We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely relaxing hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dawar El Omda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dawar El Omda
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We have visited El Gouna 7 times but this was the first time at the Dawar and we loved it - it's comfortable and friendly and the staff we were all lovely. We stayed B & B and the breakfast buffet had a good variety and also offered omelettes, pancakes and waffles cooked to order. We only ate dinner in one evening, a Lebanese buffet, great value at about £11. The Dawar is an easy walk to all the restaurants in downtown El Gouna and to the bus stop for the making the short trip to the marina for more dining choices (unlimited bus trips cost approx. £2 for the week)
The pool is quite small but was heated in March when we were there. It's also pleasant swimming in the lagoon.
I totally agree with Maxwell324 and think Mohammed N must have stayed in a different hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mai2222014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vlusci, General Manager at Dawar El Omda, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guests,

I first of all would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at our hotel here on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and it was our pleasure to have you with us at Dawar El Omda. Looking forward to welcoming you soon again at our Hotel, I thank you once again for your trust and remain,

with very sunny regards from the lagoon

Veronique Lusci
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    176
    41
    11
    17
See reviews for
49
243
50
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed at Dawar El Omda on previous visits and have always found it to be a quiet, comfortable and cosy.
The breakfasts are great...we tend to stay just B&B, there are so many other great places to eat in Downtown El Gouna, although the BBQ night at Dawar is not to be missed!
The staff are some of the best we have encountered anywhere in Egypt and on this stay in particular, they excelled themselves.

Room Tip: Go over the bridge, into the 3 and 4 hundreds, great views but be aware that Dunes across the road h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxwell324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vlusci, General Manager at Dawar El Omda, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Maxwell,

Thank you so much for your time, I really do appreciate. Glad to read that we were able to meet your expectations, as our guests' satisfaction is our priority. On behalf of my team, I would like to thank you for your trust and we are all looking forward to your next visit. In the meantime, I wish you all the best. Once again thank you. Friendly regards from El Gouna.

Veronique Lusci
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

By far the worst hotel i ever stayed in. Room was not clean, A/C makes sounds, maintenance has proven to be of a new low, reception responsiveness a disgrace, unwillingness to resolve any issues, etc... Unfortunately 200 words are not enough

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohammed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vlusci, General Manager at Dawar El Omda, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Mr. Mohamed,

I first of all would like to thank you for having taken the time to write your concerns about your stay in our hotel. We do take every single comment very seriously and always do our best to rectify any possible problem occurring during our guests’ holiday.

I would have very much appreciated to have the opportunity meeting you personally to discuss the issues you did face during your time with us; however note that, after having investigated the case with my Head of Department, I would like to feed you back as follows : on March 8 you have requested some items to be delivered in your room, which we did with immediate effect. Concerning the improper TV functioning, reported on March 9, we have informed you that, due to the heavy rain, all El Gouna was affected by the problem, which was regretfully totally out of our hands. The bad weather and heavy rain kept my whole team busy cleaning and re-cleaning the public areas, trying to avoid as much damages as possible, trying to keep all our guests safe and therefore room daily cleaning could not have done on March 10. I am really sorry to read that your expectations have not been fulfilled but I am convinced that you understand that the dramatic climatic conditions put us all on emergency state, obliged to deal with nature (force majeure).

Should you have any other question or if you would like to talk about your experience in a more detailed way, please do not hesitate contacting me by email (gm@dawarelomda-elgouna) or by calling the hotel and ask for me at any time. Thank you for your understanding and I do hope having the opportunity welcoming you again in our hotel.

Best regards.

Veronique Lusci
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

one of the most relaxing and romantic hotel:
very nice staff and they are sooooo helpful
food is awesome
very clean hotel
very friendly staff
and special thx to Ms.Veronique the GM of this lovely hotel
i recommend this hotel for everyone allover the world
thank you guys for making my trip just awesome :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wagdy_Moustafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vlusci, General Manager at Dawar El Omda, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Mr. Wagdy,

Thank you so much for having taken the time to share online your experience at our hotel. All you comments are of a high value, as we consider them a very helpful tool to constantly improve our customer service. I am glad to read that we have been able to meet your satisfaction and stay at your disposal for any further information you may need. Looking forward to welcoming you soon again at Dawar El Omda Romantic Hotel, I thank you once again and send you my best wishes. Warm regards. Veronique Lusci, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

I was lucky to stay this time at Dawar El Omda hotel I've been to Gouna for 4 times before and I enjoy it every time .the hotel is cosy and the staff are very friendly .i travelled with my daughter and granddaughter we felt very comfortable and safe in this hotel. On the 2 nd day of our visit we rode a tok tok to the marina after we ate our lunch there we left to go back to our hotel while we were waiting for a tok tok to go back to our hotel I realized that I didn't have my iPad with me I then remembered that I might have forgotten it at the tok tok we took to the marina so I headed back to the hotel and the reception employee was very kind and helped me he phoned the company that owns the tok tok and asked him to help me find my iPad the driver of the tok tok had found the iPad and was looking for me and was heading to give it to the police station in case he didn't find us i was very happy and grateful we felt very safe and I thanked the reception employee for his help I really recommend that every one has to come to Gouna it's a lovely place and all ppl at our hotel were very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Take a room overlooking the lagoon on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiapride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I went to Dawar El Omda for a quick vacation that lasted 4 days. I thought the hotel is an old one from the photos I saw, but I was surprised to see all the hotel's furniture and amenities as new and very clean. The hotel has oriental style, located in the downtown area (less than 5 minutes walk to the restaurants, supermarkets and pharmacies too). All its rooms are overlooking the beautiful lagoon and has balconies.

Room was wide, has a flat TV, a wide balcony, coffee making amenities. Bathroom was clean, with clean towels, step shower and hair dryer.

Staff were very nice and friendly. Enjoyed the heated pool and the quit relaxing environment. And, I have to tell, that since I am back, I am recommending the hotel to everyone whom I know.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarizAmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronique L, General Manager at Dawar El Omda, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear guests,

We wish to thank you for having taken the time to write us in regards of your last stay at our hotel. It is a pleasure to hear that we were able to satisfy you, as we are doing our best to make all our guests happy. Your satisfaction is our main goal. All your comments are of a high value for us as we consider them important tools of improvement.

Should you need any kind of help, please feel free to contact us anytime.

Dear guests, allow us to thank you again and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in Dawar El Omda, El Gouna.

Best regards

Veronique Lusci, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I booked 7 days at this hotel based on reviews we had read and were not disappointed. It is a lovely small boutique hotel with lovely facilities and a short walk from the old town and bus station. We were put in a ground floor room behind the games area, it was very private and the room was clean and spacious and had a fridge which was useful for water bottles etc. The service provided by the cleaning staff was second to none with clean bedding and towels elaborately made into shapes daily was quite impressive. The breakfast was adequate and fresh omlets or eggs were cooked to order by the chef. The hotel has a small beach on the river however they do also have a beach island that is a short boat trip out, we spent one day here and found sunbeds easily. Dawar El Omda is a great spot for exploring El Gouna and we would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
0.7 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mosaique Hotel
Mosaique Hotel
#3 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dawar El Omda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dawar El Omda

Property: Dawar El Omda
Address: Kafr El Gouna | El Gouna, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#12 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#12 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dawar El Omda 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique establishment among Red Sea hotels, Dawar El Omda Boutique Hotel is built in the style of an old Upper Egyptian mayor's mansion. The traditional house's architecture is authentic to the core. Domes and arches in natural beige tones grace the exterior, while superb interior design gives pride of place to antique furniture and handcrafted decor pieces. Spanning across the saltwater lagoon that separates the island of Kafr El Gouna from the Downtown area of Tamr Henna Square, the hotel extends on both sides of the waterway, which are linked by a stone arch bridge. Dawar El Omda Boutique Hotel is reserved for guests aged 18 and over Guests at Dawar El Omda Boutique Hotel can swim wherever they fancy thanks to direct access to the lagoon from the hotel's small private beach, an infinity pool overlooking the lagoon, and shuttle boat access to the hotel's sea beach on nearby Zeytouna Island. Situated in the heart of El Gouna, Dawar El Omda is also adjacent to a myriad of bars, restaurants, shopping arcades, supermarkets, service providers, and entertainment venues featuring folklore shows and live music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dawar El Omda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dawar El Omda Hotel El Gouna
Dawar El Omda Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing