We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Nearby Hotels
Three Corners Rihana Inn(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dawar El Omda(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Turtle's Inn(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Captain's Inn(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arena Inn(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Three Corners Rihana Resort(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Panorama Bungalows Resort El Gouna(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
La Maison Bleue El Gouna(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,911)
Filter reviews
3,911 results
Traveller rating
2,476
960
287
120
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,476
960
287
120
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslagoon pooljenya boyanimation teamthai restaurantmega funmain restauranthealth clubkids clubspecial thankssea viewshuttle busnice holidaydowntown areawater polotuk tukmain poolevery evening
Filter
Updating list...
2,082 - 2,087 of 3,911 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2010

A good value holiday. Excellent location and facilities on an extensive and attractive Red Sea site. Rooms large and comfortable. There is a programme of refurbishment at present, scheduled to go on for a year or so, but we were well away from it, so not disturbed by noise and dust. Two nice heated outdoor pools with stunning views over sea or lagoon. One heated outdoor pool near the Health Club with no view. Another outdoor pool (not heated) was being repaired but will offer a relaxing setting. Lots of guests but so spread out that there's plenty of room for everyone.The pools had bar/restaurant facilities alongside.

Service and cleaning were very good. Waiters were very attentive and friendly. Enormous variety in the breakfast buffet and the same restaurant offered themed buffet lunches and dinners. Of the other restaurants on site, the El Sayadin offered a great a la carte dining menu with superb service and wonderful moonlight views over the Red Sea.

Could also eat out in nearby "Downtown" or at the Marina (needing a cheap taxi or tuk-tuk ride). Meals out were a bit expensive, with wine and beer adding substantially to costs.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaymaker44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

If you have already booked this holiday you will not be sorry. This hotel is truly lovely in my opinion. Only negative is that there is little or no entertainment. It is best to go down town or the abu tig marina to eat and have drinks, were there is lots of choice and great value. if u can find it in downtown el gouna, there is the oasis cafe bar run by an english couple that does lager for 8 egy pounds=£1 or 1.20 euro approx, when everywhere else is around 28egy pounds. also a great steak to be had in JOBO,S.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank breffni06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We stayed for a week in February - our first visit to El Gouna which is a beautifully laid out resort based on the red sea with lagoons and inlets into the hotels. We found the whole experience very relaxing which is just what we needed. The Movenpick was great. We stayed on Bed and Breakfast basis and the choice at breakfast was fantastic -all you could want. The staff were very friendly and helpful and our room, which was standard, was fine. Good size, lovely big bathroom, great balcony overlooking the lagoon and immaculately cleaned by Mahmoud. All in all a wonderful holiday - we will be back - and we didn't book a package as commented in an earlier review.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grasyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We just returned from a week of holiday in the Mövenpick El Gouna resort and I would highly recommend both El Gouna and the Mövenpick hotel for travellers who want to enjoy the Egyptian sunny weather, clean and spacious pool areas, reasonable clay tennis courts, very friendly service as well as a high standard of cleaning and food.

We were travelling with extended family, including three kids, and everyone felt very pleased with the choice, since we knew in advance that we wouldn't want to do much anything else except relax by the pools and the lagoons, eat comfortably (and as safely as possible in Egypt!) and play some tennis. El Gouna town was enough shopping opportunity for us even though we did take a van taxi one day for a few hours in Hurgada to see a bit of the more authentic Egypt.

We had to original-level rooms, which were a bit disappointing in terms of their level of finishing etc. but very well cleaned and air-conditioned, so really nothing much to complain. We knew in advance about the pool and some clusters being renovated (thanks to reading Tripadvisor), so we weren't bothered by the noise but of course it could be a bit of a nuisance for those living very close by.

We had half-board, and I wonder whether actually the all-inclusive could have been more economical for us since we ate most of our lunches there, as well. I have to say that price level for poolside drinks & lunches was quite high - maybe 50 EGP or 7 euros for a simple burger and fries, or maybe 25 EGP (3.5 euros) for a drink - add the compulsory 10 % tip and the final bill will be quite elevated.

All in all, a great experience, and I would choose this location & hotel when going back, then maybe investing in the all-inclusive and a bit more classy room.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coolsunmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

This is a report of two halves.I will start with the hotel and then tell you how inept Thos Cook tour operators are.
Firstly the Movenpick.The hotel is ideally situated in El Gouna, which itself is an attractive purpose built resort with lots of restaurants and bars set around a series of lagoons and a yacht marina. We had a recently refurbished room which faced the sea and opened directly onto the beach. The sea is very shallow which is not so good if you are a keen sea swimmer. There are plenty of beach beds and umbrellas and the grounds are attractively laid out. Restaurants are good, particularly the Thai. We stayed on the b and b option which suited us fine as the opportunities to eat out are much more enticing than the very dull looking hotel buffet. Breakfast is fine but would be a bit limitted if you did not share the arab taste for all things sweet. There is a shuttle bus which regularly runs to the downtown area, the marina and golf course - you can buy a weekly ticket for just over £2, but there are lots of tuk-tuks buzzing about and they are very cheap.We were very impressed by the standard of service and friendliness of all the staff.
Now for the bad news. The hotel is undergoing major refurbishment and about a quarter of it is like a building site. Many guests are looking onto scaffolding and woken by drilling and hammering. The main pool is closed and we had to walk quite a distance to the next one.Stay away until the work is finished or make sure you get a considerable discount.
Now for Thos Cook. Lets start with the flight- 5 hours being frozen to the bone with my knees jammed into the seat in front. It was the worst flight I have had since the last time I flew with Thos Cook. We only booked with them a few weeks ago and strangely the sales rep omitted to mention the building work in the hotel and nor did Thos Cook give us any warning of it before departure. I consider this to be pretty shabby and deceitful. Our representative was a pleasant woman who knew absolutely nothing about the resort other than what she had read and she certainly was not the woman for a crisis! After our pleasant but noisy and dusty week we duly checked out and awaited the transfer to the airport... and waited... and waited. Thos Cook just left us sitting there. Apparently there was a 4 hour weather delay in the UK - it would have been good to have been told? On ringing the Thos Cook office I was spoken to rudely and a promised return call was never made. Then 6 more hellish hours flying home. USE A DIFFERENT OPERATOR

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lambley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews