We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd Stay Still Fab”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Reviewed 29 May 2007

3rd time staying here, never stayed anywhere twice before let alone 3 times but we are hooked, it is an excellent winter break and a complete change to our Greek summer hols and will keep going back.
I am confused from other reviews as to what everyone else has for breakfast at home as the choice here is tremendous, from cereals, pastries, toast, om ali, rice pudding, yogurts, fruit, cold meats and cheeses, eggs bacon etc. I am sure I have missed stuff out.
We never eat in the hotel in the evenings as the array of restaurants in the harbour and downtown is so varied .
The room we were in on this stay wasn't as good as previous stays as we are usually in Cluster 7 a lot quieter than the Cluster 3 room we were in in March.
All in all for the price you pay for this hotel, we usally get a very good rate, I cannot fault it. Everybody is very helpful and always goes out there way to say hello.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Why1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,499)
There are newer reviews for Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,121 - 2,127 of 3,501 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2007

I stayed 1 week at the Movenpick resort in April and I was very disapointed. I was probably expecting too much as I heard a lot of good things about this hotel and the reviews were very good.
To start with the food, the buffet was very poor both in terms of quality and choice.Everyday the food was the same but served in a different way. Thanks god we did not have to eat there everynight as there is the dine around program. We went to eat to another 5 five star hotel where the food was much better. We also went to eat to the other restaurant in the Movenpick resort. It was a bit better but not something to die for.
Regarding the hotel itself, the rooms were nice but not exceptional. The hotel staff was not friendly at all. Never a smile and not helpful at all.
So all in all very very disapointing considering the price we paid for.

Stayed: April 2007
1  Thank smileGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2007

My wife and I have just returned from the Movenpick (12th May 2007) and feel bound to give it very high praise. A Review by 'Scoobs30' from Berkshire, posted Feb 10 2007, gives sufficient information in many ways but I am surprised by some observations made, particularly regarding the food offered by the Hotel.

The Food was certainly the best, in terms of variety and quality, that I have ever enjoyed within any hotel in Egypt - at least 50 visits over 35 years, and at many of the 'best' hotels - and although it was not 'cheap' I see no reason why it should be priced any differently. Wine is inevitably relatively expensive but the quality of the Egyptian wines has improved enormously over the last 15 years or so. Drinking imported wines seems an unnecessarily expensive occupation given this improvement.

For eating In El Gouna itself I would strongly suggest the Restaurants Mamounia (A beautiful Moroccan - at the Marina) and Hedra (above the square Tamr Henna where the fish is superb and you can see what you are going to eat before they cook it for you)

The Hotel location is simply wonderful and the opportunity to walk, within the hotel itself, to various completely different locations for swimming and lunch/dinner pretty much ensures no bored 'restlessness' even if you do not feel like venturing into the delights of El Gouna itself. However, not to explore the Town and Marina would be a great mistake and the travelling, by shuttle bus/boat or taxi or toc toc is so cheap and easy that there is really no excuse not to do so. Security everywhere is superb - and there are simply NO beggars!

We stayed in a de luxe room right on the Beach and were pleased to have booked on a 'bed and breakfast' arrangement. The 'all inclusive' package appears a poor deal, in value terms, to me and restricts you quite unnecessarily. We enjoyed the most expensive dishes on offer (if we felt like it) and drank copious amounts of LOCAL wines and Beers all the time, my wife had two full treatments at the Spa - and the total bill was less than it would have been if we had gone 'AI'. This also meant we were free to try the town Restaurants and those costs have been included in my overall calculations.

As others have indicated the Staff are utterly charming. Swiss Management efficiency twinned with natural Egyptian Charm makes a wonderful combination.

Finally, We first went to El Gouna 10 years ago. Now it certainly has 'grown up' but remains surprisingly unspoilt. The Developers, ORASCOM should feel justly proud of their creation.

P.S. A Taxi transfer Airport-Hotel SHOULD! cost 100 LE (£10) so don't bother with the bus if you want everything 'easy'.

Posted by Clarke. London UK

Stayed: May 2007
14  Thank DnClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2007

Just back from the Movenpick at El Gouna. A lovely hotel with extremely large and clean rooms and grounds, excellent pools and a great spot on the Red Sea beaches.

We booked a standard room and it was perfectly 5 star. Huge bathrooms and more than enough space for the extra bed for our son.

The pools are lovely but the one on the left as you go in the Spa pool area is the warmest.

The town is VERY quiet but apparently we went in on the windy days and on the not so windy days its has a bit more life! There is a wonderful Egyptian restaurant you simly must go to- The Oriental Grill, just over the bridge in Downtown, AMAZING food and fantatstic service.

Even when it is windy though (there is a kite surfing centre on the beach so obviously there can be some wind!) the way the resort is set up completely shelters you although somehow a nice breeze remains.

The hotel works mainly on a tab system and using cash proved difficult when it came to getting change. You sign a receipt when you buy food/drinks etc but beware as you don't get a copy of the receipt so if you want to keep a watch on how much you are spending, then you need to keep a note yourself!

We travelled independently but you can book excursions through the Guest relations desk- they don't make a big deal of advertising thsi service though. The Bedouin night was really lovely as was the day long boat trip on the 'Galatea'- a 2 hour boat trip to the Gobal islands, then snorkelling off the beach, an excellent BBQ lunch, and a return trip by sunset.

The hotel was pretty full but you'd never have known except for the note from the hotel in the room about the best times for breakfast- although we never had an issue. Plenty of sunloungers everywhere.

We'd recommend it !

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank billyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2007

We stayed a week in Mövenpick El Gouna. We expected a relaxing week of sun and fun in a five star hotel. The trip went well, but the hotel is not a five star hotel.

It's a nice hotel with nice rooms, large garden and beach areas and nice pools, but the service was not what you would expect in a five star hotel. You had to queue in the reception everytime you needed something. Or you had to wait even though there were no other customers - the staff was talking to each other and ignoring us. The service in the bars and restaurants were okay, but just okay. In general, things got done, but there were no smiles.

The friendliest bunch was the housekeeping staff.

In general, it's a nice hotel, but if you're looking for five-star hotel with five-star service, don't bother. If I would compare to Asian five-star-service, I would give this hotel even lower rate.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Kanerva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2007

My husband and I were looking for some winter sun in March and upon recommendation from a number of travel agents choose the Movenpick.The hotel was a three star in our eyes but our last holiday was at the Mina A Salam in Dubai so we may not be comparing apples with apples!The hotel was very basic and after an inital mix up with the room (we had requested a double bed on a high floor and we were allocated two singles on the ground) we were upgraded to a family room in cluster 1.Breakfast was very avergae and mainly catered to Europeans (Germans, French etc) with content.The downtown area was nice and I am sure during the summer seasons both this area and the Marina has a lot more energy and life but in March it is very quiet.We took a day trip to Luxor (by plane) which was great - the tombs, trip down the Nile and the historic sites really were amazing and the highlight of the holiday.We also did a days excursion (quad biking, camel riding, belly dancing) which was ok. Overall the hotel was ok but I wouldn't go back there again.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dipali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2007

we've just spent a week in April at Moevenpick hotel, El Gouna. we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would highly recommend this resort. We went as 2 families, with total of 4 kids. Rooms spotless, and we had great ocean views, our friends had deluxe suite which was gorgeous too. Staff very friendly, but a tad slow at times. The weather was wonderful, just a little cool in the evenings. We enjoyed
the thai restaurant, but didnt think much of 'mediteranean specialty'
restaurant "El Limone". The food at the pool bars wasnt very inspired either! but the kids seemed to enjoy that. We used the spa for fantastic, if a little expensive massages, beautiful settings and atmosphere. Snorkelling trips organised by friendly professional
"Dive Tribe stafff. We ate at the marina twice. the french restaurant
"le Deauville" was siùmply superbe_ BRAVO!! Also we ate at very friendly "KIKI'S. Grat holiday, would love to return

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaqattak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Gouna
1.0 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
18.5 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#44 of 222 in Hurghada
2,323 reviews
0.9 mi away
Three Corners Rihana Inn
Three Corners Rihana Inn
#18 of 18 in El Gouna
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
0.3 mi away
Panorama Bungalows Resort El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna

Address: Main Street | PO Box 72, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#2 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#3 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#3 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#4 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#6 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range: £71 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mövenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna is nestled on a peninsula, with its own exclusive beachfront. It offers spectacular views of the Red Sea, the tranquil lagoons and the lush gardens. The ideal surroundings combined with the resort's extensive facilities all make for a perfect stay. The charming center of El Gouna with its picturesque architecture and numerous attractions is only a few minutes away and Hurghada International Airport can be reached in 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna Hotel El Gouna
Moevenpick Resort And Spa El Gouna
mövenpick El Gouna
Moevenpick Hotel El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing