We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great”
Review of Dawar El Omda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dawar El Omda
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

The only things that were great about the hotel was the location as was near downtown and the rooms were good. If you missed lunch they'd bring you 2 sandwiches that were made from 2 days ago. Another the service and housekeeping is terrible, yes terrible. They cleaned my room 3 days and i was staying for five days. they skipped 2 days. they did not put towels and if they did they only put 1 or 2 and we are 3 peopleThey wanted to charge someone who was with me on wine from the minibar and he doesn't drink alcohol. I prefer going to another hotel other than this one

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OmarTamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egypt-cel, Manager at Dawar El Omda, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear Omar Tamer,
We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. It is at all times our target to meet and even exceed our guests' expectations. We are disappointed we did not achieve this target in your case. We would like to comment on your remarks as follows:
As part of a large group of football teams your travel company made careful arrangements with us concerning your meal times or needed lunch boxes. Unfortunately these agreed upon timings were seldom respected due to reasons we are not aware of. After the restaurants and buffets closed we did our very best to accommodate you within reasonable limits. Our bread is baked fresh on a daily basis as all our food items are prepared.
Our cleaning service will service all the hotel rooms between 8AM and 5PM. When a room is found occupied or posting the 'do-not-disturb' sign, the room will be visited again at a later time. If the same situation is found, cleaning will be subject to request.
We of course put a set of towels for every occupant of a room. Fresh towels are delivered daily but according to our posted environmental policy: if they are left hanging on the holder they will be used again. When found on the floor, they will be replaced.
Mini bars are always fully stocked upon arrival. On a daily basis our cleaning service will take stock and replenish what is needed. Consumed or missing items are charged upon check-out.
Should at any time any of these service have been subject to human error, we sincerely apologize. We are equally sorry that you did not find the time to report these obviously disturbing factors whilst staying in the hotel. Resolving them would have been easily arranged.
We hope that despite your remarks you might consider Dawar El Omda again as your holiday residence as we do promise to then, take extra care.
Alec De Wieuw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2013

if you like to stay at a typical tourist spot, El Gouna is a very nice place (much better than Hurghada) and the Dawar El Omda is on of the best choices.
Positive:
spacious rooms, nice furniture, most wonderful staff members; best massage we ever had by Kareem and his collegue S. (sorry, name forgotten). Nice garden, nice pool, nice area
Special thank to Andrew and Kamal!

Not really negative, but not so good:
Food is european (we would have prefered oriental), tasteful; we ate everything which is "forbidden" like salad and sea food without any stomach problems
Noise from outsite (you can not escape if you stay in El Gourna in any hotel I suspect) as many bars and discos are all around

Summary:
Nearly perfect!

Room Tip: The 400-er rooms are a little bit more expensive but better located (other site of the lagoon)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bettina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I reserved four nights in this great hotel.i went with my husband and two kids.the room was spacious ,clean and comfortable.great view , the balcony overlooked the lagoon , wonderful view , for those who love the nature ask for room 307 , the room service guy was great , polite , cleaned the room after my kids mess,my son loved the pool , there was aman who kept removing the falling leaves and flowers from it.the breakfast was delicious , wide selection from cheeses ,bakery , omletes crepe, foul and fruits, the restaurant was comfortable and clean, all the staf and friendly , always dealing with a smile.the location of the hotel was great , it is in the downtown and you can take a free shuttle boat to the beach and in the same time you see the beautiful lagon.i will recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: if you can walk for some distance and love the nature , choose the second floor rooms,if you cant wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nihal s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Rooms were clean. Shared areas were clean and interesting, i.e. bogamvillia covered patio, pool overlooking small waterway. Balcomy of our room overlooked a small waterway with palm trees in the background. Close walking distance to "downtown" and to the water front. Bed was a bit disapppointing but is ok if staying a night or two.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3ofustravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The hotel location is really cool with the view of one of the Lagoon splitting the hotel into 2 separate islands.
The rooms were good enough for a boutique hotel.
We reserved a room with a single queen size bed, but we were given a twin room, that we decided to keep because of the view.
The food is bad especially the bakery.

Room Tip: The rooms over the bridge have an excellent view. Those near the pool lack privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

During my stay a week ago (week starting on October 21st, 2012), a terrible incident has took place to my wife and me, whereas, we have caught the hotel maintenance representative named "Yakoub Zaref" spying on us from behind the room door and trying to over hear us. After reporting this incident and causing the guy we have made an official complaint and left the hotel immediately after reserving another hotel room by myself. The dramatic thing hat Noting that the hotel did not make any complementary action to make thing better, even the Hotel's GM namely Mr. Alec refused to come to my room to discuss the case, and they even let pay for L.E 25 (Eq. to around $ 4) for taking peanuts pack and a kitkat bar. UN BELIEVABLE

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Mostafa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egypt-cel, Manager at Dawar El Omda, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Dear Mr. Mostafa,

I highly praise the time our guests take to review our hotel, appreciate their input, which allows us to continuously improve our service and offerings. Considering the content however I can only feel sorrow and disappointment. Sorrow for our well respected and well performing employee of many years who did nothing to deserve such treatment and now has his name mentioned on this website as an unmoral person. Disappointed because despite my efforts to explain the final conclusion of our investigation to you, you decided on proceeding in this manner.

I am confident you will understand that I publicly need to clarify this incident. Upon your reporting, I immediately removed the concerned staff member from the hotel pending investigation, that lasted several days and included testimonies of all involved, including another witness present at the time. The results cleared him of any wrong doing (our employee's attitude and position have been clearly misinterpreted seen through the doors' spy hole. He was executing his work-order to check the fire extinguisher in front of your room).

I cannot discuss in public areas or occupied rooms with guests that show aggressive behavior. Trying to bodily assault and severely insult staff members counts as such. In these cases I prefer to invite the guests to the confines of a closed office. Thank you for joining me there.

The potential consequences of such a report involve the livelihood, freedom and reputation of an individual. Not something to take lightly. You insisted to leave the hotel immediately without giving the us any time to reach even a preliminary conclusion. We promised to inform you of the outcome, which we did. I am very sorry you do not agree.

I remain at your disposal for any further queries and will be happy to answer you personally and with adequate discretion.

Best regards.
Alec De Wieuw
General Manager
Dawar El Omda Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Small Hotel with nice Rooms , Excellent Food, small Pool but which is never crowded, only Point to improve are the chairs at the Pool bar which are quite uncomfortable but this point can be overlooked due to the Very VERY good service of Mikel the Bartender (he is really a great guy and a reason to come back to Dawar)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BadabingBadabum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
0.7 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.3 mi away
Three Corners Rihana Inn
Three Corners Rihana Inn
#18 of 18 in El Gouna
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
408 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mosaique Hotel
Mosaique Hotel
#2 of 18 in El Gouna
479 reviews
0.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dawar El Omda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dawar El Omda

Address: Kafr El Gouna | El Gouna, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#8 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#12 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range: £23 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dawar El Omda 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique establishment among Red Sea hotels, Dawar El Omda Boutique Hotel is built in the style of an old Upper Egyptian mayor's mansion. The traditional house's architecture is authentic to the core. Domes and arches in natural beige tones grace the exterior, while superb interior design gives pride of place to antique furniture and handcrafted decor pieces. Spanning across the saltwater lagoon that separates the island of Kafr El Gouna from the Downtown area of Tamr Henna Square, the hotel extends on both sides of the waterway, which are linked by a stone arch bridge. Dawar El Omda Boutique Hotel is reserved for guests aged 18 and over Guests at Dawar El Omda Boutique Hotel can swim wherever they fancy thanks to direct access to the lagoon from the hotel's small private beach, an infinity pool overlooking the lagoon, and shuttle boat access to the hotel's sea beach on nearby Zeytouna Island. Situated in the heart of El Gouna, Dawar El Omda is also adjacent to a myriad of bars, restaurants, shopping arcades, supermarkets, service providers, and entertainment venues featuring folklore shows and live music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dawar El Omda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dawar El Omda Hotel El Gouna
Dawar El Omda Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing