We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay: great food, great service, quite, fantastic coral reef.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stay: great food, great service, quite, fantastic coral reef.”
Reviewed 4 October 2010

NB! 3 for service is not really related to Moevenpick hotel, it is related to Royal Dive Tribe which is a diving center in Moevenpick. The hotel would have scored a fair 5, but I think it should be somewhat responsible for a business which is located on it's premises and caters for it's customers. Please read the last part of the review if you are interested in our bad experience with a Royal Dive Tribe. Our most enjoyable experience with Moevenpick I've tried to describe below.

It all started about 10 years ago when I was backpacking in Egypt, staying in the cheapest places one can find. Once I went to El Gouna to see how it's like. I was particularly amazed by the luxury of Moevenpick. I've sneaked to it's beach, walked around it's beautiful gardens. That was obviously a striking contrast with places I was staying in. So I decided to return one day as a legitimate guest. Time passed, I've stayed in most of major 5* chains hotels including other Moevenpicks, but still wanted eventually to come to Moevenpick El Gouna.

I was a bit anxious thinking that may be it is better to leave it as a nice dream then risk a disappointment. I've ignored this concerns and it was for good.

I wanted to book directly with the hotel first, but found that when buying a package tour flight from Munich would cost next to nothing. So I bought a tour and contacted the hotel if I can stay in the cluster I like (1st one). On arrival, we were indeed given a key from a room in cluster 1. It is not renovated yet (and hence cheaper). You can tell it's age by few subtle signs if you are very eager to look for details, but none of these tiny bits really cause any interruptions. Room was huge, clean, everything worked fine. Internet is very expensive but quite fast. On the check in we've missed a dinner, so we were compensated with lunch on the day of our departure which was quite handy. Also on the departure date we were allowed to stay 2 extra hours for free to accommodate our plane's schedule.

There is a "dine around" option available in 5* hotels in El Gouna, but we did not use it because we could hardly imagine a better dining elsewhere. Main place included in HB was just perfect, and for the taste of local fish we went to El Sayaddin once. It was very good, with great fresh seafood and live music. The cost was like an average place in Munich, food was like in the very best places. On the downside, however, the taste of some of the fruits was not perfect. They were a bit watery and not as tasty as sold in Europe on any market in Cairo. May be they are locally grown in El Gouna?

The beach front is great, with sun beds available round the clock, there is no shortage of them at all. It is divided to cluster 8 section, kiter's section, and swimmers/snorkelers section. I do not count lagoons and pools because I am not a fan of swimming in those. Cluster 8's section is a bit boring for me, but from there it is an easy swim/walk to the coral near Zeytoona beach corals. Kiter's section is spectacular when there is a wind blowing. Most of the kiters do not interfere with swimmers who have their own big part of a beach. I've witnessed no casualties of a kiter hitting a swimmer, but have seen few close calls. Life guard some times help kiters to get back to their turf.
I've seen some complains about a beach, especially that sea is shallow. It is indeed, and it takes about 15 minutes + 1 short swim (if tide is high) to get to the corals. There is a flag that clearly marks the only place where you can get to open water to see the most spectacular fish without hurting a reef or yourself. A life guard's boat is on duty near the flag most of the time.

Our main activity was snorkeling and taking underwater photos. You may see some pictures my wife and I made, all taken in the radius of 50 meters around the flag. http://picasaweb.google.com/izard.ak/Underwater# From the dangerous species, I've only seen electric ray, morena and conus. Neither of these 3 would attack you unless you get too close, intentionally or not so be careful.

Now the good part is over, and below is a Royal Dive Tribe part.

We were told by our friends that there is an amazing experience, called "swimming with dolphins". There is a place not too far from El Gouna/Hurghada where dolphins are frequently spotted, so a lot of places offer a boat trip to that place, called "dolphin house". The trip could be booked in few places in El Gouna including The Royal Dive Tribe, and many places in Hurghada. We decided to book the trip at Moevenpick, it's a bit easier to start at hotel we are staying in rather then to go somewhere else.

That was a mistake. We were advised that next trip which is not fully booked is in a few days. That seemed fine, so we've booked it. They took our room number and asked to come at least 15 minutes in advance. When time came, we came to the diving center (quite a walk from our cluster, hotel's territory is really big but beautifully decorated). We were then told that that the trip was canceled, but we can buy another trip. There was some reason why they did not let us know in advance: they did not want us to rebook with another vendor, or they wanted to sell us some other trip, as we will come to their place prepared for snorkeling any way. We refused to go elsewhere, and were told that "swimming with dolphins" is available in just two days.

This should have ring a bell, and we should have thought about back-up option at this point. We did not. So when the date came, it all repeated: long walk to the Dive Tribe, trip is canceled because of some technical issues, we are offered another one. Something had again prevented them to let us know in advance (it's not difficult to send a message or call someone in Moevenpick). This reason was probably the same like first time: they did not want us to book somewhere else, and they tried again to sell us another trip. Or may be that is their general attitude towards customers. If later is the case it might be plain dangerous to go diving/snorkeling with them.

In short, my complain about Dive Tribe is: they twice promised something they can't deliver. Both times they didn't let us in advance that trip is canceled, but tried to sell something else. Both times I haven't heard even a slightest hint of apology.

So we will do the trip next time we came the Red Sea (will certainly stay at the same hotel), but will never go to the Dive Tribe again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank izardak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMElGouna, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 10 November 2010
Dear Izardak

Please accept our sincere apologies for not responding sooner - a simple oversight.

We were pleased to read that you had very much enjoyed your stay with us but very much regret that your stay had been spoiled by your experiences at the Dive Centre based in our Resort. We have discussed with theie Management the points that you have raised and they have asked us to apologise on their behalf for something which should never have happened. They are a professional organisation, who are properly insured and use equipment in perfect condition but it seems that some of their team did not act in the correct manner. This was indeed veru regrettable.

We have also noted your comments about the Internet and we are trying to get the service provider to reduce the costs. So far we have renovated 211 rooms and more will be done in 2011 (including Cluster 1). The quality of fruit and vegetables is something we are following up on a daily basis but often there is only a limited selection of certain items available and we have to take what we can get. Our Executive Chef is working closely with our suppliers and the growers to try and improve the situation, though the problem is very seasonal.

Once again thank you for having taken the time and trouble to let us have your impressions as constructive feedback like yours is always very welcome and useful to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future.

John G C Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,970
    855
    248
    102
    65
See reviews for
1,101
1,233
161
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We stayed for 2 weeks at the Moevenpick El Gouna end September 2010. Our purpose was to improve pur kitesurfing skills and we selected this hotel because it was the only one offering a kitecenter on the hotel beach and promises. This was absolutely convenient when travelling with non kitesurfers. The beach is great for egyptian standards (do not expect the Caribean palm trees). The water is waist line height over a very long distance which is great for walks in the sea but less for those who like swimming in the sea and waves. There is great sborkelling on the reefs off the hotel beach. BRING WATERSHOES WITH YOU, you will struggle to find good ones in El Gouna and you will definitely need them. The kitecenter is very convenient , you pay for beach service (rescue and kitelaunching) and can rent locker for all your gear on the beach. This makes the kitesurfing very simple as all you need is to walk to the beach in the morning and get your gear ready to launch your kite. By the way if you are kitesurfing, ask for a room in clusters 1, 2 or 5 (much closer to the kite center)
The staff at the hotel was very nice and friendly and not expecting to be tipped. The food is good for Egyptian standards and lots of choice in the buffet in the evening. However it's quite expensive if you are not on half or full board. We tried a couple of restaurants in the marina in the evening and they were very good and half the price of the hotel.
I tried the hotel gym a couple of times, there are 2 gyms in the hotel, One is near the new cluster 8 and has only cardio equipment. The other one in the health club has some free weights and weght training machines too. Overall it was clean but bit old for a gym, but enough for keepin up with some exercise on non windy day.
The only negative comments I would have about this hotel is the evening entertainment. When you kitesurf all day you are quite tired so it does not matter. However the entertainment was poor and very old fashioned. There was saxophone soloists with electronic beats and also one singer who sang very average and old songs.The hotel could do with a nicer and more up beat band or even a piano bar. People tend to go back to their room after dinner and not stay for a drink, probably because of the music. I have stayed in many beah hotels around the world and have had much nicer experiences. We even had dinner indoors in the restaurant one night because we wre o tired of the music. They could also try something more modern and bring a dj perhaps once a week playing songs from the 70s to now.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisy94Lausanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMElGouna, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 4 October 2010
Dear daisy94Lausanne
We were delighted to read that you had very much enjoyed your stay with us but have noted your comments on the evening entertainment and this is something that we are in the process of revamping. We shall also be renovating the Gallery Bar in the near future (once the plans are finalised) so that we can offer a superior after dinner experience. New equipment for the Gym is being ordered as well.
All our team join us in hoping it will not be too long before we can welcome you back again
John G C Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2010

My husband and I have just returned from 10 days at the Movenpick in El Gouna. This is a lovely hotel with all the amenities you could want from a large hotel but with plenty of areas where you can get away from the crowds. With 4 pools, 2 lagoons and a long stretch of beach there is no feeling of overcrowding. The staff are all extremely helpful and cannot do enough for you.
I would highly recommend El Sayadin, the seafood restaurant. It's setting overlooking the beach is idyllic and the food delicious. Ahmed will make sure you are well looked after.
We used the Ansanga Spa, where I had one of the best massages I have ever had (and i've had a few) and dived with Emperor Divers who are based at the hotel. The instructors are knowledgable and very patient with those of us who need a bit of encouragement.
The resort itself is clean and feels safe and friendly. Getting around by shuttle bus or tok tok is easy with fixed prices. There is a huge choice of restaurants with a variety of cuisines, something for everyone.
I would thoroughly recommend the Movenpick and El Gouna as a holiday destination.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahW073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMElGouna, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 4 October 2010
Dear SarahW073
We were delighted to read that you had very much enjoyed your 10 day stay with us and will pass on your thanks to Ahmed and his colleagues at El Sayadin as well as to the teams at the Angsana Spa and Emperor Divers.
They and all their colleagues throughout the Resort join us in looking forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
John G C Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We were in this Hotel for the third time now. Since our last stay in July 2008, lots of changes have been made, some of these changes are in a way improvements such as the restaurant terrace that is now airconditioned (though in the past it felt more romantic in a way...).
The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, and when I say "the hotel staff" I mean everyone of them. The food is very good, enough choice for everyone's taste.
As it was September, we had a bit more wind, so the weather was ideal for kitesurfers.
The only minor thing was the animation, back in July 2008 there was a show every evening, this year there was only a singer or a guitar player or another musician (but maybe this was due to the fact that it was September...)
In overall, people who want to enjoy the sun in a quiet area are at the right address here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreddyDeRouck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMElGouna, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 30 September 2010
Dear Freddy_Belgium
We were delighted that you had very much enjoyed your 3rd visit and that you liked the improvements that had been made since your last visit. On the question of the evening entertainment, we are in the process of revamping this and feel confident that you will like the new format that is being introduced in October.
Once again many thanks for your kind words and, in closing, all our team join us in looking forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
John G C Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2010

This hotel has it all - a great place to chill and unwind, due to the large grounds it is always possible to find somewhere quiet and private to just sit and chill. But if this is not your thing then the activities in the main pool, the diving school and the kite sailing will keep you active. Movenpick has really friendly helpful staff who go out of their way to make your staff enjoyable and even to teach you a few arabic words. Movenpick is idealy situated just a 10 minute walk to downtown El Gouna or you can use the shuttle bus to take you either down town or to the marina with a variety of restaurants/entertainment. The newly renovated rooms give a really contemporary feel and the large bathroom with walk in shower is something to look forward to after a strenuous day on the sun lounger. Looking forward to returning yet again next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Relaxed5332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMElGouna, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 30 September 2010
Dear Relaxed5332
Thank you for your kind words and compliments. We are, however, concerned that you only gave us 4 suns for the rooms and sleep since you occupied a newly renovated Leisure room and would appreciate it if you can send us further details on this so that we can take any corrective action that is necessary.
In the meantime, all our team join us in looking forward to welcoming you back again next year.
John G C Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Arrived at hotel late at night having booked a twin room for myself and son. Hotel gave us a dingy double room with no balcony. Several telephone calls later given another room - yet another double and told this was an upgrade - but looked exactly like those in brochure. Had to get another bed in room which arrived the following day. Oh - the staff were apparently too busy to deak with request. Hotel staff blamed (a) holiday period (b) travel agent (despite reassurances that this was not the case) (c) the lack of twin rooms (despite a couple being given such a room the same night). Reception staff curt and it took the travel agent rep several telephone calls and meetings to get a proper single bed added to room. Never got the twin

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1248mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMElGouna, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 28 September 2010
Dear 1248mary

We were very sorry to read that we had not lived up to your expectations when you stayed with us earlier this month. The aim of Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts is to always offer the highest possible standards and friendly service, as part of our “Truly Dedicated and Passionately Swiss” philosophy. However, we are aware that things can and do go wrong and, as such, we very much regret that we did not meet our normally high standards and in order to take the necessary corrective action we would appreciate it if you can send to resort.elgouna.guestrelations@moevenpick.com the details of when you stayed with us.

Thank you once again for your feedback which will help us in our efforts to ensure that we meet the ever increasing demands of our discerning clientele and we do hope that it will not be too long before we can welcome you back again to see the improvements made.

John G C Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2010

We love the Movenpick - a lovely welcoming place with very efficient staff, good food, clean rooms and a great resort.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMElGouna, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 26 September 2010
Dear CatherineBond
Thank you for having shared your impressions through Trip Advisor.
We were delighted to read that you had very much enjoyed your stay and we shall pass on your comments to all our team members.
We hope it will not be too long before we can welcome you and your family back again.
John G C Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
1.0 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
757 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Golf Resort
0.8 mi away
Three Corners Rihana Resort
0.3 mi away
Panorama Bungalows Resort El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna

Property: Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Address: Main Street | PO Box 72, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#2 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#2 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#5 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#5 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#6 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mövenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna is nestled on a peninsula, with its own exclusive beachfront. It offers spectacular views of the Red Sea, the tranquil lagoons and the lush gardens. The ideal surroundings combined with the resort's extensive facilities all make for a perfect stay. The charming center of El Gouna with its picturesque architecture and numerous attractions is only a few minutes away and Hurghada International Airport can be reached in 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna Hotel El Gouna
Moevenpick Resort And Spa El Gouna
mövenpick El Gouna
Moevenpick Hotel El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing