cluster 8 which is on the north side, near the Italian and the Beauty spa. Best area for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Thank you very much for choosing our resort for your vacation, especially as it seems it was a well deserved and long waiting vacation.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again soon.
Sunny greetings
Linda Osman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We were here for 2 weeks at the end of May. It's our third time at the hotel and it's as good as ever. Staff are friendly and helpful with the exception of the reception staff. Food is generally good with the Thai restaurant being outstanding. Only disappointment was the Italian a la carte with the crass efforts to sell overpriced imported wines bordering on the farcical.
Our 6 year old enjoyed the childrens disco each evening and Celine and Tito from the animation team were both so personable and professional.
If you book with First Choice please be aware that their service and support at the hotel is lacking in the extreme but this is not the hotels's fault.

Room Tip: We like block 7 near the Lagoon pool. Lovely and quiet perfect if you don't mind a 5 minute walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Issysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Thank you for your visit at our resort and thank you for taking the time to review the vacation here. We regret that the service provided at out Front desk and Italian restaurant was not up to your expectations and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this might have caused. We will investigate the matter and take corrective action wherever needed.
Still we hope to welcome you back in the future in our resort.
Sunny greetings
Linda Osman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonsh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two weeks and really enjoyed it. Our group aged from 7-60 so you can see this had to make a lot of people happy at different ages, and it did. To start with our room was amazing, the cleaner was fantastic, the bar staff in the swim up pools were very friendly and helpful. The staff in the restraurants was very helpful and so friendly. During the day the animation team went out of the their way to be friendly and always had a smile on there faces, the water volley ball & water polo was such fun our teenage children loved it, also my 40+husband played every day and he enjoyed getting involved. The Al a carte Thai was out of this world and the Italian was very good. The main buffet was not good it does not cater for the plain eating English person, same food every morning and tea time was boring and tasteless. The galley bar is great and the bar man is vey nice and friendly. The evening entertainment was repetitive and dull, but the animation team did an evening walking on glass and nails etc and that was very good, also an African dance group came and they were top class a must see act. Overall we would recommend this hotel, get involved with the animation team, and use the Al a cartes and soak up the sun.

Room Tip: Cluster 1 is basic and not been refurbished, cluster 3 is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Gouna
1.0 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna

Property: Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Address: Main Street | PO Box 72, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#2 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#2 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#5 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#5 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#6 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mövenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna is nestled on a peninsula, with its own exclusive beachfront. It offers spectacular views of the Red Sea, the tranquil lagoons and the lush gardens. The ideal surroundings combined with the resort's extensive facilities all make for a perfect stay. The charming center of El Gouna with its picturesque architecture and numerous attractions is only a few minutes away and Hurghada International Airport can be reached in 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort And Spa El Gouna
Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna Hotel El Gouna
mövenpick El Gouna
Moevenpick Hotel El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing