We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“funny holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
1 review
“funny holiday”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

wooooow it was very funny vacation with my family and our friends from the hotel.i wanna say this hotel is fantastic place very nice view and nice weather .about the food the mein restaurant and oaises restaurant is fantastic the food is very tasty thanks for all the staf from oaises and restaurant .and my best griends I can't forget them the megafun team they are really the best and fantastic and professional team they make all the hotel happy in the morning and at evening they dance with the kids and with them parents really we had a very nice holiday with them I hope to come again to spend with them long time and special thanks for them ( khaled.boody.nano.geniya.vika.anna) guys I hope to see u soon and thanks to every one in the hotel

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank هدي ا
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigitte G, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 15 July 2015
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for rating our hotel based on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.
Your Mövenpick Resort El Gouna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,971
    855
    248
    102
    65
See reviews for
1,102
1,233
161
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have been coming to Moevenpick El-Gouna for the past years on a yearly basis. This year was shocking.
The hotel has been very COMMERCIALIZED. Quality of service is low. Value for money is low as compared with Sheraton Miramar as an example!

Here are some points to consider:
- A Fruit Basket and two bottels of water upon checkin.
- No Life Guard on Pools, even though towers/chairs exist.
- Allowing Children eating Ice-Cream in pool, people drinking, smoking cigars and cigarets inside pool.
- Antz in room!!! We experience this every year we come to this hotel. Room Service just sprinkled the restroom upon our complain, but that was useless. Ant houses inside rooms to be tracked, blocked and to be properly sprinkled with powerful sprays by designated companies.
- Room Floor cleaning is not up to standard.
- Our room restroom stinks! Even though it was cleaned, but there seem to be a smell coming from up from the toilete somehow.
- We stayed for 8 days, initially on a half board basis. But we discontinued and preferred BB option, due to the low quality and variety of food at dinner.
- Lighting passages have to be improved. it is very dark when you walk through the pool area, bridges, walk throughs between gardens at night.
- Balcony doors leaking significant air! We changed our rooms twice (Family room, checked another family room, and our third regular room was the same). Maintenance team could not solve it. All balcony doors need to be adjusted/aligned and wind/dust stoppers to be added.
- A complimentary water bottle Once upon checkin.! Well thank you! For the whole family! Add to this Water, Tea Coffee are not included in Half Board offer. something truly ridiculous. So i will have dinner at your restaurant, but i cant drink water!!! if i want to, then ill have to pay 6 times its regular price! it is similar to inviting people to dinner, and charginig them for using the toilete and the tap water for washing their hands!! Compare this with Sheraton Miramar which includes these basics drinks in the HB deal, and do refil Nestle water on daily basis in room.
- Bell man didn't help us put our luggage in car, we had to bring them out from the hotel.

Most of the above was communicated to front desk, customer relations, and duty manager, along with FB manager for the dinner complains.
- My family and i are totally disapointed.

One more time, Moevenpick has degraded significantly, it is now a very commercialized hotel accepting BUS Trips.
We do love the hotel and do love coming yearly, but this has to be fixed. Hotel must give good value for money! otherwise, we are considering somewhere else.

Room Tip: - Choose a family room, if you're having children. It is spacious, and they'll love it. - G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Christopoloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigitte G, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you visiting our hotel. We regret to know, that we were not able to meet up to your expectations. Your constructive comments have been discussed with the management and will help us to improve our services and facilities for all future guests.
Hoping to be able to welcome you and your family back for another visit at Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna.

Best regards
Brigitte Gobran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

It was such an amazing experience !
The service is perfect, beds are really big, rooms are clean !
In add, our room had a direct access to the beach!!
Will come back for sure in a year !!!!
The breakfast is really huge, you can find either fruits, French bread, waffles, eggs, ...
I really appreciated my stay there, the staff is really professional and attentive !
Shokran awi !!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cecile V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigitte G, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Google Translation
Verehrter Gast
Wir danken Ihnen, dass Sie sich die Zeit und Mühe genommen haben, unser Hotel ausführlich zu bewerten. Es freut uns, dass Sie generell einen schönen Urlaub bei uns verbracht haben und die Zimmer, die Strand- und Poolanlagen sowie Küche und Bedienung der A la carte Restaurants Ihren Erwartungen entsprochen hat. Wir haben Ihre konstruktive Kritik bzgl Spa Bereich zur Kenntnis genommen und werden umgehend die nötigen Schritte zur Verbesserung einleiten.
Gerne hoffen wir, Sie bald wieder einmal in unserem Hotel Begrüßen zu können.

Freundliche Gruesse
Brigitte Gobran, Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Español
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Movenpick El Gouna has everything to be a great hotel but actually it is not. Positive: Great location with seaview everywhere, swimming pools and bars, big rooms and very nice bathrooms. Negative: It is too big, you'll take several minutes walking under the sun to get to your room or to go to the main pool, the restaurant... that is very unconfortable and the people at the desk are extremely rude and they never seem to know anything you'll never feel like home there. Day animation team ( egiptian man) was great thank you!. Night shows very poor. Too bad.

Room Tip: Near the lobby if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4espa787g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigitte G, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your visit and for posting your useful feedback on this website. It is correct, that the hotel is build on spacious grounds. But you can always contact us in advance and give us your room request and we will arrange for a nice room not too far away from the public areas. Rest assured, that we haven taken your comments very serious and will take the needed actions to rectify the shortcomings.
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon for another visit at Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna.

Kind regards
Brigitte Gobran
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is my 9 th time to visit movenpick el Gouna , every thing is amazing in this resort,spacious delux rooms equipped with many facilities ,friendly staff,beautiful view of lagoons and the Red Sea ,amazing variety of food ,perfect choice for families and honeymooners.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ananomys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigitte G, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 15 July 2015
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for rating our hotel based on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.
Your Mövenpick Resort El Gouna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I wanna thank every one in the hotel cus really they maked our holiday special the internment megafun team they really the best team .frindly smiling all the day and they help us in every thing in the hotel special the egyption boys:khaled boody nano and the girls geniya vika anna you are best guys and we will try to come again to spend with one more week and thanks for all ( MEGAFUN )

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marchaggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigitte G, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 15 July 2015
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for rating our hotel based on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.
Your Mövenpick Resort El Gouna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

The most wonderful experience a hotel can ever deliver is simply found in Mövenpick, great food, wonderful service, amazing experience, people are so friendly, I was thrilled that they had recognized us when we came back again, three times there and I'm simply ready for more

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohamed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigitte G, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to know, that you have enjoyed your repeated visit to our resort. Your compliments are great motivation to all of us and we are already now looking forward to welcoming you back for a fourth visit at Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna.

Best regards
Brigitte Gobran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
1.0 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
757 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Golf Resort
0.8 mi away
Three Corners Rihana Resort
0.3 mi away
Panorama Bungalows Resort El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna

Property: Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Address: Main Street | PO Box 72, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#2 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#2 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#5 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#5 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#6 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mövenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna is nestled on a peninsula, with its own exclusive beachfront. It offers spectacular views of the Red Sea, the tranquil lagoons and the lush gardens. The ideal surroundings combined with the resort's extensive facilities all make for a perfect stay. The charming center of El Gouna with its picturesque architecture and numerous attractions is only a few minutes away and Hurghada International Airport can be reached in 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna Hotel El Gouna
Moevenpick Resort And Spa El Gouna
mövenpick El Gouna
Moevenpick Hotel El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing