We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were worried about staying here following some of the recent reviews by Thomson travellers. We had an excellent holiday. Lovely clean room. We were in cluster 1 that hasn't been upgraded (all Thomson travellers are allocated an economy room which has not been renovated unless they pay for an upgrade). We had direct sea views, a nice balcony & a HUGE bed.
We were all inclusive so only went to the buffet on the first night. If you stay 1/2 board you get the buffet every night, if you stay all inclusive you can eat in the al a carte restaurants which we did. The Thai & Mediterranean were both excellent with a great variety on the menu. The Mediterranean also did lunch. We booked but you didn't need to, there was always room. Breakfast was buffet which was excellent with everything from an omelette station to a full cooked breakfast (except bacon) or continental. There were sunbeds in all areas every day; by the pool & on the beach. There are two huge pools (oasis & lagoon) both offer a lunchtime menu which we thought were good. There is also a health spa & pool with a gym. For us the time of year was excellent weather wise (early April), nice temperatures during the day & cools right down in the evening. Staff were excellent, always friendly. Evening entertainment was typical, not something we were in to & preferred eating later and then going to the gallery bar. This is our second visit to El Gouna & first to this hotel. We would definitely return; it offered everything we needed. I can't write a review and not mention the Movenpick ice cream. The flavours are to die for & it's available from 10am-5pm & in the al a carte restaurants. My favourite was Swiss chocolate but found after a few days I had to limit myself otherwise I wouldn't fit in to my clothes!

Room Tip: I emailed the hotel prior to my visit & I think this helped with the allocation of the room. I a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TracyWright1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda O, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Tracy,

thank you very much for your review, we were glad to welcome you at our resort and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for the real detailed answer and the many compliments, which got forwarded to the staff and their managers.
We hope, we will be able to welcome you in the near future again and sending you
Sunny greetings

Linda Osman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,873
    816
    237
    98
    62
See reviews for
1,052
1,168
149
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in April 2014 and enjoyed our stay considerably.We are in the over55 age group. Our tariff was bed and breakfast and this turned out to be to our advantage as it gave us the chance to try both hotel food and local restaurants in el gouna . The hotel is on a large site with many varied facilities to suit most age groups. Divers and kite surfers would particularly enjoy the facilities. It is quite a walk around the site - we were in cluster7 the furthest from the breakfast facilities and reception- 10 mins steady walk.20 minutes to the italian restuarant ! However our room was of good quality with a great bed and spacious bathroom positioned very close to the lagoon pool which we enjoyed considerably. Service was excellent and we felt very valued. We used the spa which was of high standard. Breakfast was rather repetitive but enjoyable in terms of a continental style. The large dining area could be hectic and rather noisy at times. The shuttle bus to downtown el guana was excellent value at £2 per week!! We regularly used the lagoon bar for lunch . The menu was a little limited but was well cooked and perfectly acceptable in terms of price and quality. The grounds of the hotel were beautiful and very well kept. Entertainment in the evening was very limited and to be honest a little disappointing. There were a mixture of people from all over Europe and Egypt staying at the hotel. There are 3 pools each with their own character which helped us choose our favourite. To be honest the area is not full of excursion opportunities but if you are a diver kite surfer or just want to chill out the opportunities are here. The hotel is graded as 5* but we felt that grading linked to range of facility rather than luxury. The lack of a lounge away from reception and the lack of a comfortable bar were also a little disappointing and limiting - especially in the evening. We used room service and the food was great and very good value. We had brought Egyptian currency with us but in the hotel we put most things on account and it very accurate at the point of payment.
Overall a very enjoyable stay with temperates at 34 degrees - ideal weather in April and October/November we were given to understand!! We would return.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 2hammers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda O, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your review, we were glad to welcome you at our resort and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We really hope we will be able to welcome you back in October/November, to check yourself the weather conditions at this time.

Sunny greetings
Linda Osman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Can not believe Thompson holidays rate this as 5 star ...arrived no rep??? Room was disgusting with blood on sheets ..it was disgusting. ...we had to pay for upgrade to a room that was habitable for the following two weeks.....all rep could say when he turned up next day is yes Thompson know we have had this problem since oct last year :0...Thompson pulling out :0 ..so why did Thompson agent tell me it is fantastic 5*
Upset and angry complaint at the ready ..
We had to change room 3 times as also had major waterfall of sewage bust in our room and electrics blew :0 ever tried packing quick in pitch black ...the smell was beyond urghhh...by the way I am disabled limited mobility and we were placed good 15 minutes walk from restaurant as movenpick is massive resort..on a good note staff on the whole nice and polite made up for burnt or under cooked food??

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bonosbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda O, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment, it was our pleasure to welcome you at our resort, but we are very concerned about your comments concerning the food and cleanliness of the room.
I would have been glad to meet you during your stay, maybe we would have been able to change or discuss certain points, such as the long ways. Your original room as booked close to all amenities. We are really sorry, that you could not enjoy your vacation as expected and hope we will have a change to welcome you back in the future in order to make up the faults.
Best regards

Linda Osman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Just returned home after our 8th stay at the Moevenpick in El Gouna such a restfull place if you want it ! no fighting for sunbeds plenty for all, you have the main beach, the lagoon area or 3 pools to choose from we have travelled the world but we always get drawn back to El Gouna staff are so friendly, rooms spotless towels changed twice daily and best of all very trustworthy staff I left safe open and jewellery out still in same place on return to room all in all a very well run hotel and we will be returning next year.

Room Tip: had a ground floor room with patio and lagoon view in cluster 5 have tried most rooms in cluster 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda / Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda O, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your nice comment, we were glad to welcome you at our resort and we are delight to know, that you enjoyed another vacation at your 2nd home.
The compliments have been forwarded and the entire team of Moevenpick El Gouna is waiting for the 9th visit soon.

Sunny greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Very enjoyable, unfortunately brief (three night) stay. The hotel and staff met and exceeded every expectation. Although a large resort, there is plenty of room to find your own space for relaxation or otherwise. The main buffet restaurant was excellent with a vast array to choose from and the Thai restaurant was fantastic!! Excellent spot for all you kite surfers out there however windsurfing equipment was poor and the latter, we felt, a little overpriced. Please note that the watersports were run independently from the hotel. Easy (and cheap) to get into Downtown El Gouna and El Gouna Marina where there is a choice of restaurants, bars and shops.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda O, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Jan,

thank you very much for your comment, we were glad to welcome you at our resort and even more delighted, that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope your next visit will be a bit longer and looking forward to meet you again soon.
Sunny greetings

Linda Osman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

The staff were all amazing helpful a wonderful smile extremely pleasant,Children entertainment,
The kids loved the heated pool. Lots of restaurants and very close to downtown The resort is more than perfect,The room sea view was amazing and the beach is very clean and good for swimming
and The animation team was awesome very funny (mega fun) and one called Adam was funny , helpful
Good breakfast with helpful waiters
El gouna is a fabulous place that worth visiting must go to Moevenpick should be your first choice

Room Tip: choose sea view was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sh-yehia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda O, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment, it was our pleasure to welcome you i our resort, and we are delighted to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.
we are looking forward to meet you soon again and sending you until then
Sunny greetings

Linda Osman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

large sized ants even in bed, kids woke up next day with ant bites and red rash, the hotel is really lovely, the pools and beach just amazing. had it not been the ants problem it would score a five star

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmed O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda O, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Mr. Ahmed,

Thank you for your comment, we are very sorry, that you had to face some ants in the room, Normally, if there is no food left around the room the ants are not entering the rooms and we are having a Pest control company touring the resort twice daily to minimize the attacks as much as possible.
Please feel free to send me and let me know which area of the hotel you were staying in, to recheck the situation there.
We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you again in our resort and show you, that your unfortunate experience is not our standard.
Best regards

Linda Osman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Gouna
1.0 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna

Property: Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Address: Main Street | PO Box 72, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#2 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#2 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#5 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#5 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#6 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mövenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna is nestled on a peninsula, with its own exclusive beachfront. It offers spectacular views of the Red Sea, the tranquil lagoons and the lush gardens. The ideal surroundings combined with the resort's extensive facilities all make for a perfect stay. The charming center of El Gouna with its picturesque architecture and numerous attractions is only a few minutes away and Hurghada International Airport can be reached in 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct and Hotels.com so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort And Spa El Gouna
Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna Hotel El Gouna
mövenpick El Gouna
Moevenpick Hotel El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing