We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This was our 2nd stay at Moevenpick El gouna is a truly amazing luxury hotel. All the staff are so friendly and welcoming.The room was very clean and was a very high standard with beautiful pool and sea view. All the restaurants are amazing the quality of the food is very high and presented beautifully. All of which were excellent service. Mr. Khalid, Heisham, Ms. Mayada and there team are so friendly and professional. I just want to mention one more person from room service order taker girl Lazika was simply great.
Room Tip: I think all the rooms will be pretty amazing, but we got room # 5301 sea view which I would recommend.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Kannan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPHotelEgypt, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers here on this platform. We are happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you left the hotel with a positive impression. We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon for another visit.
Your Moevenpick Resort El Gouna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,489)
There are newer reviews for Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,308 - 1,314 of 3,492 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

Could not find fault - except they booked in a school group of teenagers in our block which caused a few headaches and one partial sleepless night. A good shout soon stopped the noise!

Food excellent, staff exemplary - a real all inclusive heaven.

If you go via Thompson drop any idea of the trip to Hurghada and make sure everything you need on the trips is included, they tend to forget items which you get financially hit for on the trip.

All the other hotels in the area offer no comparison on food, service - so do not bother trying an alternative meal.

Room Tip: Try to avoid ground floor
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPHotelEgypt, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers here on this platform. We are happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you left the hotel with a positive impression. We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon for another visit.
Your Moevenpick Resort El Gouna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

We have been con in here since 2005, sometimes twice a year and are always looking forward to returning.
The staff are fantastic, an absolute credit to the hotel. The breakfast is superb and the room cleaners great.
The one thing that is quite annoying is that you have to go downtown for free wifi, a 5 star hotel should provide this at least in the public areas.
It was very quiet this year, nice for us but hopefully for the whole of El Gouna things will pick up soon. We will definitely be back next year hopefully we will pick a better time for the weather.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Why1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda O, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your really nice comment, it was our pleasure to welcome you again in your second home and we can't wait to see you again

Sunny greetings
Linda Osman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The Movenpick Hotel has such lovely scenery; there are three different pool areas to choose from, lots of lagoons, beach, and colourful flowers. The staff are so attentive, you can really feel that it's a 5 star hotel. Our bedroom was superb, it had a luxurious modern boutique style, very spacious bathroom, extremely comfortable bed, and view of the sea.

There were two highlights for me. One was that I could pay for a camel ride on the hotel grounds every day. I rode one of the two camels (Didi and especially Dodo) almost everyday at lunchtime - it was such a novelty and so relaxing, and a lovely way to take in the gorgeous views. The man who led the camels (Sashad) was so kind, and I really miss my daily camel ride now that I am back home in England :(

The other highlight was having Arabic lessons. The Animation Team (Khaled and Adham) gave me and my boyfriend two formal Arabic lessons at The Lagoon pool bar (at our request), and we learnt a range of greetings, how to order drinks, and count to ten. Staff (Ayman) at the Lagoon pool bar encouraged and supported us to practice our Arabic when ordering drinks from the bar, which was great fun.

The only disappointment was that there is no opportunity to snorkel at the hotel, because the lagoons are man made, and the beach is more suited to windsurfers. We absolutely love to snorkel, and we found ourselves missing the hotel we went to last year, which had an easy to access jetty on a private beach, with outstanding snorkelling. Movenpick does have it's own dive centre on site, and you can book snorkelling excursions - but the snorkelling won't be on your doorstep, like it is at some other hotels. But there is an extremely long jetty on Zeytouna Beach, kind of next door to the hotel, which you can walk to in ten minutes.

Another positive - this is the first time I have come to Egypt and not had any stomach trouble. The main buffet restaurant (Palavrion) has an amazing range of food, comfortable seating, and all the staff in there are very attentive. We were happy that one of the waiters in particular (Mahmoud) really looked after us and chatted to us every day at breakfast and dinner. And all the staff at the Lagoon pool restaurant (including Ayman, Michael and Ahmed) were very nice and made the best hot chocolate! There is a spacious bar next door to the buffet restaurant, for the evenings, and the bar staff are attentive too (Tarny served us some cakes with our hot chocolates one late afternoon in The Gallery Bar, which was a lovely touch). All the staff at the hotel made us feel extremely welcome.

Unfortunately, there was a harsh winter wind when we went in December, so we couldn't sunbathe. But the Animation Team (Olga, Khaled, Adham) helped to make our stay fun (but were never pushy at all). We did water aerobics one day, two Arabic lessons, Adham took us on a worthwhile bicycle tour of El Gouna, we played darts, pool, badminton. And they took us to the very classy Abu Tig Marina one night, to a small club playing house music. If we came again, we would venture out to the marina for a few nights, because the restaurants and clubs seem very nice, and you can get a tuktuk or taxi back to the hotel, it's only 5 minutes away and for very little money (about £1 / £1.50). And I had a fantastic massage at the health club hotel.

We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room, lovely to wake up, pull the curtains back and sea the sea.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank softpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda O, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your nice comment, it was our pleasure to welcome you in our resort and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
A special thanks to all the compliments especially to the staff, we forwarded them to all and they were very happy, that their provided service is acknowledged.
We hope we will be able to welcome you very soon again and sending you
sunny greetings

Linda Osman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

If you have ever seen Strictly Come Dancing in the UK, you will know the host, Sir Bruce Forsyth, tells almost every couple they are his favourite. So, you are left none the wiser. This hotel really is our favourite, from numerous hotels visited all across the Red Sea. We have just returned from our third trip to the Movenpick, El Gouna, and it is as good as ever. It's unusual for us to return anywhere. However, we we drawn here - it is a great place to simply relax and chill. It's also in a very pretty location. The food is fantastic - we love the Thai and the Italian, though the buffet restaurant is just great and then there is the excellent seafood restaurant for special occasions. We also like diving. Although there are better locations on the Red Sea to snorkel direct from a beach, the boat trips for diving and snorkelling make up for it. In fact, one of our best ever dives was on a trip from here, playing with a large pod of dolphins. Final things of note: the staff are excellent, the refurbished rooms spacious and comfortable and the All Inclusive great value. You can't go wrong!

Stephen & Michelle, Manchester, England.

Room Tip: We simply wrote to the hotel and asked for a quiet room, upper floor and they obliged.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nothing2lose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda O, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your really nice comment, it was or pleasure to welcome you in you second home and we are already looking forward to make your fourth visit as enjoyable as the first three.
We appreciate your kind words about the staff and thank you for the realistic opinion and sending you some
Sunny greetings until the next visit

Linda Osman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Just returned from two weeks at the Moevenpick. A real five star holiday. We were worried about visiting Egypt, because of all the media bad news , about problems in Cairo/Alexandria/ Suez.--.All of which are hundreds of miles away from El Gouna. Hurghada Airport was very calm, our luggage arrived very quickley, our 45 mins road journey to El Gouna was relaxed and our welcome at the hotel superb. The room we had was very well fitted out, spacious , excellent shower/ toilet. Good wardrobes, tea/coffee making facilities.With a small garden outside and overlooking the golf course. The walkways between rooms/ other facilities are all open, very comfortable, very pleasant. We could use any of the four swimming pools or the long beach or the beach areas around the lagoon for sunbathing, all with good sunbeds/ sunshades with plenty of room for privacy. No need to reserve a sunbed. Food is provided at numerous very good outlets, all to a very high standard. We were at bit dissapointed with room service as two meals we had were not very hot, but still good. Staff throughout the hotel are polite, always say "hello" or "welcome". We particularly must mention our thanks to Mr Michel, one of the managers of the Palavrion Restaurant , who made us very welcome, and made sure each day that we enjoyed our breakfast. He really did go "the extra mile" . Thanks also to Mayada in Customer Relations, who was very fast in replying to e-mails sent prior to our arrival at the hotel, and who ensured that requests we made were met. Thanks again to Housekeeping Mr M Salah and of course to our room attendant Monatsre, who kept our room spotless. The great advantage that the Moevenpick has, is that it is not surrounded by lots of other high rise hotels. You have a feeling of total peace and quiet and spaciousness. It is an easy walk into El Gouna downtown, which is well provided with restaurants, bars, small shops, chemist. All of which cater for Europeans. In fact a large number of restaurants are owned and run by Italians. So if you want a change from eating in the hotel you will find a good Italian meal with some decent local wines very close.-- A taxi ride away ( or shuttle bus) is Abu Tig Marina with lots of very expensive boats moored, and again with lots of shops and restaurants and bars. There are no problems walking out at night.All the "locals" are axious to assure you that you are welcome. And of course lots of warm winter sunshine and wonderful sunsets. We are booking to go back in March 2014.---David.E--London

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda O, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear David,

thank you very much for your nice comment, it was our pleasure to welcome you again in our resort.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for your kind words especially about the staff, which got forwarded to them as this is the best motivation, knowing that their efforts are getting acknowledged.
We appreciate as well mentioning the general situation here in El Gouna and on the Red Sea as many people back in Europe are still afraid.
We are looking forward to see you in March and sending you over the winter time
Sunny greetings

Linda Osman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The hotel was excellent, the animation team at the hotel made our stay so fun. There is some walking if your rooms are close to the lobby. Some of the rooms need to be renovated. The breakfast and dinner was amazing every night.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda O, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Tanimal,

thank you for your comment, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us especially because of the animation team.
We are looking forward to see you and your friends again in the future.

Best regards
Linda Osman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Gouna
1.0 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
18.5 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#45 of 222 in Hurghada
2,310 reviews
0.9 mi away
Three Corners Rihana Inn
Three Corners Rihana Inn
#18 of 18 in El Gouna
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
0.3 mi away
Panorama Bungalows Resort El Gouna
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna

Address: Main Street | PO Box 72, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#2 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#3 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#3 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#4 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#6 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range: £71 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mövenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna is nestled on a peninsula, with its own exclusive beachfront. It offers spectacular views of the Red Sea, the tranquil lagoons and the lush gardens. The ideal surroundings combined with the resort's extensive facilities all make for a perfect stay. The charming center of El Gouna with its picturesque architecture and numerous attractions is only a few minutes away and Hurghada International Airport can be reached in 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna Hotel El Gouna
Moevenpick Resort And Spa El Gouna
mövenpick El Gouna
Moevenpick Hotel El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing