We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mega fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mega fun”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Mega fun animation team is the best one I've ever seen they were so cool and creative :))
They helped us in almost everything to make us happy :D
and kids club is very good and pro they really enjoyed it :D

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are delighted to know our Animation Team made your holiday so enjoyable, they are a great asset to the Hotel. Rest assured your compliments have been forwarded to them as a sign of your appreciation.
Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back for another visit in the future.
Best regards, Amanda Soundy, Executive Office Secretary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,949
    852
    248
    101
    66
See reviews for
1,093
1,225
160
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We have just returned from one week's stay here from 12th-19th August and we are two adults and two children - aged 10 and 13.

We booked here primarily for my husband's scuba diving.

We booked through Holiday Designers and would definitely do so again....faultless service and thoroughly recommend. We were met at Hurghada Airport by our representative, Mustafa, who saw us through all the controls, took care of our luggage for us and travelled with us in our own private mini bus, giving us all the local info. He then checked us in and took care of our luggage at the hotel. We were made to feel very welcome by Mustafa.

We felt it was quite sad that the road from the airport to El Gouna is littered all along with piles of rubbish, rubble and debris which was slightly off putting and doesn't really do the Red Sea resorts any justice giving quite a poor first impression.

On arriving at the hotel, we found the reception area and the view from the reception to be very nice and well maintained, particularly the gardens to the rear of the reception, but the frontage was a bit disappointing. Check-in went smoothly, except the member of hotel staff didn't realise we were all-inclusive, but this was soon resolved.

We were taken to our room in Cluster 7 on a golf buggy, which was great as the one notable thing about our arrival in Egypt was how HOT it is....phew!!

We had booked two interconnecting Deluxe rooms and the hotel honoured this and also gave us a top floor room which was great as I'm never very keen on having guests above me, potentially shifting furniture around at all hours!! Don't know why this happens, but it does. Anyway, although our room was quite a trek from the main reception area, we liked the location. Our room nos. were 7320 and 7321.

The Positives:
Our room had a fabulously large and comfy double bed with great pillows.
Plenty of storage in the room (which is often not the case).
Lots of power points (also often not the case).
Our daughters' room was exactly the same except for two single beds instead of a double.
The view from our balcony was very nice having the best of both worlds....a good view of the sea and a perfect view of the Lagoon Pool and the lagoon itself.
To the right of us, you could see the mountains in the distance. No complaints there!!
The air con was a God send, but a bit erratic in our daughters' room, although this was resolved quickly once we reported it.
The food in all the restaurants was very good, particularly El Sayadin...great service in there too.
Pools were good and plenty of sunbeds to be had at any time of day.
The bathroom was very spacious and both rooms were very clean.
I also liked the Egyptian touches of the copper topped tables. The patio furniture was very comfy.
Dive Centre very helpful with great enthusiastic staff.
Kite People also very helpful.
The mini bar was well stocked, although one negative here: no wine!!
Good TV and lots of channels to choose from.
The two men who offer camel rides are very friendly and polite.

The Negatives:
No wine in minibar!
The bath with shower over is tiny and very tired...needs removing and replacing with a walk-in shower, which other guests we spoke to (staying in Clusters 4 and 6) all had!
The step from the bathroom floor into the bath for the shower was big and treacherous when wet.
Lack of shade on top floor balconies.
Food in buffet restaurant good, but atmosphere was extremely chaotic and we felt priority, in most places around the hotel in fact, was given to fellow Egyptians.
Shorter, half-day dive trips would be good.
Barman at Lagoon bar very moody.
Milk for tea/coffee making in room would be nice.
The beach is a bit stoney at the water's edge so have to negotiate them to enter the sea, but otherwise good.

Due to troubles in Cairo at the time of our stay, we were advised not to go on any excursions so we're unable to comment on these. The only impact the troubles had on our hotel was that it ran out of Movenpick ice cream towards the end as deliveries were unable to get through road blocks in Cairo. Other than that, there was no sign of any unrest at all. Some people were disgruntled at the lack of ice cream, but in the grand scheme of things and bearing in mind people were dying only 300 miles away, we did not have a problem with this at all.

I think that's it. All in all, a good holiday, but to sum up, I would rate this hotel as a 4* and definitely not a 5*.

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms 7320 and 7321...tired bathroom, but great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maisy245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the various different comments. We always appreciate constructive comments as it helps us meet the ever increasing expectations of our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon in the not too distant future.
Best regards, Amanda Soundy, Executive Office Secretary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We traveled as a couple, and it seems that this hotel is primarily for families with children. The rooms a very good, but the rest is not a 4+ star. The service, the pools, the surroundings and the beach are only 3+ star.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are sufficient. large, large bathroom, new and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We regret to know that your stay was not up to expectations and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have taken note of your constructive comments and will take the necessary steps to correct any shortcomings in the future.
With best regards, Amanda Soundy, Executive Office Secretary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

What can I say, this is the best hotel I have ever stayed in and also the best location for complete relaxation. I e-mailed prior to travelling and asked for a quiet room, with a walk away from reception and a top floor, I got both, we were put into cluster 5.
The room was spacious with everything you need including so much drawer space, even with 3 of us in the room.
Towels changed daily and a chap came round early evening offering more clean towels and the curtains were closed and the bed turned down.
The view from the large balcony was beautiful, looking straight onto the oasis lagoon area, where we sunbathed regularly.
Also by the Lagoon infinity pool was marvellous looking across to privately owned villas and boats going by. True, you can't swim in the sea for a considerable distance, but who cares as the lagoons are very deep and brilliant for swimming in.
The breakfast is plentiful and I can't think of anything more they could have added, it covers all tastes from continental to English (obviously no bacon or proper sausages, but sausages non the less). We sat outside and coffee and tea was asked to be filled every 5 mins or so.
We were B&B, as we knew how considerable the choice was for eating each evening in Downtown or Abu Tig marina. We walked each night to Downtown (10 mins)and got a tuc tuc to the Marina.
The only down side was having to go all the way to Downtown to have regular supplies of water and snacks and the lack of Wi-Fi unless you paid £60 a week, needless to say our daughter had to go to bars with free Wi-Fi for the entire 2 weeks.
When we first went to Downtown it was quite freaky as we were the only people wondering around and my daughter said she expected tumble weed to blow past any moment. The restaurants were empty except Athena Greek which is where we went. The next night was similar and the next we went to the Marina which was also the same. After that though the place seemed to liven up and more people were in the restaurants and bars. People I find are like sheep, ourselves included, in that, if no one else was in a restaurant, we looked for one with more people, but this restricts you and so we started going into empty ones and the food was marvellous, so this has no reflection on the quality of the food, just that some places seem to attract people.
All the people are very friendly, you feel completely safe everywhere and the food is so cheap.
Temperatures were high as to be expected for end of July beginning of August. We could not go to Luxor because of the troubles,but,as it is apparently +5 degrees hotter than El Gouna maybe this is a winter trip instead.
Where else could possibly match up to all this?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for reviewing our Hotel and we are delighted to know that you have spent a lovely time in our Hotel and that you've enjoyed the relaxing and safe atmosphere of El Gouna. It is a pleasure to read that we were able to honor your e-mail room requests before your arrival and that our services and facilities were up to your expectations, even more happy to read that this is the best Hotel you have ever stayed in, this is really a genuine vote of confidence for us.
We hope to be able to welcome you back for a future visit.
With best regards, Amanda Soundy, Executive Office Secretary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed end of September it was so quiet we loved it. We went bed and breakfast which I will recommend and then use the shuttle bus to travel to downtown and the marina. We loved the place it's fantastic we certainly shall go back again. A amazing.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheardypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted to know you had a fantastic, amazing stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for another occasion in the not to distant future.
With best regards, Amanda Soundy, Executive Office Secretary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Loved this hotel. The scenery is breath taking. Staff is very friendly and willing to help. Our reception was however unorganized and lacking 5 star professionalism. Yet I was willing to overlook that towards the end of my trip because everything else about this hotel was positive. The food is good. Our plan was on half board basis. Dinner certainly had a large variety of food to offer, pleasing all tastes.

Go for the renovated rooms. They are REALLY nice. Clean and spacious with a balcony overlooking the sea. You have your bed and seating area, then there's sort of a walk-in-closet/dresser/changing area/bathroom. I found it to be quite practical. Clusters 1, 2 and 3 are closest to the beach. But furthest from the reception and main restaurant. Be prepared for a bit of walking. It is a large hotel area. But mostly flat.

The pools are ordinary. Nothing special there. But I personally care only for the sea, which is gorgeous. Do know though if you're planning on swimming in the sea you'll have to do a bit of walking into the sea before it gets deep enough to swim. It's nearly a kilometer from the shore into the sea before you're knee deep! It does make for a gorgeous scene and relaxing setting though.

For those interested in Scuba Diving, Emperor Divers centre is located at the south end of the hotel. Boat diving is offered for a reasonable price. The dive sites are beautiful. You won't be disappointed. No shore diving obviously because of the mentioned above.

All in all it's a great hotel. I'd stay there again. Be advised though there is no free WiFi anywhere on the premises. You need to pay to get WiFi. That is something i think they should work on! Oh and power outage is apparently a normal thing and is to be expected on a daily basis!

Room Tip: Renovated rooms are spacious and pretty. Clusters 1,2 and 3 are closest to the beach. But furthest f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to know that you had a great holiday experience and our staff, service and facilities were all up to your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna.
With best regards, Amanda Soundy, Executive Office Secretary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This is one of the best hotels ever , you will enjoy every moment of staying there, from the the moment you wake up in the morning , food is very good , nice animation team are there, and also the after dinner shows are amazing, the only weak point in the hotel is the Sea you can take about 15 min. walking in the water till you fill your body with water
but over all it was a very amazing expierince staying in Movenpick Resort el Gouna

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beshoy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your excellent review. It is a real pleasure to read that you rate us as being one of the best Hotels ever. We hope to be able to welcome you back very soon to our "Little Venice on the Red Sea".
With best regards, Amanda Soundy, Executive Office Secretary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Gouna
1.0 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Golf Resort
18.1 mi away
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna

Property: Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Address: Main Street | PO Box 72, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#3 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#3 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#6 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#6 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#6 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mövenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna is nestled on a peninsula, with its own exclusive beachfront. It offers spectacular views of the Red Sea, the tranquil lagoons and the lush gardens. The ideal surroundings combined with the resort's extensive facilities all make for a perfect stay. The charming center of El Gouna with its picturesque architecture and numerous attractions is only a few minutes away and Hurghada International Airport can be reached in 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna Hotel El Gouna
Moevenpick Resort And Spa El Gouna
mövenpick El Gouna
Moevenpick Hotel El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing