We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Renfrew Scotland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

Just back from El Gouna and we have had another great stay at the Movenpick, we were in one of the as yet to be rennovated rooms in Cluster 2 but it was still very fresh and clean.
Staff were great and i could not fault them at all especially Mohammed and Hamdy ( spl) at the Oassis Poll bar who always had beer and wine on ice for us at lunch time.
My only gripe is that on our stay there was a vip staying for a few days and as such he had sections of the beach closed off and resaurants closed for his sole use, it was also a bit unsettling to go in to the bathroom and one of his security men comes in and takes out a pistol lays it on the counter and washes his hands.
Other than that the stay was fantastic and roll on our next visit.

PS.
Price of the bottled water is shocking, we got 5 in the town for the price of one at the pool bar.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjoncamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMElGouna, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 6 October 2010
Dear cjoncamp
We were delighted that you had enjoyed your recent stay at our Resort and have already passed on your thanks to Mohamed and Hamdy at the Oasis Pool Bar for their attentive service.
We very much regret that you were inconvenienced by the visit of one of our guests and very much regret that the Bua Khao restaurant was fully booked for early dinners till 19.45 on one evening. We were made aware of the incident with the Security Guard and immediate action was taken with the Head of Egyptian Security and the person was severely reprimanded.
The remaining rooms in Cluster 2 will be renovated in the month leading up to Christmas and they will be back in operation in time for the Festive Season.
Once again thank you for your feedback as this is very much appreciated and, in closing, Hamdy and Mohamed join us in looking forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
John G C Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,875
    816
    237
    98
    62
See reviews for
1,052
1,170
149
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

The room we stayed in was nice, we have been to the hotel before and we noticed the room was renovated recently and was a lot better then before, the check in experience was great as well. I have to say that everything was great untill the second day of our short 3 day vacation which happens to be a national holiday ! when we woke up to the sound of major floor renovations (Marble polishing Works) outside of our room which went on from 9:00 to 3:00, we were never informed and no one bothered to at least apolgise...The experience at the pool was also great for food and beverage but the service from the towel counter just runied the experience as well. To top it all the check out unlike check in took far too long as we discovered we were charged for items that were not ours. So after a long wait they finally retrieved the checks to find out that they are really not ours as we had claimed and were deducted from our bill.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cairo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMElGouna, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 23 September 2010
Dear Cairo00
We were very sorry that we had not lived upto your expectations during the Eid Al Fitr holidays. We have discussed the points you raised with each department and each one has asked us to apologise for the shortcomings and they shall do their utmost to eliminate them in future. Thank you for having brought these issues to our attention and we do hope that we shall have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Please write to us directly and we shall then ensure that you have a really enjoyable stay with us.
John G C Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

I'm just back from Moevenpick El Gouna after spending 4 nights on a B&B basis with my wife and two children (10 months and 2 years). We traveled with another couple with children (8 months and 5 years). Overall a very good experience at the resort. The location is fantastic and staff very accomodating and helpful. Here's a quick list of the good and bad...

The Good:
1. Excellent communication with the resort prior to arrival via email. The resort arranged an airport minibus for our group of 8 in both directions at no charge. Excellent service.
2. The renovated rooms are very nice, though considering the price, you'd expect them to be.
3. Buffet breakfast is enormous and diverse. Living in the Middle East, I usually like to indulge in some pork/bacon while on vacation, but hey, I'm vacationing in the Middle East.
4. Pools are nice, big, and clean.
5. Kitesurfing station crew is extremely knowledgeable, safety oriented and helpful.
6. Wives returned from their facials with big smiles.
7. Thai and seafood restaurants were excellent for dinner.
8. Staff accomodated our request to move from a renovated room to the 2XXX block overlooking the kite beach which allowed the wives/kids to be close to the water while we kited. It was an unrenovated room, but I'm told it may be renovated this January.

Areas for Improvement:

1. The children's playground areas are poorly maintained and are not manufactured to US Consumer Product Safety standards. Home use style trampoline was missing springs causing a fall hazard, sand under playground did not meet fall standards, small wooden playground located closest to southern most pool is a design prohibited from production due to potential for injury. Plastic playhouses walking surfaces were cracked. From a customer perspective, I would rather see a playground removed completely than an unsafe playground allowed to remain in use. My 2 year old doesn't understand safety issues when a trampoline is calling to him!
2. The pool lunch food at the southern most pool was just ok. Ate there twice and had to send a burger back due to it being undercooked. Food at the main pool was just terrible. Had a forgettable pizza and dried out frozen chicken cordon bleu.
3. There was zero filtration within the boat shaped children's pool located at the main pool. Either be sure it's being filtered/circulated/treated or drain it.

Overall a great trip and easy to pull off with the small kids. Will most likely return for a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank surfdougyfresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMElGouna, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 22 September 2010
Dear Surfdougyfresh

We were pleased to read that overall you and your friends had enjoyed your stay at our resort but we have noted your various different suggestions for the improvement of our services and facilities and the appropriate corrective action will be taken.

Once again thank you for having given us such a detailed report and for having sent us a separate e-mail as we very much welcome constructive criticism, like yours. In closing, all our team join us in hoping that it will not be too long before we can welcome you and your friends back to our resort.
John G C Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

This hotel is one of the most amazing places in Egypt.
Eveything is quite great. The rooms, the sea, the resturant, the view, and finally the staff.
Great value. All represent the brand name MOVENPICK.
El-Gouna is ver lovely place, and Movenpick El-Gouna is really the diamond in the crown.
Great hotel. Very nice management.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Osageo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMElGouna, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 18 September 2010
Dear Osageo
We were deelighted to read that you had and your family had very much enjoyed your stay in July. We shall print out your review and post it on the Team Member Notice Boards so that they can read it for themselves.
We look forward to welcoming you back to "Little Venice on the Red Sea" in the not too distant future.
John G C Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

A fulfilling vacation, that is how I would describe my 5-day stay at the Mövenpick Hotel and Spa in El-Gouna this last month. My family and I had a truly amazing time. Everything was perfect, starting with a friendly and cheerful receptionist that swept away the exhaustion of a long overnight bus trip to the hotel with his smile and quick check in. We were roomed in no time in a beautiful, spacious and above all sunny room that overlooked the vast red sea. The view was mind blowing. From then on everything seemed in place: cheerful and pleasant food servers; clean pools, quiet and peace of mind. Staff seemed highly trained to read and exceed our needs. A highlight of our stay was our dinner at the Sayadin Restaurant. The manager and his staff truly created this unforgettable dining experience with a backdrop of the red sea mingled with live music. My wife commented that everyone at the restaurant seemed to be fully enjoying their job. It was truly food served with love and with a smile. I wholeheartedly recommend the hotel for a peaceful and impeccable vacation.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Surfer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMElGouna, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 14 September 2010
Dear Surfer3
We were delighted to read that you and your family had very much enjoyed your recent stay with us and we have passed on your thanks to all our team members. The Manager of our El Sayadin 'Chaine des Rotisseurs' Restaurant was also really happy that you had enjoyed your dining experience at our 'corner overlooking the sea' and he joins us in hoping that it will not be too long before we can welcome you back to our Resort again.
John G C Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

Not just a hotel - it's a resort! Fabulous place, lovely staff, amazing food and set within quick and easy access to good restaurants, bars and marina. Here's a place where nothing was too much trouble, the staff wanted me to enjoy my stay and quite literally I never heard one word of complaint or criticism from other guests. In fact, I lost track of how many people had stayed before and how many people planned to stay again. There's not many places can say that! I had the best spa experience every! Fantastic. If I had to find any complaint it would be the beach - not so good. But everything else more than made up for that big time.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirelass09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMElGouna, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 14 September 2010
Dear Yorkshirelass09
We were delighted to read that you had really enjoyed your stay with us and we shall pass on your comments to all our team members. We have noted your comment about the beach and this is something that we are trying to correct in conjunction with marine specialists attached to the the Ministry of the Environment, as making changes in one location can have repercussions elsewhere.
Once again thank you for your comments and all our team do hope that it will not be too long before you will join our long list of regular guests who keep coming back to our Resort
John G C Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

I booked a room for me and my 8 year old daughter in Moevenpick El Gouna Hotel for a period of 5 nights 6 days at all inclusive rate. The stay was marvellous. We received the room we asked for and though the room arrangement was a bit too much for two people it was not a problem. Room service was very effective taking care of things immediately and discreetly. The room was very comfortable and included all what we needed. Sometime at night the air con would be too cold. The restaurants are nicely arranged throughout the hotel to accomodate everybody's taste. Food is of excellent quality and restaurant staff is always very friendly, helpful and responding with a smile. There are services offered for children including a very popular kids disco. Adults can relax during the day at the different swimming pools that are beautiful in shape and in location. Along the seaside there are possibilities to enjoy the sun under umbrellas. Seasport activities include excellent diving and kite surf clubs of top international standards and many other type of activities. There is a health club with good equipment and facilities such as sauna and steam bath but in the heat of the summer in Egypt I prefered staying in the pools and the sea. In the bars and outlets around the swimming pools and along the seaside, the service is excellent and the food offer adequate and its quality outstanding. Staff is always helping and responding customers in a very friendly way. Though most had to fast during the days for Ramadan reasons, the service quality did not change which demonstrates the commitment of the staff. At reception either directly or via phone staff would always try to respond positively to our requests.
The ratio price/service is very satisfactory especially for the two types of arrangements I have chosen in this hotel so far: half board and all inclusive.
Overall my conclusion is that it is an excellent hotel and that I will continue to use for my holidays. I can only recommend this hotel especially if you have children.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Captainblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMElGouna, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 12 September 2010
Dear Captain Blue
Many thanks for your review and it is with much pleasure that I have shared your comments with our team members.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
John G C Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Gouna
1.0 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna

Property: Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Address: Main Street | PO Box 72, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#2 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#2 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#5 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#5 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#6 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mövenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna is nestled on a peninsula, with its own exclusive beachfront. It offers spectacular views of the Red Sea, the tranquil lagoons and the lush gardens. The ideal surroundings combined with the resort's extensive facilities all make for a perfect stay. The charming center of El Gouna with its picturesque architecture and numerous attractions is only a few minutes away and Hurghada International Airport can be reached in 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort And Spa El Gouna
Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna Hotel El Gouna
mövenpick El Gouna
Moevenpick Hotel El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing