We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First and final stay, expensive, over rated and forget about swimming in the sea.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Oslo
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“First and final stay, expensive, over rated and forget about swimming in the sea.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

Let me first say that I will probably not come back to this location. I've been several other places in the Hurgada area and the Mövenpick don't stack up when compared. You can read my other reviews from my profile.

We stayed in a family room in cluster 7 and was booked all inclusive for 2 weeks.

So, why will we not go back here? Firstly, I love the Red Sea and even though The Divetribe dive center is great and we spent 5,5 days with them, the lack of snorkeling is for me a major drawback. El Gouna is a man made location and has no reef, so one of my key reasons for going to Egypt in the first place is killed of right there. If you like to Kite however the place is perfect. Its very shallow waters from the beach.

Second, the Hotel food with the exception of breakfast just is not that great. The buffet food is very boring and blunt. They make great desserts and salads but the mains are basically just different boiled meats in tomato/mushroom sauce branded under different names each day. I don't think this is because of the chefs, but I think the hotel management are running the kitchen based on cost rater than flavor. This is the first 5 star I've been to that did not offer any kind of freshly prepared option during dinner. Did not see a kofta or chicken kebab there ever. Lunch is the same, everything is precooked and then just reheated. Even the fries. Pizzas at the main pool was nice though.
So stay away from the buffet, don't order it and go to El Sayadin or the Thai for food in the hotel. They are much better, but have "dress codes" that I personally consider to be just ridiculous. Please note that all food and drink are heavily overpriced so either stay AI or go out for dinner.

The main restaurant was being refurbished so all diners was moved to a banquet hall besides it. This place had no windows, limited space and was VERY noisy, crowded and quite often did you had to wait to get a table. After a few tries we started ordering room service instead. This cost around 120 EGP and is a ripoff when considering we never got any fresh bread or pastries. We did also order room service dinner and this too was very bad. The managers of the Movenpick seriously need to rethink how they serve food! They have good chefs there, but I don't think they are allowed to cook!

The rooms are dated, but spotless cleaned and offers (at an extra charge) internet access, one week is 480 EGP and you get a 1 MB line. Not fast, but works fine for checking e-mails and reading the local paper.

As stated we stayed in cluster 7 and used the "local" pool. Its smaller, but more quiet.
The spa area around cluster 8 also offers a quiet pool that is a good option if you are not traveling with kids. Forget about going for a swim in the sea here. You need to walk across the mud 250-300 meters and the canal is the same, its green with algae and smells bad. You dont want to swim there.

So whats the good sides?

- Very clean hotel. Toilets are kept perfect.
- Good dive center. So use it!
- Good playgrounds and sports center.
- Kite surfing. Very shallow waters.

Overall, what saved this holiday was The Dive Tribe, El Sayadin and the Thai restaurant. The rest of the Hotel is in dire need of an upgrade and they should start with the food.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hemsedal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,873
    816
    237
    98
    62
See reviews for
1,052
1,168
149
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

again, another fab holiday at the Movenpick in El Gouna. Wonderful place, excellent and professional service from all aspects : waiters, housekeeping, room service, reception, guest relations. No complaints or problems whatsoever. Were allocated a ground floor room in cluster 2 as I requested via email. Bowls of fruit and biscuits/cakes were left twice for us, which was lovely, as well as an invitation to 'get-together' one evening on the roof terrace of the Il Limone for returning guests to meet the management etc, lovely cocktails and nibbles. The Palavrion is currently being refurbished, but wasnt a problem to have breakfast in the Gallery Bar/Dolphin Rooms or walk up to the Il Limona . Breakfast choice is just as good as ever ! Plenty of watersports and other sporting activities for my teenage boy, and lots of relaxation for me. Tried a few different eateries downtown, love JobosNathans and the Athena Greek restaurant. Didn' try anywhere different in the Marina, but ate at Moods a couple of times, their menu is good. Cant wait to go back !

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DawnBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

I have been to El Gouna six times during the last ten years and love it. Each visit my husband (or daughter) and I have stayed at the Movenpick Hotel and have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We have always stayed 'B & B' and found eating Downtown or round the mariner to be excellent value. On Fiesta nights or special nights round the mariner the entertainment and food is very good, although some people would find it very laid back in comparison to other places. This can also be said of the Movenpick Hotel where entertainment is fairly basic but set in an 'airy' courtyard. When I first went to the Movenpick it was fresh and new, now it is looking a little jaded and in need of some refurbishment, however the rooms are large, there is free air conditioning and satelite television. (Please note five star hotels in Egypt are probably the equivalent to a European four star.) Several years ago I was told if you want peace and quiet and a place to chill out, go to the Movenpick, otherwise go to the Sheraton Miramar. I am going back in September and intend to give this hotel ago for a change as we are going with a group of friends. There are three pool areas at the Movenpick and I love the smaller pool and bar around cluster 7000. This is quieter than the main pool with plenty of sunbeds around the pool and the lagoon beach( just in front of the pool.) This beach provides an amazing view of the sunset each evening. If you can afford it, pay a visit to the Hotel's new Spa, the treatments are wonderful and much cheaper than back home.
I thought I would just mention the dreaded upset stomach, this is something which most people seem to get in Egypt (I have been to several other places in Egypt and experienced the same although not at every visit to the Movenpick- two years ago my daughter and I ate out every night and breakfasted in the hotel and were perfectly okay) A visit to the Pharmacy in El Gouna soon puts one right any way!
What makes me return to El Gouna? I think if you want a taste of Egypt but not the 'in your face haggling' and accosting like in Hurgarda, a place where a woman/girl can walk around and not be pestered too much and can feel quite comfortable, this is the place. The setting on man-made lagoons is lovely and the transport system around El Gouna- tuk tuks, small buses and taxi boats (all so cheap) are experiences in themselves. The restaurants are very good and cheap-don't go all inclusive,especially the Egyptian restaurant Downtown on the side of the lagoon (the one with the big clay ovens outside)
If you are a 'party animal' give this place a miss but if you are looking for a relaxing holiday in lovely setting at affordable prices, this is it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank filly007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

Great hotel overall, this was our second visit. We agree with other reviewers re the hotel starting to become a bit tired and rooms needing some general refurbishment, which does question its 5* rating. Staff generally all very friendly and helpful, rooms well cleaned, generally plenty of sunbeds - no need for dawn wake-ups to get a sunbed! We stayed in Cluster 7 both times - by choice the second visit. It's a fair walk from the breakfast restaurant and reception, but very convenient for the Lagoon pool which is fairly quiet, with plenty of well spaced out sunbeds, and access to lagoon with sunbathing/swimming. As others have said, this hotel is incredibly expensive all round for food and drink - expect to pay central London prices for drinks! (We learnt last year, the hard way, and didn't make the same mistake this time!). However, there are plenty of much cheaper bars and restaurants in Downtown and the Marina, as well as supermarkets for general supplies, so do explore. We feel the most ludicrous pricing in the hotel was that of the water. Egypt is incredibly hot in the summer months and it is essential to keep hydrated. You will be actively encouraged to drink lots of water. However, the rip-off prices that the hotel is charging for water are positiviely encouraging dehydration! Large 6 litre bottles of water are just pennies in the supermarkets, but in the hotel, a 1.5 litre bottle is pounds, and a 500ml bottle from the mini bar is over a quid! Disgraceful in that heat taking account of local prices! Can't help but feel this taking advantage of the "rich" guests! I think the hotel should consider this seriously for the health and welfare of the guests. So come on Movenpick, do the decent thing with the bottled water prices and make sure your guests drink plenty of inexpensive water!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kentish_Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

Have been going to this hotel for 9 years but sadly this hotel has become very tired and run down suffering from the lack of maintenance and investment so this was my last visit. The rooms are badly in need of major refurbishment, furniture is old, beds creaky and the bathrooms are now very poor standard although they do now provide you with a kettle and ill fitting bathrobes that have been around the block a few times. I would now only give this hotel 3 stars at best, the prices being charged for food and drink is unaceptable. The fish resturant is in an excellent and romantic location but the food is very poor and very expensive, a three course dinner for two with poor wine is around £80.00 The Thi resturant is very poor and like all the others here often served the food cold. Some corporate funtions are held and take over resturants and pool areas without notice or regard for other guest. When this happens the hotel can be very noisy and depending on the numbers, sometime breakfast looks like it's been attacked by locusts. It is noticable that some of the top tour operators have now dropped this hotel from thier selection not a surprise and sad to see this once great hotel fall to this poor standard.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewForestShammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPHotelEgypt, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 6 August 2009
We are happy to inform, that we have finalized our plans for a renovation program within the resort. We are presently renovating our Palavrion buffet restaurant, which is due to re-open by mid September 09 in a complete new look, offering an unparalleled dining experience with live cooking stations. At the same time we have started the room renovations and the first new rooms in Cluster 3 shall be ready this autumn. We would like to thank all our guests for their loyalty and for bearing with us in the coming month and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in a new and improved environment. The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

Good Stuff - Hotel had good choice in Buffet - unfortunately they closed the main restaurant for refurb work and moved to bar next door - wasnt ideal but OK. Service very good and in Al a Carte Restaurants - best to go B & B as cheaper and food is excellent in DownTown area. Clean sheets and towels every day in room, room was clean with tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryver - large bathrooms and bed was a bit hard.
Bad Stuff - Make sure you have drugs from the Pharmacy before starting your holiday if you holiday in the summer months - a large majority of the hotel came down with sickness and diorrhea (unfortunately I had the second option twice -was very poorly) some poor souls had to go to hospital!!! this is very common in the summer months in Egypt but the pharmacies do have the drugs to sort you out. Do not have ice in any drinks and try to avoid salads. Stick with bottled beer - Sakara was best.
Downtown - Jobo's sports bar excellent for beer and sport. There are plenty of ATMs - change your money in Egypt you get a better rate. Lots of snide shops if you want that sort of thing - go Downtown when sun sets - it is too hot in the day. There is a boat every half hour from the hotel to downtown and Marina. SPA in hotel excellent!
Marina - good restuarants and shops - best to be there when sun setting. Tuk Tuk will take you and bring you back to Marina - about Egyptian Pounds 8 - 1 pound UK. Lots of yachts and nice hotels.
Hurghada airport - beware - they will try to get what money they can from you if you are over your allowance - we fell to that one!! They charged 8 UK Pounds for 1 extra Kilo!!!
Everything is quite expensive in the airport so best to take your own rolls/sandwiches from the hotel and bottled water.
Trips - do the sand buggy ride 9pm one) excellent and not for the faint-hearted!! Also go to Mahmaya island for the day trip - take your snorkel and mask - plenty of tropical fish in the coral - absolutely wonderful!
On the hole - yes i will go back but not in the summer months - the hotel is swiss-run and the movenpick icecream is to die for!! Enjoy!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PomeranianCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

Service
Mostly very attentive and friendly. The staff from guest relations to the pool bar and waiters very looking after us well, taking time to chat and help wherever they could.

Only downside was the staff at reception - not because they did not try, but because they were permanently understaffed. Though the hotel was relatively empty two people at reception were not enough.

Also in the main restaurant the service was relatively poor; slow service, people not taking away used dishes / bringing new drinks etc. The service in El Sayadin (speciality restaurant, quite expensive, not part of AI) was also slow, but friendly. I did not like the starter (because it was not to my taste, no flaw with the food) and I was offered a free alternative.

Internet was close to 6 EUR per hour (!) which is ridiculous for a hotel these days - and the minimum time one could use at the provided computers is one hour.

Location
Nice - I like to be closer to a "real" place, so that's why it's not 5 rating. But if you are the typical beach / watersports vacation person and like to stay in your hotel + going out to a small shopping area and marina you should be fine. Though it is all artificial, it's also all very close, tidy, clean and safe.

Rooms
The room was very large and very clean, with a large wardrobe and safe. But as others wrote before me for a 5/4 star it is a bit "tired" and would need refurbishment. The small carpet was dirty (I moved it away) and the bathroom needs to be refurbished soon, especially the shower and other appliances.
The TV is small, but has a wide selection of channels in many languages.

Food & Drink
I went half board - I did buy soft drinks in the village (very cheap - 3 EGP as compared to 15 in the hotel) and I do not like alcohol in a hot climate, so it was a fair deal for me.

Overall - good food, but not insperational, nothing special or "really" good (especially also the desserts were nothing to write home about), which I would expect from a five star.

Breakfast - huge selection, the orange juice (Squash, very sweet) was disappointing and (for a German who loves her bread) the bread was overall not very good. Arab bread, if served anywhere was not fresh. In Il Limone the bread was sometimes old.

El Sayadin - Ok, but not more and for that definitely overpriced. The fish was dry and the rice not cooked properly, also the food was cold.
Il Limone - Good Italian food, best place for me to eat. The antipasti buffet was good
Thai -Good (though some of the food was a bit to oily, esp. the spring rolls)
The Buffet - good salad buffet, overall good food with a great selection. Also the hotel is redoing it's main restaurant which will be much improved in autumn if I go by the pictures they showed.
Pool Bar - very poor, most food was really bad (don't eat the club sandwich!), the fries were at times mushy at others overcooked, but mostly to oily.

Pools & Beach - Good selection of pools, a bit noisier at the main pool (kids) but there was also the quiet spa pool or the sports pool for real swimming and another one closer to the diving center. The beach is done very nicely, lots of space between the sunbeds/umbrellas.
The water is very shallow. You have to walk about 10-15 min through knee deep water to get to a place where you cannot stand any more. Also you cannot dive directly at the hotel, you have to take a snorkeling trip with a boat. But lots of good wind for kiting.

Entertainment - I did not go to see it - mostly what we glimpsed was very poor, more like a country talent show... But I do not like animation anyway, so I am fine with this. If you are looking for a party location this is definitely not your hotel.

Overall - they could do with some redecoration of the rooms and some improvement of the food. It was good but nothing special or really good (which I would expect in a 5 star), the hotel itself is very nice and well kept.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TiggerAndPuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Gouna
1.0 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna

Property: Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Address: Main Street | PO Box 72, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#2 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#2 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#5 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#5 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#6 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mövenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna is nestled on a peninsula, with its own exclusive beachfront. It offers spectacular views of the Red Sea, the tranquil lagoons and the lush gardens. The ideal surroundings combined with the resort's extensive facilities all make for a perfect stay. The charming center of El Gouna with its picturesque architecture and numerous attractions is only a few minutes away and Hurghada International Airport can be reached in 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort And Spa El Gouna
Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna Hotel El Gouna
mövenpick El Gouna
Moevenpick Hotel El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing