We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great vacation and a special thanks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Hello i'm zeyad, i had a lot of fun in this hotel everything is good and clean and every body is so friendly i highly recommend this hotel for you people and i should thank the MEGA FUN team for there very good effort for making people happy i really thank you Khaled, Natalie, Adham and the others :D

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigitte G, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2015

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for rating our hotel based on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.
Your Mövenpick Resort El Gouna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,263 - 1,269 of 3,561 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

Me and my boyfriend and our two friends stayed here on the 16th may-23rd may this hotel is a 10/10 for everything the staff couldn't do enough for me my boyfriend and our two friends. There was so much choice at breakfast some weird foods but there was something for everyone! There was so much to do if you wanted to do volley ball round the pool aerobics there was the main pools or there was a quieter pool which was our favourite the bar staff where lovely and they made the best cocktails haha!!... It was a if a 5 minute walk to the beach where there was a place to book trips and ride camels. There is quite a few restaurants which are reasonable priced and lovely!... We are 100% coming back next year for our 5th trip to el gouna such a beautiful place! The only problem was the wifi it was a terrible connection and you had to sign in every 5 mins and was expensive!!
Where are your pillows from? There are fabulous!!!
Thankyou for everything you did for us while at the hotel you was a great help!!

Room Tip: cluster 7 is very far away from the main reception so if you have any walking problems or small chil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abby a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda O, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Abby,

thank you very much for your nice comment, we were glad to welcome you at our resort and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your nice comments were shared with all our employees and we are looking forward to see you again nice year.
Have a good time until than.

Linda Osman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

stunning beach, lovely food thats the only good. we booked a standard double for 7 nights in this 5* as per brochure. on struggling through the door with cases I was looked from head to toe by a "gentleman" I think not! we were gutted to be allocated an economy room on arrival, shabby and unclean. i approached the grumpiest receptionist to be told standard is economy! not according to the website! and the £955 paid for this accommodation. on telling the receptionist we requested a higher floor as we have a young one with us, his response was ...... you book economy we don't honour requests for economy!! how dare he. They wanted another £240 to upgrade to a classic (what's a classic?) we moved up a floor to the same style filthy old room. I called our agent in England to sort this out, they emailed hotel but another staff with poor customer service skills waved his hands and says no email. The attitude of the male dominated reception team was atrocious. I don't complain but all our hard work to pay thousands for this holiday seamed pointless for the treatment we received. ive been to Egypt a few times, this is not 5*. and wifi should be free. Please feel free to respond with your lazy generic response.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank TheClements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigitte G, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2015

Dear GUest
Thank you very much for staying with us and giving us your feedback here on this review site. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences experienced. We will certainly look into the issues mentioned and make the necessary improvements, wherever possible. Your Moevenpick Resort El Gouna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We had 7 days of pure bliss, leaving kids at home with grandparents. However having been to family orientated all inclusive before with kids 7 to 13, they'd quickly get bored. Not much was going on in the evenings and very few games around the pools. However food was great. As was the room. Had a look around other hotels and we were glad we chose the movenpick. Few gripes such as having to sign for every thing, internet access was poor and should be free, lack of evening entertainment. Plus points: staff very friendly, clean pools and tidy grounds, good range of food choices and excellent ice cream!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank puz33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigitte G, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2015

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for rating our hotel based on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.
Your Mövenpick Resort El Gouna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed here at the beginning of April. To start with I was concerned after reading some of the Trip Advisor ratings, plus it would seem the accommodation we had booked via First Choice didn't match what we were getting on arrival. There was a discrepancy that many people were finding that the standard rooms booked were not the resort's standard but the most basic of rooms. I contacted First Choice about this 2 dAys prior to leaving and found the customer service at this point non existent. We were told we couldn't be helped at this stAge as too close to leaving. We were transferred to what seemed like a call centre abroad and no one could understand what we were asking. They insisted we had a standard room and not a basic room, even though the hotel had confirmed we were booked into a basic room. To find out we had paid what we had for a basic room was incredibly annoying and then to find the customer service so poor was
frustrating. We also queried the luggage Allowance as first choice boast allowing 20kg each but the flight company thompson allow 15kg, which we found out when the tickets arrived. First Choice still insisted we had 20kg despite our eticket stating 15kg. Obviously on check in they confirmed its definitely 15kg, so don't over pack. Luckily we aimed for the lesser amount.
On arrival Reception were great and understood my concerns over the room. They held us a room to upgrade to if we didn't like the room we had been allocated in block 1, but felt confident we would like it. However, the upgrade was another E$130!
The room we had was on the ground floor in block 1 overlooking the kite surfing beach and although was tired and in need of updating, the location was superb and view of the sea was lovely. We didn't intend to spend long amounts of time in there and so all decided to stay put.
The hotel itself was lovely, the staff were all very friendly with the exception of a couple. Not that they were rude just not as friendly as some of them. Alex in the gallery bar was always friendly and fun to chat with.
We stayed on an all inclusive basis and didn't pay for anything, no hidden charges. You do have to sign for everything you have but that's not that much of a pain as some people have made it out to be. We did get a week's worth of internet which worked out about £30 which is expensive but was good for my teenage son at times!
The restaurants initially were wonderful. The spa restaurant food was amazing and staff all very friendly. This was our favourite place to eat, But as the resort got busier towards the end of the week things deteriorated! Food took a long time, sometimes not cooked properly and staff seemed hassled. It wasn't full to capacity by any means so I wouldn't want to go in high season! Breakfast in the buffet restaurant was always great and staff there were really nice and friendly. The Thai restaurant was always good and probably the most consistent of restaurants there.
The pool at the spa was always nice and clean, although the pool was colder than the sea! Watch out for the mosquitoes though. I got bitten 9 Times despite insect repellent and I'm still bearing the marks of these now! Take good spray.
The First Choice holiday rep was brilliant and seemed to be on site quite a lot. He was very friendly and helpful. We did go on a couple of excursions, the desert safari and the royal cruise. The royal cruise was great and we were very well looked after. Taken to 3 good reefs for some snorkelling. The lunch provided was excellent and how the chef managed to cook all that food on a boat was pretty impressive! Raymond the guide on both excursions was great, very knowledgeable and really friendly. And funny too! Personally we found the desert safari not good value for money. The quad biking was great fun but the rest of it was not so good. Some of the other vehicles you could try out were a bit naff really and we were all upset that the chap doing the donkey rides thought it was ok and funny to let some bloke who must of weighed at least 20 stone to go on him and then whipped him to make it trot faster, while the family looked on laughing..... some things need some regulation with that trip. I think just a quad biking trip would be far better.
In all this was a fantastic holiday and I would highly recommend this hotel. I think you have to remember that expectations will always differ from one person to another. We are all quite relaxed and laid back people and wouldn't have let the odd little thing ruin our holiday. I would go back but I would look to book in another way as we're disappointed with First Choice.

Room Tip: Cross check with hotel website. Block one if going for basic rooms have a great sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda O, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Rahel,

thank you very much for the nice review, we were glad to welcome you at our resort and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time with us.
We would like to thank you as well for the very nice clarification about the situation with your tour operator.
We hope we will be able to welcome you soon again in our resort and please feel free to contact us in advance if there is any question concerning the room type.

Sunny greetings
Linda Osman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

So, to put this in context the hotel is in a great setting, right on the Red Sea with its own kitesurfing centre. It's generally well equipped with lots of choices for eating or relaxing by the pool. The staff are generally helpful.

But sometimes it's the little things that matter - as their own website says:

"We aren’t doing anything extraordinary... We are simply successful because we are doing quite normal things in an extraordinary manner."

I travel almost every week with work and stay in a lot of hotels, generally at the budget or mid-range end of the market. El Gouna is meant to be a five star resort, so I think my expectations are reasonable.

Firstly there's the matter of the Internet. In most budget hotels, this is free - so why are the high end hotels trying to charge? For our 10 day stay I have to buy 14 days worth of access, I it's difficult to use this across multiple devices, so I'm advised that I need to spend 1,440 EGP (around €140) for our stay! I wouldn't mind if it was a good service, but it's not. The access system is tiresome and inflexible. This is more of a basic necessity as we have e-books we want to read, or to check the weather forecast for tomorrow's kitesurfing.

Then there's the matter of the on-site restaurants. I'm not sure why the food is generally twice as expensive as the restaurants 'Down-Town'. Again I wouldn't mind but the quality isn't as good either. For instance I had spaghetti bolognese that was bland and watery, and yesterday for lunch they had two attempts at baking a pizza. Both times they were inedible because the base was still mostly dough.

Almost all of the meals we have had at the hotel are more expensive than when we eat out in London (Hammersmith or Oxford Street). I find this difficult to fathom as I estimate the prices they are charging are around 10-20 times that of the local food prices. They have a captive market and would surely do more trade if they had prices that matched the local (and better) restaurants.

I also noted that their "All Inclusive" rates aren't actually all inclusive at most of the restaurants. If you go for this option, the you'll find menus that add surcharges for what are quite normal dishes. A contradiction of the term All Inclusive...

So after all the good things about this hotel, the small things can be a real turn off. Mostly because it feels like they are trying to spin you for extra cash at every turn.

Room Tip: Block 1 or 2 for kitesurfing. Probably worth upgrading to Superior rooms...the standard ones are a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sherlock H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda O, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Sherlock,

Thank you for taking the time during your vacation, reviewing our hotel. We are glad that generally you are enjoying your stay, but we are very concerned about your comments especially about the food.
We already forwarded your remarks to our Executive chef, who will make sure that the quality of all offered dishes are up to standard.
Concerning the Internet, we are sorry for the inconvenience, but we are surprised about your complaint after our Front Office Manager offered you a free extension for your purchase few days ago. After downloading several E-books and using it, a full refund is unfortunately not possible even after you mentioned that you will complain on TripAdvisor for that.
Please feel free to contact us directly in the hotel for any further comments and remarks, and we hope you are enjoying the rest of your stay with us.
Best regards

Linda Osman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I booked this hotel based on its rating on trip advisor and was very disappointed. I left the following day although i booked for 5 nights! The staff are all grumpy and seem like rhey havent been payed! Room - which was supposed to be renovated - is shabby and not clean, has to clean the wardrobe and drawers before putting my clothes! Pool is very small and although the hotel was not crowded sunbeds are very crammed together. The beach is terrible, all stones no proper sand. Food is very very bad. Breakfast bread is hard and not fresh, everything looks not fresh, very bad coffee. Dinner very limited choices and tastes awful!
Paying $195 per night BB for this was a disgrace and a total rip off! I hated it but the best thing about it is that I made the decision and left after 1 night went to Kempinski Soma bay paying less and getting an absolutely luxurious holiday experience. Stay away of Movenpick El Gouna!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Basma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda O, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Basma,

thank you for your feedback, although we regret to know,that our hotel was not up to your expectations. We are surprised about your comment that our pool was full, as offering 4 different pool areas with separate kids pools and a total of 2 km beach, its surprising to know that you were not able to find some privacy.
We would like to apologize as well that our offered food did not meet your taste, although nearly all our guests are very happy about the home made bread which gets bake twice per day. We would have been glad you you could have mentioned these points before leaving, as maybe we could have found a solution.
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and best regards

Linda Osman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Gouna
0.9 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
19.5 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#41 of 222 in Hurghada
2,472 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Three Corners Rihana Inn
Three Corners Rihana Inn
#18 of 18 in El Gouna
278 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
0.8 mi away
Three Corners Rihana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna

Address: Main Street | PO Box 72, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#2 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#2 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#3 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#3 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#6 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range: £80 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mövenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna is nestled on a peninsula, with its own exclusive beachfront. It offers spectacular views of the Red Sea, the tranquil lagoons and the lush gardens. The ideal surroundings combined with the resort's extensive facilities all make for a perfect stay. The charming center of El Gouna with its picturesque architecture and numerous attractions is only a few minutes away and Hurghada International Airport can be reached in 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Prestigia, Odigeo, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna Hotel El Gouna
Moevenpick Resort And Spa El Gouna
mövenpick El Gouna
Moevenpick Hotel El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing